Children Running Through Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mike McCarthy produced this fifth studio album for the singer-songwriter, her first in three years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. It's the showcase of a confident singer successfully diversifying. [9 Feb 2007, p.72]
  2. For the most part, Children Running Through is Griffin at her most complete, using elements from her favorite genres to support simple songs that follow the up-sloping contours of her phenomenal voice.
  3. Children Running Through is Patty Griffin's masterpiece thus far.
  4. Fancy up her surroundings all you want, but like another transcendent, intuitive singer-Van Morrison, in whose company she belongs-it's the way she sings... that defines her greatness, as lonely as it might be.
  5. 80
    Her songwriting here... demonstrates a depth and majesty previously absent in her work. [Mar 2007, p.82]
  6. Sorrowful and stately, Griffin's voice is a startlingly expressive instrument. [May 2007, p.125]
  7. The production and arrangements truly shine, showcasing Griffin in a new way, one that discards the easy (and limiting) concept of Griffin as a songwriter’s songwriter, and which places the spotlight back on her ability to perform.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. ChrisH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    This album means a lot to me - the first ten tracks are a revelation and the rest still ranks among the best songs I heard this year.
  2. Scot
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    First album I've heard from her....and an album I would recommend to anyone. Anyone rating it less than an "8" is eith nuts or an obsessive fan who "knew of her before she became popular". And I think she probably deserves a little more popularity...a great voice. Expand
  3. JonS
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    This is the best record yet from a truly great artist. It's got all the bases covered - from the sneering rock of "Getting Ready" to the quiet folk of "Crying Over", from the bluesy "Stay On the Ride" to the soulful "Heavenly Day", from the countryish rock of "No Bad News" to the gospelly "Up on the Mountain", Patty does it all, and as great as she's been in the past, each style surpasses her previous efforts. Expand
  4. DavidC
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Just amazing
  5. BrandonS
    Feb 16, 2007
    9
    While I don't think this is her masterpiece, or her best album, it is nevertheless excellent and a worthy addition to her already stellar catalog. When looking back at this years down the line, I'm sure it'll be viewed as an essential album made by one of our time's finest performers in her prime. Expand
  6. Zoe
    Feb 27, 2007
    8
    Not her best, but Patty Griffin's "not her best" is still awesom to behold. If there's a better, more accessible singer/songwriter in our times, I haven't heard him or her yet. With a couple of exceptions, these songs are less personal and more commercial than past efforts. For long time fans, that will be a disappointment. For the uninitiated, however, this may be the best CD they'll hear this year. Expand
  7. LeslieS.
    Aug 18, 2007
    1
    She is dreadful..saw her w John Prine last night..she screeched and was so horribly ill prepared as to both the one duet with Prine..too stoned to remember the words...real downer..what is he thinking? CD fair with superior production to compensate for a grating, nails on chalkboard voice...ugh. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews