• Record Label: A&M
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2007
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 118
  2. Negative: 36 out of 118

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AngieLG
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Cornell used to be so good. His work with soundgarden, totd, and even his first solo release Euphoria Morning were brilliant! Then, he went through some midlife crisis. Audiolsave sucked balls. Just not very good. Veeeery generic. But I figured, hey, maybe he'll come back around with his solo record. Who knows, maybe its the Rage guys holding him back. Well after listening to this Cornell used to be so good. His work with soundgarden, totd, and even his first solo release Euphoria Morning were brilliant! Then, he went through some midlife crisis. Audiolsave sucked balls. Just not very good. Veeeery generic. But I figured, hey, maybe he'll come back around with his solo record. Who knows, maybe its the Rage guys holding him back. Well after listening to this record its clear that Cornell is washed up. Nothing memorable except that its boring and trite. Expand
  2. LoisR
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Sometimes the simplest things are so complex. The more I listen, the more complexities I hear. Between his powerfully emotional voice and the twisting turns of his songcraft - I'm mesmerized. I love it.
  3. turn2goldCornell
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    I have been a fan of Chris's music for 17 years, and this is one of my favorite albums:)
  4. EstherK
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    I love Chris Cornell's new album "Carry On". I've been waiting since last year to hear this. I love the chances he took on this album. I loved it so much I bought two copies. Two thumbs up! Rate this a 10!
  5. CraigH
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    Another stepping stone by an artist who will make you're lead singer look like Sanjaya.
  6. ArthurDent
    Jun 8, 2007
    5
    Very dissapoing album. Top marks for him not just trying to rehash the Soundgarden/Audioslave sound but that doesen't mean much when the songs don't really amount to much. There are a few highlights - You Know My Name, Safe and Sound, Killing Birds - and the album is certinally listenable. But it pales in comparison to his other solo masterpiece, 'Euphoria Morning' and Very dissapoing album. Top marks for him not just trying to rehash the Soundgarden/Audioslave sound but that doesen't mean much when the songs don't really amount to much. There are a few highlights - You Know My Name, Safe and Sound, Killing Birds - and the album is certinally listenable. But it pales in comparison to his other solo masterpiece, 'Euphoria Morning' and is unforunately a bit of a waste of talent. Expand
  7. KeithC
    Jun 11, 2007
    0
    This album is teh Sux0rz!111
  8. ChelseaS
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    I wasn't sure how I'd feel about this album, since I love the harder stuff CC's done. I'm happy to say I love every song on this album. It's refreshing and straight from the heart.
  9. EmilyW
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best albums of all time, hands down.
  10. KarenM.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    There are moments on this record that remind me of the old Chris... with lyrics that create beautiful soundscapes that lift me to consider my own internal conflicts that Chris seems to share with us all in his words and music.
  11. ZackR
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    A departure from his previous records, but Cornell's powerful voice and creative lyrics make this album a hit.
  12. KevinJ
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite Chris Cornell albums of all time. It takes a little while to grow on you but doesn't miss a beat.
  13. jamest
    Jun 5, 2007
    3
    First Audioslave, now this. He is out of gas! Hang it up Chris.
  14. RobertC
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Soundgarden is where its at man Cornell needs to stop with this pussy shit
  15. GeorgeF
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Cornell is capable of so much more! For him to be putting out this mindless junk is such a shame! This stuff reminds me of Huey Lewis and the News...wtf?!
  16. TheRej
    Jun 6, 2007
    9
    This album is great. In an age of rock bands thinking they are true rock bands, they produce pop song after after pop song. Cornell not only knows what rock is all about, he explores different genres which makes the album all the more interesting.
  17. ReneM
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Cornell covering Billie Jean? WTF. Completely lame
  18. JaysonT
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    I cannot express the degree to which Chris's music affects my soul. The man is a genius.
  19. AngelaS
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Maximum Let Down!
