User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 349 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 349

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatK.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Peter W You have no heart or soul... his voice is perfect for this music/album. This CD is AMAZING.
  2. peterw
    Aug 8, 2007
    3
    great music but cursed by the familiar indie music problem - an appauling singer. i dont usually mind if soemone cant sing but this guy seems to want to rub your nose in it until you tear to CD in half. if they could get a singer less influenced by, i dunno, that pretentious twat from pere ubu, they could be on a winner. as it stands id give it 8 for d music and zero for d vocals.
  3. jimh
    Dec 20, 2005
    5
    They suck live. I also think this album is mediocre at best. The vocals are extremely weak and annoying. The music is good but you can't polish a turd now can you?
  4. cleopatraj
    Sep 28, 2005
    3
    Amen Jefferson L!
  5. LucM.
    Jun 14, 2008
    5
    2 giant tunes, but the rest is really boring.
  6. JasonC
    Jul 14, 2005
    3
    umm... kinda boring... generic indie hooplah... dont see what all the fuss is about?
  7. Christ
    Sep 25, 2005
    5
    A thoroughly predictable and musically generic album, i don't get the (underserved) hype, these guys are an average indie rock band with a singer who has listened to too much Talking Heads but pretends like he's never heard them.
  8. TomW
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year. Don't believe those who are turned off by all the buzz around these guys. You don't need pitchfork to know that this album is wonderful.
  9. DrewK
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Based on the user reviews this seems to be a "love it or hate it" album. But after repeated listens I've got to wonder how many of the bad reviews are more a product of the current "indie backlash" trend than any qualms with the music itself. After you get past the wretched first track, there isn't a single weak spot on the album. Frankly, this type of consistency is astounding Based on the user reviews this seems to be a "love it or hate it" album. But after repeated listens I've got to wonder how many of the bad reviews are more a product of the current "indie backlash" trend than any qualms with the music itself. After you get past the wretched first track, there isn't a single weak spot on the album. Frankly, this type of consistency is astounding from a debut LP. If you like good music and you can adapt to a "unique" vocalist then you will probably end up loving this CD. CYHSY's sound is akin to what you'd get if you threw the Talking Heads, Radiohead and Modest Mouse into a blender with an E pill. The best thing about it is that despite being instantaneously listenable/catchy/accessible, it still actually grows on you. Collapse
  10. JustinR
    Oct 9, 2005
    1
    Overhyped. Verrrrrrry overhyped.
  11. JamieS
    Sep 7, 2005
    5
    very very average. too similar to the arcade fire for comfort. very very very stupid name. boring.
  12. MikeE
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    1 part David Byrne, 1 part Neutral Milk Hotel, and a dash of Kings of Leon. Give it three solid listens while your "cool" friends tell you how great this album is and you'll come around.
  13. RyanR
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing. So happy and full of emotion. It sounds like everyone and you hear so many influences, yet, it sounds so original and fresh.
  14. gta
    Jul 10, 2005
    5
    its OK but that song "home on ice" is just great
  15. Breathe
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    Nice album!
  16. franks
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    Do I even need to say why?
  17. GraysonA
    Jul 17, 2005
    9
    This is wholly solid indie rock, combining the influences of many, leaving new listeners with something about as original as can be found in a world of copy cats.
  18. lozd
    Jul 1, 2005
    6
    it's the classic story of rock and roll : what sounds like a violent femmes covers band make deeply average record and are rocketed to fame by deeply pretentious online music mag. brill.
  19. wazsiem
    Jul 24, 2005
    4
    WHAT IS HIS VOICE? IT HURTS MY SOUL! He sounds atrocious. the hype is unjustified. the only thing that saves this album is the music that is there, under his wailing terrible voice.
