User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 262 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 262

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2018
    10
    Amazing album, the best of the best. Originally, the queen of pop and the queen of eternal hits.
  2. Jan 7, 2018
    10
    Celebration is a perfect collection fo songs but the track itself is the Celebration of life, party and her career. She should retire with this album, hands down.
  3. Oct 3, 2017
    10
    It's stange this album wasn't long enough to include even all of Madonna's RIAA and BPI-certified singles from her two biggest markets, US and UK. And again, this arrogant cover. Her fans are not 90% gays. C'mon! Bring Madonna back to simple folk like IT!
  4. Nov 6, 2016
    8
    7,6
    Perfect Legend album with legendary songs. This album can be listened to without tiring. With him going through personal problems Madonna and compares them with his own, and in some moments you smile, remember the good moments. Each person has a moment in life that is associated with the songs of Madonna.
    It is unfortunate for many (but not for me) that Madonna has begun in this
    7,6
    Perfect Legend album with legendary songs. This album can be listened to without tiring. With him going through personal problems Madonna and compares them with his own, and in some moments you smile, remember the good moments. Each person has a moment in life that is associated with the songs of Madonna.
    It is unfortunate for many (but not for me) that Madonna has begun in this period of time in 2016 to strive for a new genre of EDM. All miss the very rebel and Madonna, but what to do, the actor is growing ...
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    The queen of pop surprise us again with this compilation. A perfect collection of the best Madonna hits. It could be missing a few songs, but it's definitely an art gallery of Madonna's career.
  6. May 14, 2016
    10
    A comprehensive collection of Madonna's best songs. In addition, there are two new tracks - "Revolver" and "Celebration". The new material is equally fantastic. "Celebration" infact was nominated for a Grammy in the category "Best Dance Recording" where she is the most nominated artist.
  7. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    One of the best greatest hits albums. i just miss some hits such as Angel and Give it to me. And revolver is very average song next to all the other greatest hits from the queen.
  8. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    A great compilation from an iconic artist. The only reason I don't give this album a perfect 10 is its exclusion of tracks such as "True Blue", "Jump" and "Give it 2 Me".
  9. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Simplesmente... A bíblia da música pop, a coleção dos maiores hinos de Madonna. E duas novas músicas perfeitas. Só não melhor que Immaculate Collection.
  10. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    A collection of the best hits of Madonna just might be something perfect, Madonna proved the most interesting pop singer of recent years, call her ''Queen of Pop'' is not overstate her, your title is great his great contribution to pop culture. ''Vogue'', ''Like A Prayer'', ''Express Yourself'' and ''Ray of Light'' are great achievements in pop music.
  11. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    I'm sure that stans will die for this record. Madonna did a genius move by releasing her iconic past singes and added to 'em two new songs. "Celebration" and "Revolver" Everybody will love it. The essential album of the year.
  12. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Firstly i will start off with the negatives

    it doesnt contain every single huge hit! this used to be my playground, American pie etc are missing but when you are Madonna you couldnt fit it one 2 discs! now positive the album is amazing!! it shows the vast catalog of Madonna hits over the last 3 decades! (and counting) she is undoubtedly the QUEEN OF POP every song is a 5/5 and
    Firstly i will start off with the negatives

    it doesnt contain every single huge hit! this used to be my playground, American pie etc are missing but when you are Madonna you couldnt fit it one 2 discs!