  20. sebastiang
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing album, cornell always sings from his heart, incredibly honest
  21. RandyB
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    I don't think Carry On is as good as Euphoria Morning (which was absolutely gorgeous), but it is very, very good. His voice is top notch, his lyrics are still solid and the melodies leave an impression. There's only about two full-out rockers on this album, and it is hard to not yearn for more, but this isn't really meant to be Audioslave without the Rage, which is quite I don't think Carry On is as good as Euphoria Morning (which was absolutely gorgeous), but it is very, very good. His voice is top notch, his lyrics are still solid and the melodies leave an impression. There's only about two full-out rockers on this album, and it is hard to not yearn for more, but this isn't really meant to be Audioslave without the Rage, which is quite alright. On a couple of the tracks Cornell succeeds in doing (whether intentional or not) what Billy Corgan has been trying to do for fifteen years, and that's to bring to mind Stevie Nicks' male counterpart. His cover of "Billie Jean" is of the rarest and best breed, a complete turn-around of mood from the original-he has made it all his own. Expand
  22. BridgetZ
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    This is a great album that would fit in with anyone's collection, regardless of your main music taste. Of course All Chris Cornell fans will again be impressed with Chris' solo work, and I know most of us are happy to see him return to what he does best, writing and doing songs on his own, that are not political, but simply classic, soulful songs. You can preview the entire This is a great album that would fit in with anyone's collection, regardless of your main music taste. Of course All Chris Cornell fans will again be impressed with Chris' solo work, and I know most of us are happy to see him return to what he does best, writing and doing songs on his own, that are not political, but simply classic, soulful songs. You can preview the entire album on myspace.com/chriscornell. Also, don't forget to check out Chris' version of Billie Jean and also check his website chriscornell.com for his latest tour dates. The tour is one not to be missed, as he plays hits from Soundgarden, Temple of the Dog, Audioslave as well as his solo albums. Pick up this CD today, and enjoy! Expand
  23. GabeM
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    This album is horrible. If you want to listen to a proper Chris Cornell album, check out Euphoria Morning. Cornell sounds lost and without directoin on Carry On, resulting in meandering, unfocused, unoriginal material. He needs a better producer or co-writers like his collaboration with Eleven.
  24. MelG
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Garbage. Cornell should stick with a band or have a co-writer. This stuff is shite
  25. JuanE
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    This album is Yuckers
  26. ALG
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Very disappointed. And very bad. Cornell needs to be an alcoholic again, this shit is just that...shit
  27. LeeS
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    This album is bad! Some of these tracks sound like crappy versions of crappy 80s songs. There were a few times I could have sworn it was Robert Palmer or 80's Steve Winwood singing. Lame
  28. SoniaO
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Una mierda. Solo puedo decir que Cornell ya no la tiene. Es un viejo chocha. Que pedo
  29. EvanM
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    I can definitley see a lot of people not liking this because it's not what they're expecting. It's a stupid reason not to enjoy something, but many people will fall into this trap. I however, love it.
  30. ClareO
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    I'm loving this album as much as almost anything in his career. It's very different to some of his earlier work but no less an achievement for that. It has darkness, humour, innocence and open-hearted honesty and the vocals are pretty much peerless. I think some of the very low scores here are motivated by simple spite or dumb incomprehension.
  31. ToshL
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    I LOVE this album........can't get enough!!!!
  32. StephanieM
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    There are so many different types of influences on this album that it is very difficult to categorize. However, anyone familiar with Chris Cornell's music will recognize his great talent as a singer-songwriter. This is not Chris Cornell, frontman of a rock band. This is Chris Cornell, songwriter extraordinaire. Classic rock, blues, R&B, pop, and even country influences are on this There are so many different types of influences on this album that it is very difficult to categorize. However, anyone familiar with Chris Cornell's music will recognize his great talent as a singer-songwriter. This is not Chris Cornell, frontman of a rock band. This is Chris Cornell, songwriter extraordinaire. Classic rock, blues, R&B, pop, and even country influences are on this album. It is a treat for the ears and the soul on every listen. Expand
  33. warriorwoman
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    I love the album and I love how Cornell is evolving. He's not afraid to explore all musical possibilities and makes music the way HE wants to. The man has my total respect !!
