Channel Orange - Frank Ocean
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 493 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 493

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. N10
    Jul 18, 2012
    10
    The R&B that I loved, I thought was gone, but damn I was wrong. This is an instant classic. The themes and some of it's concept kinda reminds me of Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye. And just too compare Ocean with those great artists is something really big. For an debut album it´s great, it's fantastic. It's been years since I heard an R&B debut strong as this one. I've been a big fanThe R&B that I loved, I thought was gone, but damn I was wrong. This is an instant classic. The themes and some of it's concept kinda reminds me of Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye. And just too compare Ocean with those great artists is something really big. For an debut album it´s great, it's fantastic. It's been years since I heard an R&B debut strong as this one. I've been a big fan of Ocean for quite a while now, and I was sick worried of how the album would be, If it's going to be a disappointment or not. And no. This is absolutley amazing. And now I'm honest, just because I'm a fan it doesn't mean that I'm lying, wouldn't lie to myself, that's pretty stupid. The lyrics are really good, better than I expected. I mean, I've always known that he was a good lyricist, but this was fenomenal. The story of each song is moslty fun, romantic, and sad. It simply is fantastic. He has improved as an artist, just listen to the song "Bad Religion"... Wow, an instant classic and one of the best songs of the year. That's cool, but then their are songs like "Sweet Life", "Super Rich Kids", "Pink Matter", and "Pyramids". And what about them? They all earn a grammy. Yeah, they all do. No other R&B artist has a song at the same level and quality as Ocean does this year. Just one, who? Ushers "Climax". And that's a great song. But yet, theirs no other one. How about Chris Brown? What about it. I pretty much like his music for the fun, and there was no other R&B artist to listen to at that time, just him and Usher just to mention somebody. But then it came two great and MATURED R&B artists. Frank Ocean and The Weeknd. If you haven't heard of him, check him out. Browns latest "Fortune" was mediocre, I'll give it a try agian later. A grammy nomination would be a disgrace to music. But I wouldn't be surprised if it would, there's no other in that category and genre now these days. And don't misunderstand me, I love Ushers music, but I like his older more. That's it.
    Kinda off-topic now, but please buy the album, buy the album if you support great music. It's a masterpiece of 2012. If this doesen't win a grammy for best album, then yeah. Their taste of music is bad. I mean wack.
    It's an beautiful album. The production doesn't feel cheap at all, either way around and also the lyrics. It's detailed, and the stories are for the most part absolutely brilliant! Buy it! It's worth it. ;)
    This ain't average, this is fantastic!
    Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This album has to be the most overrated album in the last 5 years. The album has some bright moments (Bad Religion, Lost, Thinkin' Bout You) but overall it felt short. It's really boring half way through the album. I get what critics are saying that he's trying to tell a story, but if you're delivery is bad there's no point to keep me interested in listening further. In addition, it's wayThis album has to be the most overrated album in the last 5 years. The album has some bright moments (Bad Religion, Lost, Thinkin' Bout You) but overall it felt short. It's really boring half way through the album. I get what critics are saying that he's trying to tell a story, but if you're delivery is bad there's no point to keep me interested in listening further. In addition, it's way too long. His coming out definitively affects the critics score in positive way for him. I would have been routing for him if this album actually is good, but sadly it isn't. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Extraordinary, layered, textured, addictive and a chocolate box who's flavours may differ but are all damned delicious. My stand out tracks are Pyramids and Super Rich Kids. I'm a Whats Goin' On kinda guy and with a bit of nurturing and maturing I believe Ocean can give us all something equally as special - until then it's a 9/10 for me...
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want to listen to some late night chill music? well listen to this album. Its just a sexy album. I don't think his voice is really anything to marvel at, but he gets those falsettos very well and its hard not feeling drawn in by his tone. pink matter is soYou know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want to listen to some late night chill music? well listen to this album. Its just a sexy album. I don't think his voice is really anything to marvel at, but he gets those falsettos very well and its hard not feeling drawn in by his tone. pink matter is so good. its the perfect sexy/hazy ballad and andre 3000 kills his verse in it. other than that, Pyramids is the centerpiece and is done so well. I love the second half of the song when it slows down. If you like slow jamz, Frank Ocean is for you Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    O que faz de um álbum ser considerado uma "obra de arte"? Não é apenas uma "coleção" de boas músicas, não é apenas a elaboração de arranjos perfeitos, não são apenas letras magistrais ou vocalização perfeita. Uma obra de arte musical em forma de álbum é a elevaçãoO que faz de um álbum ser considerado uma "obra de arte"? Não é apenas uma "coleção" de boas músicas, não é apenas a elaboração de arranjos perfeitos, não são apenas letras magistrais ou vocalização perfeita. Uma obra de arte musical em forma de álbum é a elevação de um artista aos céus pelo seu próprio talento. É a consagração máxima da alma, a mente e o coração. É a prova que talento é dado por algo divino. Algo acima de nós, chame do nome que você preferir. Nesses quatro anos de blog apenas três artistas chegaram nesse nível: Kanye West com o monumental My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Adele e o seu arraza quarteirão 21 e o Florence + The Machine com o divinamente dark Ceremonials. O quarto nome acaba de entrar nessa lista: channel ORANGE do Frank Ocean. Contudo, antes de falar do álbum em si, vou dar uma situada em quem é Frank Ocean.

