Channel Orange - Frank Ocean
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 448

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Frank ocean is truly very talented, he is great, beautiful lyrics and beats, harmonies, impressive album. my favorite tracks: Pyramids, Pilot Jones, Lost, Bad Religion, Sweet Life, Monks, Forest Gump, Thinkin Bout You
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    All of these new R&B artists don't have the same soul feeling like early Stevie Wonder or Anita Baker. None of them have any stand out hits . I feel a certain weakness in their R&B where there should be solid hits. I have a yearning to want to like this music, but they are coming up just a bit short. Sorry...
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Nostalgia, Ultra was my favorite album (mixtape) of 2011. I didn't expect the new album to come close but I was wrong. The falsetto in Thinking Bout You is stunning.
  4. Jul 29, 2012
    7
    The praise this album is getting was already decided way before it was released. The listening public and the critics want this album to be good so they say it is. What Frank Ocean has produced is a fine album that doffs its cap to Stevie Wonder and a few other R&B legends. The modern twist on the production gives it a more updated feel too and actually captures some of the emotion in Ocean's voice that older methods may have missed. But there are no hooks that are worth remembering. Considering that Ocean has written songs for Justin Bieber, there's a lack of loud chorus on here that may have given Ocean another dimension to exlpore and show off the fantastic vocal and instrumental production on this thing. 'Pyramids' would have been perfect as a shorter track because it's the most radio-friendly song on Channel Orange. People are literally spaffing their pants over this album when it barely deserves an erection Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Definitely my album of 2012 and essential listening for anyone who is interested in hearing what R&B can be in this age where the genre has largely been condemned to the toilets of 'da club'. Reeking of poor song-writing, flooded with offensive sentiments and overproduction which is spilled over by the proverbial urinal cake of auto-tune. Instead, Frank Ocean has produced a clever and catchy album which not only showcases his impressive (and super soulful) vocal abilities but also his smart strongly metaphorical and satirical style as a lyricist. Unfortunately for me, his album was tainted by moments of self-indulgence in the form of the many 'filler' tracks amongst the 'real' songs which overstepped the line from inspired quirkiness into pretentiousness. Despite that, there are just so many fantastic tracks such as 'Lost', 'Super Rich Kids' and 'Forrest Gump', however 'Sweet Life' is the stand out track for me. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    A very enjoyable listen, and gets better with repeated listens as well. Ocean's vocal resemblance to Stevie Wonder is easily dismissed, and the production is interesting and the lyrics engrossing. Most of all, it's soulful as all get out. Don't believe the haters, this is good stuff.
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I loved this album on first listen and enjoy it slightly less with the passage of time and plays. Another reviewer here refers to Ocean's genius and Janelle Monae. I experienced the same exhilaration with her last album and now can't bring myself to listen to it at all. Maybe genius' albums should have best before dates stamped on them.
  8. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    channel Orange is an ambitious, perfectly produced record that lives up to all the hype it received when it was released. Each track is layered with perfect harmonies and smooth flow from Ocean. The reason it's so appealing to me is because Frank Ocean's vocal ranges are incredibly powerful and so honest that it's so easy to fall in love with this album. The lyrics are among the best this year and his life is literally spilling out at you through these tracks. All In All, Frank Ocean's channel Orange is the best R&B record this year and among the best of the year. B+ Expand
  9. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Why is it that the reviewers who gave Channel Orange negative scores, also gave Lana Del Rey 10/10? I guess instead of listening to poignant critiques of opulence and wealth, they'd rather hear superficial musings about it.
  10. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    The meteoric rise of Frank Ocean is undoubtedly indebted to his charismatic persona. He is a very intimate human being who is willing to fully wear his heart on his sleeve, but not for the attention. While a lot of focus has recently been cast upon his sexuality, his courage translates to great songs as well, and all the hype hater should admit that this guy is a very gifted songwriter. His songs are almost uncomfortably personal ranging from heart-wrenchingly gorgeous (Bad Religion), to intelligently observing (crack rock), to surprisingly funny (Super Rich Kids). The variety of these songs is exceptional for hip-hop and Frank himself gives across a vibe similar to Stevie Wonder of Marvin Gaye. He's an old soul who has an indie reputation and an ear toward mainstream. Superlatives and praise will undoubtedly be heaped upon him, but rightfully so for this is one of the freshest sounds in hip-hop, maybe in music in general. He's just as radical and revolutionary as his Odd Future mates, but as a singer/song-writer he is second to none. Give this album a shot even if you are not into hip-hop, you might just get hooked. (10/10) Expand
  11. CPB
    Jan 2, 2013
    9
    The best album I have heard in 2012.