  20. DocZee
    Jul 4, 2005
    6
    An NYC band has/will really benefit from a good pitchfork review (Its amazing how much clout the site carries these days). Light-hearted, energetic bliss. Lead singer sounds like a Byne/Yorke fusion. Incredibly consistent for a debut. There are few moments of greatness here (particularly in "In this Home..") but there aren't enough to warrant a higher score. Check out: "Upon this An NYC band has/will really benefit from a good pitchfork review (Its amazing how much clout the site carries these days). Light-hearted, energetic bliss. Lead singer sounds like a Byne/Yorke fusion. Incredibly consistent for a debut. There are few moments of greatness here (particularly in "In this Home..") but there aren't enough to warrant a higher score. Check out: "Upon this Tidal Wave of Young Blood", "In this Home on Ice", "Details of War" Expand
  21. KJ
    Jul 5, 2005
    9
    Violent Femmes cover band? That's a pretty lazy comparison. Vocally they may have SOME similarities, lyrically, musically, emotionally, they have absolutely nothing in common with the Femmes. Believe it or not, we owe alot to that "pretentious online music mag." Without them, there are alot of incredible bands that would go unnoticed. (Arcade Fire, broken social scene are two that Violent Femmes cover band? That's a pretty lazy comparison. Vocally they may have SOME similarities, lyrically, musically, emotionally, they have absolutely nothing in common with the Femmes. Believe it or not, we owe alot to that "pretentious online music mag." Without them, there are alot of incredible bands that would go unnoticed. (Arcade Fire, broken social scene are two that immediately come to mind). Expand
  22. erike
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    upon first listen, i was unimpressed. after 2 to 3 listens i came around and i am now addicted to this record, definitely along with the national one of the best of the year. if you do not like this album, you'd probably appreciate the new weezer or another crap U2 or coldplay record.
  23. syazuanr
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    much needed wake up call to all those sleeping rock giants!
  24. ryanf
    Aug 1, 2005
    2
    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah is a very boring and had no shelf life, it looses all of its very little charm quick. It is only egarded so highly because pitchfork rated it so highly. Sleater-Kinney and MIA have released music much better this year.
  25. maha
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    New York bands come, New York bands go, some deserve more than they got, some are just pretty and consequently are launched as NME coverkids. But this lot, oh my! Exciting stuff, cant wait to hear what comes of them-lets hope they arent lost within the myriad of New York scenesters that never quite are...
  26. CarlY
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    Wonderful. Took a while for me to warm up to it, but it's really a great record. Don't wait--act now!
  27. GarrettS
    Sep 21, 2005
    2
    No one will care about this band in a year. HEY LOOK, IT'S MORE TRENDY INDIE ROCK! Some of these songs are decent (in that fruity, "wow why the hell do i find myself liking this" kind of way), then the singer starts in and completely blows them to crap. This one gets my vote for Comedy album of the year.
  28. JimS
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    This is an incredibly solid CD, especially for a band's first release. The middle of this album is packed solid, with such songs as "Details of the War" and "Heavy Metal" packing the most punch. Although it is impossible to understand what the hell this guys is singing, it really matters little in the end. The raw emotion, the feeling that this band cares about its music, not about This is an incredibly solid CD, especially for a band's first release. The middle of this album is packed solid, with such songs as "Details of the War" and "Heavy Metal" packing the most punch. Although it is impossible to understand what the hell this guys is singing, it really matters little in the end. The raw emotion, the feeling that this band cares about its music, not about popularity, run crisply through my earphones. Expand
  29. PedroL
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    All song are great! (well... except #1 :P).
  30. DavidH
    May 5, 2006
    10
    In my humble opinion, the best album I've heard in years.
  31. MihaiV
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    It took me almost a year to get into it, but now I'm hooked.
  32. RossJ
    Nov 10, 2005
    9
    A sweet, cathartic and life affirming album.
  33. peegee
    Dec 1, 2005
    9
    i initially thought the singer would turn me off to the album however, all of it together, it ends up being quite beautiful.