    Nascido com o nome de Christopher Breaux na cidade de Nova Orleans, ele começou a carreira sendo "compositor fantasma" de nomes como Brandy, Justin Bieber e John Legend. Em 2010 se juntou com o rapper Tyler, The Creator no grupo de produtores, rappers, cantores e artistas diversos intitulado Odd Future. O lançamento de mixtapes do grupo junto com o aclamado Nostalgia, Ultra., sua própria mixtape lançada ano passado, chamou a atenção de Jay-Z, Kanye West e da Beyoncé. Com a cantora, ele co-escreveu a canção I Miss You do álbum 4. Com a dupla de rappers, Frank participou do álbum Watch The Throne com a composição e o featuring nas aclamadas Made in America e no single No Church In The Wild. Contudo, o que chamou a atenção da mídia recentemente foi uma declaração extremamente corajosa que o colocou na história da música: em seu site pessoal, Frank declarou que sua primeira paixão aos dezenove anos foi um homem, assim sendo, ele se transformou no primeiro artista hip hop/R&B mainstream a revelar um relacionamento com uma pessoa do mesmo sexo. Em uma indútria tão machista e preconceituosa, a atitude é o começo de uma quebre de barreiras na luta contra a homofobia. Todavia, isso é quase noticia velha, pois Frank Ocean acabou de lançar seu primeiro álbum channel ORANGE. E como eu já disse o trabalho está sendo aclamado como uma obra de arte indiscutível.

    channel ORANGE é a celebração da arte como música. Ocean cria uma obra atemporal ao se colocar em um lugar entre as lendas do soul music como Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye e mais próximo aos melhores trabalhos do Prince. A viagem em um mundo intrigado de Ocean é uma volta ao passado, mas com ao olho no futuro. Complicado, arrebatador, edificante, pulsante, vibrante, brilhante. Frank cominha em estradas da mais diferentes falando do amor em primeiro plano, mas há assuntos como drogas, sociedade e religião. Em cada composição ele vai além do que se poderia esperar. Arranca como um cirurgião órgãos, sentimentos, ossos, medos e muito mais. Como um soco na ferida aberta, ele retrata com maestria de uma pessoa que vive década e mais décadas reflexões profundas e brilhantes. E ele só tem vinte e quatro anos de idade. Podemos classificar o seu som como neo soul para termos apenas uma classificação. Contudo, assim como os três álbuns já citados, channel ORANGE vai muito mais que classificações. A jornada sonora de Frank é muito profunda e multifacetada. O trabalho de instrumentalização é, talvez, um dos mais geniais dos últimos anos. Há tantas texturas, batidas, samples, sons, instrumentos diferentes só que costurados de maneira tão perfeita que chega a ser desleal para nossos ouvidos tentando captar cada segundo, cada batida, cada inspiração, cada pérola. Já Frank como vocalista se coloca em um pedestal que não há proteção. Suas interpretações são cheias de sentimentos, força, genialidade e algo mais que apenas gênios tem e simples mortais não podemos falar com palavras. Não posso ressaltar uma canção, mas posso dizer isso: se você ouvir Bad Religion e não sentir algo arrebatador, esqueça, vocês não está preparado para a genialidade de Frank Ocean. Se sentir, seja bem vindo ao álbum que pode mudar sua percepção do que é música. E Frank Ocean seja bem vindo a eternidade!
    Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Frank Ocean has brought back substance and style to R&B, releasing one of the best R&B albums since Voodoo by D'Angelo. His debut record, channel ORANGE already feels like a classic, mixing jazz fusion, pop, funk, R&B and soul into one cohesive record. Forget about the controversy surrounding his sexuality; Frank Ocean is already a fascinating artist who has much more to deliver.
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Channel Orange is pure ambition. Frank Ocean's great vocals and unconventional melodies and production create a total re-imagining of R&B. The best album I've heard since Kanye West's 2010 My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.