  34. brianp
    Jun 9, 2007
    2
    I liked him better when he was drinking or what ever it was he was doing. This album has his voice in it, but i really don't hear any artistic vision. He goes where he has been before with acoustic guitars and smokers rasp, there is no new ground covered. I wounder if any of the people that have been giving it a 10 really listen to Chris. I find it hard to believe if liked this album I liked him better when he was drinking or what ever it was he was doing. This album has his voice in it, but i really don't hear any artistic vision. He goes where he has been before with acoustic guitars and smokers rasp, there is no new ground covered. I wounder if any of the people that have been giving it a 10 really listen to Chris. I find it hard to believe if liked this album that you liked his previous work. Lyrically it is bland and unimaginative and that is very not Chris. I hope he remembers that pain is still a part of human life even when your not drinking or doing "what ever". That is how he connected with his market, not every one can be as happy as a rock star...... Expand
  35. MC
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best CDs I've heard in a very long time. A courageous, thought provoking CD full of wonderful surprises. Chris Cornell is not a "one stop, bubble gum pop" musician. It takes more than one listen to really get into it. And that is a refreshing change!
  36. BernadetteS
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    I really enjoy Chris Cornell's work whether it is part of a band or his solo career. I have enjoyed listening to Carry On and especially like the chances he took musically on this CD. I look forward to his future CD's.
  37. EduA.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    People should rather break some stupid paradigms, like Cornell screwing Soundgarden or Audioslave. In my opinion this album is great, a lot of talent. It`s a great job and Cornell`s creativity is shown on this album. He still has an amazing voice.
  38. pg
    Aug 1, 2007
    1
    i just saw him play live in nyc last night.... it was the worst concert i've ever had to see. he should be embarassed at what a poser he is. if you bought this album, maybe you should have saved a little longer and got yourself some taste instead. sheeeesh.
  39. cc.
    Aug 1, 2007
    0
    sorry i made such a crappy record. my wife likes to spend money and kids are expensive nowadays. i needed money and i just figured you guys would buy any old piece of junk i put out so i could keep living large... thanks suckas!.... don't forget to collect your two dollars back when you drop this off at the used cd store.... if they'll take it. p.s. my kids now get to wear sorry i made such a crappy record. my wife likes to spend money and kids are expensive nowadays. i needed money and i just figured you guys would buy any old piece of junk i put out so i could keep living large... thanks suckas!.... don't forget to collect your two dollars back when you drop this off at the used cd store.... if they'll take it. p.s. my kids now get to wear designer jeans thanks to you. Expand
  40. simonec.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    I love this album Chris Cornell never fails to deliver. Best artist of all time.
  41. damienc.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    best
  42. BenP
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    Good album from a great singer / songwriter. We can only hope for more of this in the future.
  43. DivagazioniN
    Jun 13, 2007
    5
    Tre pezzi buoni (tra cui una cover). Tutto il resto, purtroppo, è noia.
  44. Rick
    Jun 16, 2007
    4
    I'm disappointed with the cd..14 songs..too many..all sound the same..euphoria morning had some good mellow tunes but i can't find any on "carry on" Chris needs other talented musicians to make truely great music..This is a total letdown!
  45. MikeJ.
    Jun 22, 2007
    2
    I was really disappointed with this album. I am a big fan, Chris Cornell is one of my favorite artists, but this album lacks substances. It is a whole bunch of radio friendly music that has nothing good about it. Even his cover of Billie Jean sucked, the live acoustic version was so much better.
  46. [Anonymous]
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    Solid tunes and lyrics added with Cornell's voice equals great album. It's definitely a mixed offering, but shows Cornell's versatility as a singer/lyricist. Definitely a thumbs up.
  47. CarlaR
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    I love this album! It gets better each time I listen to it. It has a good mix of different types of songs, some rock, some ballad, some bluesy. He also sings all the vocals, including background, which is really cool! His voice is amazing! This album definitely shows his maturity and some of his personal side. It's a great album for all fans of Chris (Soundgarden, Euphoria Morning, I love this album! It gets better each time I listen to it. It has a good mix of different types of songs, some rock, some ballad, some bluesy. He also sings all the vocals, including background, which is really cool! His voice is amazing! This album definitely shows his maturity and some of his personal side. It's a great album for all fans of Chris (Soundgarden, Euphoria Morning, and Audioslave). Great music, great lyrics, great voice...what more can I say. Check it out! Expand
  48. EricC.
    Jun 27, 2007
    4
    After mixed reviews for his three cd effort with Audioslave and this mostly disappointing solo act, Cornell has to start realizing that he wasn't the only reason Soundgarden was one of the most worshipped grunge bands. It was his band, and he may never get them back.