    now positive

    the album is amazing!! it shows the vast catalog of Madonna hits over the last 3 decades! (and counting)
    she is undoubtedly the QUEEN OF POP
    every song is a 5/5
    and therefor the album is a 5/5
    Expand
  13. May 3, 2012
    9
    Now "Celebration" is something to celebrate for. The Queen of Pop brings her first compilation since 2001, which is full of brilliant hits including "Like a Virgin", "Into The Groove", "Like a Prayer", "Ray of Light" and "Hung Up". The album is a full-set length with most of Madonna's number #1 hits worldwide, and although some tracks which are satisfactory to some people are not featuredNow "Celebration" is something to celebrate for. The Queen of Pop brings her first compilation since 2001, which is full of brilliant hits including "Like a Virgin", "Into The Groove", "Like a Prayer", "Ray of Light" and "Hung Up". The album is a full-set length with most of Madonna's number #1 hits worldwide, and although some tracks which are satisfactory to some people are not featured on it (Including "American Pie", "I'll Remember", "Rain"), the album still manages to bring an awesomeness to it. Collapse
  14. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Great compilation album. Only purchase the 2 DISC VERSION if you are going to buy it because you get cheated if you only buy the 1 disc version. Covers pretty much all the highlights of Madonna's career so far and includes 2 new tracks "Celebration" and "Revolver feat. Lil Wayne" A must have!
  15. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Some might look at this as a business opportunity for Madonna. It might be, but it's actually good, as you get tracks which aren't on her studio albums. For example, if you do not own The Immaculate Collection, you'll have Justify My Love. Other tracks like Vogue, Who's That Girl, Crazy for You and Beautiful Stranger are also tracks which do not appear on studio albums, so it's always goodSome might look at this as a business opportunity for Madonna. It might be, but it's actually good, as you get tracks which aren't on her studio albums. For example, if you do not own The Immaculate Collection, you'll have Justify My Love. Other tracks like Vogue, Who's That Girl, Crazy for You and Beautiful Stranger are also tracks which do not appear on studio albums, so it's always good to have them all in one (although I would recommend I'm Breathless). Another good addition is Into the Groove since, as I'm sure most of you are aware, it was left out of the remastered version of Like a Virgin, which is very frustrating, as it is one of her best tracks in my opinion. So, basically, it's a good CD is you want tracks like those mentioned all in one CD, instead of purchasing CDs for one song. Apart from that, the title track and Revolver are addictive Expand
  16. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    Caution to Madonna fans: there are several glaring omissions from this greatest hits album, while there are several questionable inclusions, like "Hollywood". One of the two new tracks, "Celebration", is not groundbreaking enough for the Queen of Pop. However, this is a fairly solid compilation. I just would have substituted some of the tracks for others that were left out.
  17. May 29, 2011
    10
    36 reasons why Madonna is one of the greats.
  18. May 25, 2011
    10
    J' ADORE! Many of the hardcore Madonna fans don't like 'Celebration' and 'Revolver', but I have to strongly disagree - that's Madonna! Foremost she's a dancer.
  19. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    This shows off her wonderful career but there are many songs, I believe, that are missed out. The essentials are here, but Madonna has many other brilliant songs.
  20. 17G
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. an amazing collection,buy it