  8. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    Demonios, la publicidad es poderosa, y aunque no soy fan de este genero, (Fan de Mr. oizo, Autechre, etc.)
    me parece un album que funciona, gracias a la maravillosa voz de Ocean. Tiene gran profundidad la musica, la produccion es impecable con una calidad excelente. Pero no todo es color de rosa en este disco, que a mi parecer esta un poco sobrevalorado gracias a la reciente confesion de
    Demonios, la publicidad es poderosa, y aunque no soy fan de este genero, (Fan de Mr. oizo, Autechre, etc.)
    me parece un album que funciona, gracias a la maravillosa voz de Ocean. Tiene gran profundidad la musica, la produccion es impecable con una calidad excelente. Pero no todo es color de rosa en este disco, que a mi parecer esta un poco sobrevalorado gracias a la reciente confesion de la bisexualidad de Frank O.
    Los temas que toca son repetitivos y sus letras no tan profundas como su calificacion sugiere. El "AMOR" abarca un 90% de su album, y cansa un poco lo mismo en todas las canciones.
    Si bien no es para comprarlo, una escuchada claro que vale la pena.
    Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I loved this album on first listen and enjoy it slightly less with the passage of time and plays. Another reviewer here refers to Ocean's genius and Janelle Monae. I experienced the same exhilaration with her last album and now can't bring myself to listen to it at all. Maybe genius' albums should have best before dates stamped on them.
  10. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    channel Orange is an ambitious, perfectly produced record that lives up to all the hype it received when it was released. Each track is layered with perfect harmonies and smooth flow from Ocean. The reason it's so appealing to me is because Frank Ocean's vocal ranges are incredibly powerful and so honest that it's so easy to fall in love with this album. The lyrics are among the best thischannel Orange is an ambitious, perfectly produced record that lives up to all the hype it received when it was released. Each track is layered with perfect harmonies and smooth flow from Ocean. The reason it's so appealing to me is because Frank Ocean's vocal ranges are incredibly powerful and so honest that it's so easy to fall in love with this album. The lyrics are among the best this year and his life is literally spilling out at you through these tracks. All In All, Frank Ocean's channel Orange is the best R&B record this year and among the best of the year. B+ Expand
  11. CPB
    Jan 2, 2013
    9
    The best album I have heard in 2012.
  12. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    "Pyramids" has to be one of Frank's best songs. After hearing this 10 minute long story with beautiful complex beat I thought the album would be much better than "Nostalgia,ULTRA". While this album does show off even more of Ocean's amazing writing skills it lacks the melodic hooks that made "Nostalgia" even more of an amazing effort. That's not to say there aren't any, "Thinkin' Bout You""Pyramids" has to be one of Frank's best songs. After hearing this 10 minute long story with beautiful complex beat I thought the album would be much better than "Nostalgia,ULTRA". While this album does show off even more of Ocean's amazing writing skills it lacks the melodic hooks that made "Nostalgia" even more of an amazing effort. That's not to say there aren't any, "Thinkin' Bout You" is probably the best example considering the mind-blowing falsetto. So my opinion on the whole thing is that it's a great debut but it's extremely overrated because of personal letter from artist that made it's way onto internet a couple of days before the release of album. My favourite tracks are (in no particular order): "Pyramids", "Lost", "Crack Rock", "Bad Religion" & "Pink Matter" . Expand
  13. np6
    Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is the most addictive album I've listen in a long time. And I am not even close of being a fan of R&B or rap.Can't wait to see where Frank goes from here. Well done!!!
  14. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Channel Orange is not just an album sung straight through from beginning to end. This is a story sung in complete perfection that only Frank Ocean could portray. Ocean is different, exciting, and complex, he pushed the boundaries that R&B could handle and it worked beautifully. People want to focus on his songs about is sexuality (Forrest Gump, Bad Religion) but he is showing hisChannel Orange is not just an album sung straight through from beginning to end. This is a story sung in complete perfection that only Frank Ocean could portray. Ocean is different, exciting, and complex, he pushed the boundaries that R&B could handle and it worked beautifully. People want to focus on his songs about is sexuality (Forrest Gump, Bad Religion) but he is showing his struggles with finding love in all forms, which is what he is only trying to find. Yet, he shows his love for the strippers (Pyramids, Lost) and the parties (Super Rich Kids, Monks), but his ballads are what show his true colors in the masterpiece that is "Thinkin Bout you," where he struggles in his questions to love someone forever. Bottom line: The album is a masterpiece from beginning to end, this album is already a classic that touches the minds of all the people who will listen to it. Expand
  15. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Frank Ocean was one of last years sleeper hits and after appearing twice on Jay Z & Kanye West's collaboration album Watch the Throne and a critically acclaimed debut mixtape Nostalgia Ultra, Frank released his debut album Channel Orange. On this album Frank brings back the classic R&B we all thought was dead and does a very good job at it.
  16. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Probably one of the best longplays of the year. And it's so neworleansese.) Fank Ocean sounds like Stevie Wonder of our days. "Lost" is my favourite track by the way.