  49. sandrak
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Carry On is a wonderful CD and I believe it is way underrated - much the same as Soundgarden was throughout the 90s. The lyrics on Carry On are amazing and Chirs' voice is still very powerful and still one of the best of all time.
  50. JoeriV
    Jun 5, 2007
    1
    So disappointed with this. To be honest, I might've given this a 4 if this was his debut recording, but for a man with such a fantastic body of musical work behind him (all his pre-Audioslave work) this is just ridiculous. Generic pop-rock, is that really the best you can do Chris? The songs just don't go anywhere and have nothing to make it interesting. Sure, there are short So disappointed with this. To be honest, I might've given this a 4 if this was his debut recording, but for a man with such a fantastic body of musical work behind him (all his pre-Audioslave work) this is just ridiculous. Generic pop-rock, is that really the best you can do Chris? The songs just don't go anywhere and have nothing to make it interesting. Sure, there are short moments where his voice impresses you, but overall this is just a bad record by a man that I believe still has some great records in him. I just hope they come out next time. Expand
  51. TinaW
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    It's obvious critics do not know what the people on the street like. They're too wrapped up in reading their own words. Fans do not pay attention to the BS spewed by reviewers and critics
  52. JT
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    What a shit album. Long live Audioslave!
  53. GRM
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Cornell never sounded as washed up as he does now.
  54. TJHooker
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Carry On is garbage. As a follow up to Euphoria Morning, even more so. What has happened to this guy? Mid life crisis for sure!
  55. MelaniG
    Jun 6, 2007
    0
    Cornell needs to stick to more subtle acoustic material, like Sunshower or Seasons. This 80's pop crap is a waste of his talent
  56. JPublius
    Jun 6, 2007
    3
    Soundgarden were always fake--second rate metallers playing at alternative and writing some of the biggest, dumbest songs of the era. Black Hole Sun, anyone? Now we see why: at heart, Cornell is a middle-class dad-rocker and always was, which is why SG lacked the substance of bands that actually had something to say back then.
  57. MattW
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    Typical album from Cornell. Extremely creative, catchy and lyrically interesting songs mixed with a few songs that are terrible. I remember this being the case all the way back to early Soundgarden (maybe with the exception of the Temple of the Dog album which had great songs throughout). Taking the few terrible songs into account, this album still has some of the most interesting, catchy Typical album from Cornell. Extremely creative, catchy and lyrically interesting songs mixed with a few songs that are terrible. I remember this being the case all the way back to early Soundgarden (maybe with the exception of the Temple of the Dog album which had great songs throughout). Taking the few terrible songs into account, this album still has some of the most interesting, catchy songs you'll hear sung by one of the best rock vocalists ever. Expand
  58. mikes.
    Jun 6, 2007
    3
    An absolutely horrible album. What was chris thinking? Atrocious singing and terrible lyrics. Production and musically uninspired. Chris is still stuck in the 90's' and in this case, it is most certainly a bad thing.
  59. CrisC
    Jun 6, 2007
    1
    I always liked Soundgarden's music and I also was a fan of Audioslave but this was the BIGGEST letdown I've heard from an album in a long time. I saw that it was only $9.99 at Best Buy so I picked it up and it was the worst way to spend $10. There was literally not even one song on this cd that I enjoyed. Terrible. If you're reading this and haven't bought it yet, DON'T!
  60. KyleM
    Jun 6, 2007
    1
    better than Audioslave, but that's like saying eating poop is better than drinking piss
  61. ChayF
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    I LOVE the cd!
  62. EstherS
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    Generally one of the most inspirational albums to date. Although this album may not be for everyone, it is very well diverse in many different genres of music. Chris Cornell still has his great voice, especially at his age. Chris Cornell practically has the touch, to make every song into to pure gold.
  63. MBean
    Jun 7, 2007
    8
    After first listen I thought the album was ok - I didn't really "get it", however after a few listens the album really began to reveal it's depth and now I am listening to the album 24x7. I found that most really good albums need to grow on you and this one definately did....