  34. Guigong
    Dec 20, 2005
    8
    Un disque qui est arruivé sur ma platine au hasard d'un achat spontané en magasin et un plaisir immense à savourer cette pop marquée d'influences 80. Grand disque!
  35. camdenl
    Oct 22, 2005
    9
    pretty cool how they sold the copies themselves through word of mouth. this album gets more intriguing with each listen
  36. dugdug
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    This album knocks it out of the park. It is impossible to overhype it. I've had it for a month now and I still can't go three days without listening to it.
  37. paull
    Oct 27, 2005
    8
    i think that the 8.3 average score that this has gotten so far is fairly accurate. "heavy metal" and "gimme some salt" really drag and just feel pathetic next to "details of the war" and "in this home on ice." "over and over again" is a beautiful pop song that should be the track that this album is remembered by, but instead it will probably be "the skin of..." which is very fun and well i think that the 8.3 average score that this has gotten so far is fairly accurate. "heavy metal" and "gimme some salt" really drag and just feel pathetic next to "details of the war" and "in this home on ice." "over and over again" is a beautiful pop song that should be the track that this album is remembered by, but instead it will probably be "the skin of..." which is very fun and well written and such, but come on...that's a modest mouse guitar part for christ sakes, i haven't heard anything that obvious in years. "let the cool goddess" and "is this love?" are very solid but could be more...intense maybe? "upon this tidal wave" is a good closer, and the instrumentals are cute and aid the album's flow. this record is not as consistent as it could be, but it's highs are pretty breathtaking for a debut album. i have heard plenty of talking heads, i am not a big fan. i think alec from CYHSY should stick to the more "singing" singing he does here, which sounds alot like a gloriously drunken thom yorke to me, as opposed to this yelping business. i also really enjoyed the backround vocals while consistently wishing that the guitars be louder in the mix. a feeling i get with this record is that they have much more potential than say, the arcade fire...potential to make a better follow up album. and i think they will Expand
  38. JimM
    Oct 28, 2005
    4
    Can you say "over hyped"?! If you're over-hyped and you know, clap your hands! Love the music, can't stand the nasal singing. Maybe I can process it and remove the vocals. Underwhelming! But promising!
  39. BenecioZ
    Dec 9, 2005
    9
    By far the best song heard all year, The skin of my yellow country teeth, simply awesome
  40. FrancesA
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    I love this band. Such a fresh, new sound, makes you want to get up and groove!
  41. erin
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    i listen againandagainandagainandagain
  42. RodolfoZ.E
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    It´s f**in´ great. CYHSY show us that good music don´t need a famous label or a big marketing. Good music goes all around the world for itself.
  43. hughm
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    There is a lot of Byrne to the vocals, which take a bit of getting used to, but overall an excellent album, with a great rhythm section.
  44. rubberrubby
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    rubbish!!!
  45. ScottB
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Amazing.
  46. TravisB
    Jul 17, 2005
    8
    This album makes me wonder what radiohead would have sounded like if they stayed along the bends route. Although the production sounds somewhat low budget, the musical arrangements surpass any doubts one could possibly have about the talent of this band. Slightly overhyped, but still worthy of the stamp of approval. i won't be surprised to see this album on numerous reviewer's This album makes me wonder what radiohead would have sounded like if they stayed along the bends route. Although the production sounds somewhat low budget, the musical arrangements surpass any doubts one could possibly have about the talent of this band. Slightly overhyped, but still worthy of the stamp of approval. i won't be surprised to see this album on numerous reviewer's year end lists. Expand
  47. LisaS
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Easily the best album of the year so far.
  48. SteveW
    Jul 10, 2005
    5
    Clap your hands, say "Yeah this is overrated!"
  49. miketv
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    This album is actaully worth all the hype. The guy whos complaining about his voice should stick to listening to the killers.
  50. MarkC
    Jul 4, 2005
    6
    Not too shabby, but certainly not worthy of the praise from the Pitchfork hype machine. Upbeat and catchy? Sure. Annoying and repetitive? Indeed.