    Madonna plain and simple, the best pop artist of the century

    long live the queen!!!!
    Expand
  21. MarioP.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Really LOVE the album!! she's the greatest MUSIC icon of all time alongside Michael Jackson. LONG LIVE THE QUEEN!!!
  22. dang
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    I sit firmly on the fence with this one. Madonna truly is a gifted singer and songwriter but I just don't understand her or the record company. Sure, they both want to cash in on her final release for Warner Brothers. No problem with that, but why repeat a whole load of songs already found on Immaculate collection, GHV2 and Something to remember. There is a wealth of material that I sit firmly on the fence with this one. Madonna truly is a gifted singer and songwriter but I just don't understand her or the record company. Sure, they both want to cash in on her final release for Warner Brothers. No problem with that, but why repeat a whole load of songs already found on Immaculate collection, GHV2 and Something to remember. There is a wealth of material that could have gone onto the final 'Best Of'. A wasted opportunity. What a pity. Expand
  23. AmirulH
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    The best album of the year!! A must buy for die-hard Madonna fans!!!
  24. Scott
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    How could a collection of well over 30 pop classics from the past three decades receive anything but 10/10? Most artists would kill to have even half that number to include on a Greatest Hits compilation, yet Madonna would have needed to double the number of tracks on this collection to include all of her worldwide hits. Kudos to one of the most outstanding performers of all time.
  25. asdsd
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    Someone kill this money grabbing wh*re! She is a grandma and yet she can't seem to retire her self from producing shit*y pop music! Leave it to other artists like kylie and britney. F**k this old B*t***!!!
  26. LeticiaS.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Why buy it? Because this is history baby!
  27. CraiggerB.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    As a Madgeaholic, I had hight hopes for the tracklisting, and am mostly satisfied. The mixes, however, leave a lot to be desired. While I like the Shep Pettibone mix of Express, I still would've loved to hear those horns of the album version remastered. Miles Away, 4 Minutes, Don't Tell Me, Ray of Light - all needlessly bucthered at the end! And why in hell no Bad Girl on the As a Madgeaholic, I had hight hopes for the tracklisting, and am mostly satisfied. The mixes, however, leave a lot to be desired. While I like the Shep Pettibone mix of Express, I still would've loved to hear those horns of the album version remastered. Miles Away, 4 Minutes, Don't Tell Me, Ray of Light - all needlessly bucthered at the end! And why in hell no Bad Girl on the video collection? Madge and Christopher Walken were brilliant in that vid! Expand
  28. discombobulator
    Oct 7, 2009
    2
    Any fan worth their salt would have most of this its a cash grab for retirement for the old work horse.
  29. JohnO
    Oct 7, 2009
    3
    She could have worked it better with those new tracks, they're boring!
  30. DonnieH
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Queen of pop! For the haters above, you can choose NOT TO BUY this GH collection if you don't like it. While you are bitching about Madonna's GH, she's having huge success with it around the world, so clearly many fans love this GH, this is a slap on you haters face!
  31. LukeS
    Oct 6, 2009
    0
    Dude. NOT cool.
  32. johnw.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Queen of pop.
  33. PhilipA
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Undoubtedly one of the strongest 'best ofs' that has ever been released.
  34. James
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    No other artist has been so vivid in thier carreer that has lasted almost 3 decades. Great music. Great videos.
  35. MagnoL.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Even better than Immaculade Collection. The album art is just sensational.
  36. JeremyS.
    Oct 5, 2009
    1
    Madonna should be ashamed of herself. Selling the same things over and over and over. Pass.
  37. MLo
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Fantastic collection with some defyning pop songs. Whether you like her or not you can't deny the importance of her music. Includes 2 new songs!
  38. BRadA.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    THE QUEEN OF POP! An amazing collection that everyone should own!
  39. DerekG
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    An amazing collection!
  40. HankA.
    Oct 4, 2009
    0
    A waste of time and money. Very Poor.
  41. AjayD
    Oct 4, 2009
    0
    Her Another ill-fated attempt at grabbing some more funds from her "old" fans! I never see the point in these "Greatest Hits collections"...clearly the artists wants that much needed dollar! There are some really nice collections with bonus tracks/extras and this isn't one of them! She needs to retire and get the F**K off the Pop wagon!
  42. tAmorim
    Oct 4, 2009
    0
    Piece of crap.
  43. KarlaG.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Love it the best from undisputed queen of pop.
  44. JoeC
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    Aside from a few missing hits (Causing a Commotion, This Used to Be my Playground), this collection is a testament to how impressive Madonna truly is.
  45. BrandenC.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Madonna plain and simple, the best pop artist of the century.
  46. JohnV.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Since when does a four and a half out of five star review from All Music count as a 70? Looks like the folks at metacritic.com haven't taken basic math!
  47. IvanC.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    Excellent greatest hits package. Showcases the many genres of Madonna's songs. Awesome track listing. Excellent audio quality. Excellent artwork.
  48. arnier.
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    A perfect way to summarize an amazing 25+ year career. p.s. please re check all music guide rating is 90 not 70 in their website.thanks.
  49. rafaelc.
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    Great compilation and 2 great new songs...celebration is very contemporary and revolver takes her into a new dimension.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. The collection does a fine job of living up to the title--it's certainly a celebration of Madonna's career and includes some of the most celebratory and thrilling pop music ever created.
  2. Superfans may well die happy with this much concentrated Madge-estry: 36 tracks covering nearly every phase of her 25-year career. It all holds up surprisingly well.
  3. It's a dizzying, nonchronological spin through the Madonna years, years it makes you feel lucky to be living through.