  12. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    "Pyramids" has to be one of Frank's best songs. After hearing this 10 minute long story with beautiful complex beat I thought the album would be much better than "Nostalgia,ULTRA". While this album does show off even more of Ocean's amazing writing skills it lacks the melodic hooks that made "Nostalgia" even more of an amazing effort. That's not to say there aren't any, "Thinkin' Bout You" is probably the best example considering the mind-blowing falsetto. So my opinion on the whole thing is that it's a great debut but it's extremely overrated because of personal letter from artist that made it's way onto internet a couple of days before the release of album. My favourite tracks are (in no particular order): "Pyramids", "Lost", "Crack Rock", "Bad Religion" & "Pink Matter" . Expand
  13. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Frank Ocean is amazing! This album proves what he is truly capable of! when i saw it was 92/100 from critics i was kind of shocked! Not even drake got that high of a score.
  14. N10
    Jul 18, 2012
    10
    The R&B that I loved, I thought was gone, but damn I was wrong. This is an instant classic. The themes and some of it's concept kinda reminds me of Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye. And just too compare Ocean with those great artists is something really big. For an debut album it´s great, it's fantastic. It's been years since I heard an R&B debut strong as this one. I've been a big fan of Ocean for quite a while now, and I was sick worried of how the album would be, If it's going to be a disappointment or not. And no. This is absolutley amazing. And now I'm honest, just because I'm a fan it doesn't mean that I'm lying, wouldn't lie to myself, that's pretty stupid. The lyrics are really good, better than I expected. I mean, I've always known that he was a good lyricist, but this was fenomenal. The story of each song is moslty fun, romantic, and sad. It simply is fantastic. He has improved as an artist, just listen to the song "Bad Religion"... Wow, an instant classic and one of the best songs of the year. That's cool, but then their are songs like "Sweet Life", "Super Rich Kids", "Pink Matter", and "Pyramids". And what about them? They all earn a grammy. Yeah, they all do. No other R&B artist has a song at the same level and quality as Ocean does this year. Just one, who? Ushers "Climax". And that's a great song. But yet, theirs no other one. How about Chris Brown? What about it. I pretty much like his music for the fun, and there was no other R&B artist to listen to at that time, just him and Usher just to mention somebody. But then it came two great and MATURED R&B artists. Frank Ocean and The Weeknd. If you haven't heard of him, check him out. Browns latest "Fortune" was mediocre, I'll give it a try agian later. A grammy nomination would be a disgrace to music. But I wouldn't be surprised if it would, there's no other in that category and genre now these days. And don't misunderstand me, I love Ushers music, but I like his older more. That's it.
    Kinda off-topic now, but please buy the album, buy the album if you support great music. It's a masterpiece of 2012. If this doesen't win a grammy for best album, then yeah. Their taste of music is bad. I mean wack.
    It's an beautiful album. The production doesn't feel cheap at all, either way around and also the lyrics. It's detailed, and the stories are for the most part absolutely brilliant! Buy it! It's worth it. ;)
    This ain't average, this is fantastic!
    Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2012
    3
    Incredibly overrated. Every song seems awkwardly paced to me, and the actual composition is very unimpressive. I like the mood that he invokes, but that's about it. The lyrics aren't very impressive either.
  16. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    hey mr. keep_yr_bias you forgot to add the 10 . ORANGE Chanel is a great album. Thank you sir frank ocean by this record is the first time an r & B artist so pleasantly surprised me. Pyramids 10/10, sweet life 10/10 etc etc. I love Adele's voice but she needed more creativity and better arrangements on several songs, 21. Frank ocean has all those components creativity, depth and art songs. One of the best albums of 2012 but the best Expand
  17. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Sorry, one word: Overrated. After reading all the glowing reviews, went and listened and well, couldn't get through even one entire song without getting impatient and bored. Falsetto is nice, but regular voice very very ordinary. I love Marvin Gaye, Prince (now THERE's a voice with great falsetto also), but doesn't even come close. Which one would expect, after reading those reviews......