  17. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    An RnB classic that people will be listening to for years to come. Better than anything usher, chris brown, r kelly, the weeknd, ne yo, and others are putting out. He doesn't have the strongest voice....but his melodies are insane
  18. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Check the Rapgenius homepage for getting background informations to the lyrics. Like the best rappers on earth, Ocean has often double meanings and seldomly also triple meanings! He is a god in songwriting and a king in singing. Still, I have to say, not every single song sweeped me off my feet. Nonetheless, it's a rememberable work of art.
  19. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This album is literally a canvas filled with rich imagery of Ocean's lyrics, bind together with the precision & detail of a great musician; This is literally a masterpiece of Ocean's deepest thoughts.
  20. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Almost none of my friends like Frank Ocean. Some can "handle" him, but few truly like his music. My friends are the ones that like that really hardcore rap music. You know, the songs about sex, drinking, money, fame, fancy cars, women. The ones where they cuss they every other line, and where all the songs are about the same thing. I think the problem is simple. They can't understand trueAlmost none of my friends like Frank Ocean. Some can "handle" him, but few truly like his music. My friends are the ones that like that really hardcore rap music. You know, the songs about sex, drinking, money, fame, fancy cars, women. The ones where they cuss they every other line, and where all the songs are about the same thing. I think the problem is simple. They can't understand true music when they hear it. Channel Orange is the best album of the year, and revived true R&B music. When was the last time you heard anything like this? It's been a while. I can't stop listening to this raw, new, soulful album. It's beautiful. It's an instant classic piece of music. The flow and production are phenomenal. The songs go around the usual "newfound success" genre and make you realize what Frank sees of this new fame and lifestyle. It's a perfect debut album. He puts us right in his shoes and tells us what he thinks.
    And yes, Frank Ocean is an amazing musician. Does he have potential? More than enough. His ideas are creative and refreshing. Channel Orange is an album to appreciate and enjoy, and I have done that each and every listen. And I don't care if Frank Ocean is gay, straight, lesbian, asexual, black, purple, yellow, or orange. He is a musician whose albums I will anticipate, whose songs I will sing along to, and whose personality I can understand. Listen to Channel Orange.
    Expand
  21. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    incredible album for an incredible artiste with such soulful hooks and meaningful lyrics...i see dis album as one of the best for 2012 and a possibility of being nominated for album of the year at the grammys!
  22. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    'Channel Orange' does amazing as a debut from an R&B singer. Frank Ocean effortlessly puts together a good album. Complete with mysterious interludes, filled with new-styled contemporary R&B, soul-ish beats with a modern edge to them. It also touches on themes of Bisexuality, being a first to do so
  23. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the year...super music......................................................................................................
  24. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Frank Ocean has poured his heart out into, what I would say is one of the best RnB albums in the last 10 years. Not scared to experiment or be different he has produced songs that people want to hear, and frankly I cant stop playing it. Pyramids, though epic in length; is outstanding especially compared to the commercial, overplayed, overproduced, repetitive 'music' released nowadays.Frank Ocean has poured his heart out into, what I would say is one of the best RnB albums in the last 10 years. Not scared to experiment or be different he has produced songs that people want to hear, and frankly I cant stop playing it. Pyramids, though epic in length; is outstanding especially compared to the commercial, overplayed, overproduced, repetitive 'music' released nowadays. Frank Ocean has produced an album with so many artistic layers, with little snippets of flickering TV channels and conversations, not to mentions the 'jingle-esque' fertilizer, expressing soul in a comical way. If you haven't heard the album, do not underestimate it's sheer genius and beauty. Thank god for Channel Orange Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Frank Ocean has done the whole genre of R&B a tremendous service with this album. Unlike his contemporaries hiding behind vocoder effects Frank projects soul not seen since the legends of the seventies. There is a real depth of emotion captured here that I have not seen in recent R&B, check out Sweet Life or Bad Religion. The lyrics are great and delivered with pace & style. His mainFrank Ocean has done the whole genre of R&B a tremendous service with this album. Unlike his contemporaries hiding behind vocoder effects Frank projects soul not seen since the legends of the seventies. There is a real depth of emotion captured here that I have not seen in recent R&B, check out Sweet Life or Bad Religion. The lyrics are great and delivered with pace & style. His main strength is his amazing vocals, Frank can sing in a way that makes you wonder if anyone else out there actually can. Expand
  26. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. It just gets better with every listen. I can't recommend it enough.
  27. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    It's rare to hear an album so poignant in lyrics and instrumentation that appeals to so many listeners. If you have followed Ocean this album's reach and honesty is no surprise. He croons, serenades, and speaks from the soul like no other. As a first true "album" the range and command of his talent is evident...
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Sumptuous and sprawling, his major label debut comfortably backs up the hype. [Oct 2012, p.86]
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    While Ocean's artistic ambition is impressive, it's his haunting candour that really casts a spell. [Sep 2012, p.106]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [A] rich and complex album. [Sep 2012, p.95]