  64. LeslieS
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Wow. I am surprised that some people expect Chris Cornell to remain stagnant musically for 20 years. That's too bad. I have been a fan since 1990, and can appreciate the growth. I can honestly say that I like them both. In fact, the more I listen to Carry On, the better it gets. It is a dash of the Beatles, a pinch of Led Zep, and a lot of pure Cornell. In fact Chris' voice Wow. I am surprised that some people expect Chris Cornell to remain stagnant musically for 20 years. That's too bad. I have been a fan since 1990, and can appreciate the growth. I can honestly say that I like them both. In fact, the more I listen to Carry On, the better it gets. It is a dash of the Beatles, a pinch of Led Zep, and a lot of pure Cornell. In fact Chris' voice sounds better than it has since pre- Audioslave. I recommend this album, as much as I recommend the old Soundgarden albums to people looking for good, solid rock. Expand
  65. MichelleA
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    i have been a huge fan of chris cornell's since 91, i own every album he's ever sang on, i normally like him in a band but on this album he's really out did himself. the album is great!!!!
  66. LizG
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Amazing CD with songs that really stick with you. I keep listening to it over and over!
  67. TaraD
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Wonderfully diverse offering from Cornell. Grows on you more with each listen.
  68. GabrielP
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    I love every song on this album!
  69. Butch
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    I find it hard to beleive that critics that make some of these comments consider themselves professionals in the music industry. While the album is a departure from what we are used to , once again he has created a sound unlike any other. That ,in itself, is creative ingenuity. His voice is filled with soul and fills my soul. It's nice to see a different perspective on what music can I find it hard to beleive that critics that make some of these comments consider themselves professionals in the music industry. While the album is a departure from what we are used to , once again he has created a sound unlike any other. That ,in itself, is creative ingenuity. His voice is filled with soul and fills my soul. It's nice to see a different perspective on what music can be.An album that seems to based on life experiences but has the style of a calmer , introspective more mature poet. I'm forty years old and have shared some of these experiences as well as having the need to let the headbanging bruises heal once in awhile. Get your ass to DETROIT , Chris !! Expand
  70. ChristopherW.
    Jul 17, 2007
    1
    So, I'm listening to this new Cornell album for the first time right now at this very minute. Uh, just a second. (Checks portable CD player) I forgot the 'hold' button was on. Ok, where's that 'stop' button. That's enough of pathetic desperation for one day. Tomorrow, I'll have much better taste. I promise! :)
  71. NickS
    Jul 3, 2007
    0
    Chris Cornell, you jerk. You screwed everything up...including those last 2 Audioslave albums. Go jump off a building.
  72. MikeD
    Jul 6, 2007
    2
    This record is a complete disaster, and he owes me an apology for buying and spending 45 minutes listening to this crap. Is he trying to appeal to Chris Daughtry's audience? All I can think of is Kim Thayil or Eddie Vedder listening to this and either a) laughing or b) crying at what their friend/bandmate has become. What a disgrace. Probably, the worst CD I've bought in the This record is a complete disaster, and he owes me an apology for buying and spending 45 minutes listening to this crap. Is he trying to appeal to Chris Daughtry's audience? All I can think of is Kim Thayil or Eddie Vedder listening to this and either a) laughing or b) crying at what their friend/bandmate has become. What a disgrace. Probably, the worst CD I've bought in the last 10 years. Expand
  73. NanciF.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Carry On is a must have CD. I have enjoyed exploring Chris' latest creation and find every song has its own beauty.
  74. TamaraR.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    I think Carry On is an amazing album. I don't get why people would want him or any other musician to keep recreating the same sound over and over. If you want Soundgarden and Audioslave, go enjoy those albums -- I still do. But I also very much enjoy his new work, and I love to see him progress and experiment with his work on Carry On, and future albums to come.
  75. Deanl.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Sensational, at least 4 Number 1 singles
  76. johnk
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    awesome
  77. NaomiC.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    I don't have any of his previous albums but I love this one
  78. simC.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    continues to give great music
  79. deanL.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Great album
  80. dean
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Chris Cornell is the greates song writer of all time
  81. ManitouM.
    Sep 19, 2007
    9
    You have to let it capture you while listening to it. You can't jump in expecting something like Soundgarden/Audioslave. This is Cornell at his peak songwriting!!