  18. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    The hype surrounding this album is ridiculous. A mediocre R&B album that probably would have went unnoticed if it weren't for the artist recently being in the headlines.
  19. np6
    Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is the most addictive album I've listen in a long time. And I am not even close of being a fan of R&B or rap.Can't wait to see where Frank goes from here. Well done!!!
  20. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    I think I'm giving this the positive score it deserves. It's not a bad album by any means, and I appreciate the originality, but I can hear better elsewhere. To the people who are saying how creative this is, and how bold Ocean was willing to be, I'd like to give them a copy of Radiohead's OK Computer or Stevie Wonder's Songs In The Key Of Life. Those are albums that can change the future of music. This is an album that has some cool ideas, and a couple of really strong tracks for sure, but it's nothing to write home about. I guess the fact that it is different is what people are going so crazy about, because while there is a lot of skill shown here, it's not outstandingly competent when you compare it to some of the other artists who are out there. I should say, it sounds like I'm being hard on this album, but that's only because I'm relating it to how others are perceiving it. With no previous expectations about what to think of this album, I would come back with nothing but positive things to say. It is interesting, creative, and enjoyable. However, I think all of those positive things you can say about it, that I would also say about it, have been blown out of proportion. It's definitely worth the listen, for its unique sounds, nice vocals, and interesting lyrics, but I wouldn't exactly call it one for the ages, as it's being considered. Expand
  21. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Songs on this album are like pieces of puzzle! Just like his open letter, now many hate on this guy more than ever. channel ORANGE is arguably Album of the Year.
  22. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Basically, the best album since My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and one of the greatest debut albums I have ever heard. If Frank can top this... wow.
  23. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Channel Orange is not just an album sung straight through from beginning to end. This is a story sung in complete perfection that only Frank Ocean could portray. Ocean is different, exciting, and complex, he pushed the boundaries that R&B could handle and it worked beautifully. People want to focus on his songs about is sexuality (Forrest Gump, Bad Religion) but he is showing his struggles with finding love in all forms, which is what he is only trying to find. Yet, he shows his love for the strippers (Pyramids, Lost) and the parties (Super Rich Kids, Monks), but his ballads are what show his true colors in the masterpiece that is "Thinkin Bout you," where he struggles in his questions to love someone forever. Bottom line: The album is a masterpiece from beginning to end, this album is already a classic that touches the minds of all the people who will listen to it. Expand
  24. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Frank Ocean Is the new savior Of R&B. This album reminds me of Marvin Gaye. Alot of artists don't have strong debut albums. But Frank Ocean is proving the whole world that his music is worthy to the planet. I wish i could rate this higher because this album is the best of 2012
  25. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This album has to be the most overrated album in the last 5 years. The album has some bright moments (Bad Religion, Lost, Thinkin' Bout You) but overall it felt short. It's really boring half way through the album. I get what critics are saying that he's trying to tell a story, but if you're delivery is bad there's no point to keep me interested in listening further. In addition, it's way too long. His coming out definitively affects the critics score in positive way for him. I would have been routing for him if this album actually is good, but sadly it isn't. Expand
  26. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    When it's good, it's amazing, but there are few moments of the album that are hollow and therefore not deserving of a 10. However, that shouldn't take away from the fact that this is a 9.
  27. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want to listen to some late night chill music? well listen to this album. Its just a sexy album. I don't think his voice is really anything to marvel at, but he gets those falsettos very well and its hard not feeling drawn in by his tone. pink matter is so good. its the perfect sexy/hazy ballad and andre 3000 kills his verse in it. other than that, Pyramids is the centerpiece and is done so well. I love the second half of the song when it slows down. If you like slow jamz, Frank Ocean is for you Expand
  28. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    The Album Is Such An Improvement From Nostalgia, Ultra That Is Almost unbelievable, Songs Like Thinkin bout You And Bad Religion Are Simply Breathtaking But Channel, Orange Greatness Lies In The Few Songs Where The Writing Seems Not So Complicated (Lost, Crack Rock) Channel, ORANGE Does Not Have Bad Songs Only Non Perfect Moments
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Sumptuous and sprawling, his major label debut comfortably backs up the hype. [Oct 2012, p.86]
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    While Ocean's artistic ambition is impressive, it's his haunting candour that really casts a spell. [Sep 2012, p.106]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [A] rich and complex album. [Sep 2012, p.95]