  82. PanteaB
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    I just loved this new album!
  83. AceV
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    Don't expect Soundgarden or Audioslave part 2. This is solo Cornell moving into a pop, Beatle-esque groove. Some very, cacthy moments highlight an above-average record. Finally Forever shows a different, ramantically-driven side.
  84. nancyc
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    it's too bad people can't see an artist who is trying to put out different music and not be known for just one genre of music, it does take awhile to grow on you, I listened to it three times, I can honestly say, there is one song I don't care for, but the rest, are really good, listen to the words people, not just beat.
  85. SueS
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    I really like it. It's different. But, there's a lot of great stuff on it.
  86. patsyd
    Jun 13, 2007
    3
    Easily CCs worst work to date. I love Euphoria Morning, TOTD, all Sg and most of AS. This is bland. It sounds like most of the unforgettable pop rock hits of today.
  87. CubannaS.
    Jun 15, 2007
    4
    What a sell out! I've loved everything this man has graced vocally, lyrically and musically since the beginning. I 'm so dissapointed. No inspiration, no depth or creativity at all. It's mundane corporate pop rock. The music and his lyrics are so disconnected. Sounds like American Idol music. Boring , boring, boring!!!! Its music for the masses. Sad. His next album has got What a sell out! I've loved everything this man has graced vocally, lyrically and musically since the beginning. I 'm so dissapointed. No inspiration, no depth or creativity at all. It's mundane corporate pop rock. The music and his lyrics are so disconnected. Sounds like American Idol music. Boring , boring, boring!!!! Its music for the masses. Sad. His next album has got to be better, because this one's just lame. Expand
  88. jamesonc
    Jun 18, 2007
    2
    chris cornell what the hell did you think you were doing when you wrote this crap???
  89. AmyZ
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    My favorite new album of year! For all those people dissing it, it's hard to compare any artists new work with any thing else they've done, especially when it's so different. Everytime I listen to it i find something new to enjoy.
  90. IanC
    Jul 11, 2007
    3
    I've been a huge Chris Cornell fan, but the new album is what Revalations made me fear would happen. It's a disaster. Most songs are tuneless, and the ones that aren't were already available. The bond theme and disappearing act were for soundtracks, and you can get Billie Jean on the unplugged in sweden downloads. He still has an all time great voice, but this album I've been a huge Chris Cornell fan, but the new album is what Revalations made me fear would happen. It's a disaster. Most songs are tuneless, and the ones that aren't were already available. The bond theme and disappearing act were for soundtracks, and you can get Billie Jean on the unplugged in sweden downloads. He still has an all time great voice, but this album doesn't show an ounce of it. Expand
  91. nkatikan.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    i just can't get enough! his voice like a lion's scream! i adore! thank you, chris, well done, go ahead!
  92. RobertM.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I liked Temple of the Dog, Soundgarden, and Audioslave because of Chris Cornell. There are other great voices out there, but none like his. He could sing Mary Had A Little Lamb and it would be great. If you love great voices and you've loved Chris Cornell's previous work then you will undoubtedly love Carry On.
  93. paulr.
    Sep 13, 2007
    8
    after listening to it several times i really enjoy this album
  94. Oct 25, 2010
    6
    There are plenty of moments that make me cringe just a little bit; his vocals aren't the best they've ever been and most of the album's electric guitar shouldn't be there at all. However, he seems so determined to make each track unpredictable within itself and different from the next that I can't help but be impressed. This is his best songwriting of the decade and I think "Silence theThere are plenty of moments that make me cringe just a little bit; his vocals aren't the best they've ever been and most of the album's electric guitar shouldn't be there at all. However, he seems so determined to make each track unpredictable within itself and different from the next that I can't help but be impressed. This is his best songwriting of the decade and I think "Silence the Voices" is one of my favourite songs written by Cornell. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. No less than a half-dozen songs have hit potential.
  2. 50
    When Cornell strains for significance, he squeezes the life out of his music. [Jun 2007, p.105]
  3. There is nothing wrong with a calmer, mellower Chris... But it's hard not to pine for the old fire.