  51. geraldinev
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    clap your hands!!! to this band!!!
  52. leonardop
    Jul 9, 2005
    9
    Arcade Fire is the best album of 2004 ,this year the most beautiful album is Clap Your hands say yeah!
  53. pault
    Aug 10, 2005
    2
    Sorry, it's just not a good album. The vocals are annoying at best.
  54. SeyHaS
    Aug 13, 2005
    8
    At first the nasal singing was not benign to my ears, but with time I came to appreciate the vocals, as it was evidently talent I
  55. carol
    Aug 15, 2005
    7
    CYHSY isn't the ultimate 2005 masterpiece as a lot of critics say. the "deja-vu" feeling appears once and again, the band needs define their personality... instead, we can enjoy some of the funniest songs of the year... clap hands, yeah!
  56. tonyw
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    totaly shit...
  57. chrism
    Aug 5, 2005
    0
    boring, unoriginal muisc. a singer who cannot sing. easily the most overrated piece of crap indie rock has produced in years.
  58. WilliamL
    Aug 5, 2005
    6
    Fundamentally, what we have here is Talking Heads meets Pavement meets Joy Division. A basically decent album with a few very good songs (particularly the last two), but after a few listenings, I still can't figure out why this record is getting so much attention. Still, if this band were to build further on the strengths of its best songs, it could eventually live up to the hype.
  59. StooB
    Aug 7, 2005
    9
    An amazing and refreshing album. Obviously the vocals will divide people up and make it a strongly love/hate album, but there are lots of great singers who suffer that (yorke, corgan, bjork)
  60. f
    Sep 16, 2005
    9
    what i needed
  61. JeffersonL.
    Sep 25, 2005
    2
    Let's review the formula for a successful new release in the early 00s. Indie cred? Check. Gushing prasie from Pitchfork? Check. Pretentious "we're wacky... but still sensitive!" lyrics? Check. Based out of Brooklyn, NY? Check. Danceable rhythms, usually consisting of a repetitive bass drum downbeat paired with a tambourine? Check. Impossible to name drop without also mentioning Let's review the formula for a successful new release in the early 00s. Indie cred? Check. Gushing prasie from Pitchfork? Check. Pretentious "we're wacky... but still sensitive!" lyrics? Check. Based out of Brooklyn, NY? Check. Danceable rhythms, usually consisting of a repetitive bass drum downbeat paired with a tambourine? Check. Impossible to name drop without also mentioning Talking Heads or Television? Check. Vocals that would make Helen Keller cringe ("but they don't bother me because I TOTALLY get it")? Check. Ladies and gentlemen, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah! I wanted to like this album, I swear. I think it's wonderful that the band has yet to sign a huge record contract (hence the "2" rating). I'm sure the guys are nice people and all. I just hope they are ready for the overexposure backlash - here's the first taste, fellows. This is quite possibly the most overrated band since The Rapture. Remember them? Me neither. Expand
  62. RaulJ
    Sep 28, 2005
    9
    CYHSY have got it. To all of the reviewers who ripped this one, you are welcome to your opinion, however sick & wrong it may be. Great CD.
  63. matt
    Sep 30, 2005
    10
    one of the most fun and unique records out this year. some elements of talking heads but a great combo of smiths like melodies, new orderish bass and cure-esque keyboards. Skin of my yellow country teeth is my fav trak.. stays in your head so hook laden with great souds from indie producer Adam Lasus
  64. ScottV
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    classic indie rock, a must listen.
  65. LizziS
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    Bloody brilliant album, everyone should own it.
  66. ChrisR
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    A completely upbeat off-center release. The singer doesn't have the best voice but is a fantastic vocalist. The music hooked me instantly and hasn't let me go since. I hear so many influences wrapped into a nice neatly wrapped package. Namely Joy division, Velvet Underground, Talking Heads and Arcade Fire. All bands I love.
  67. SeanB
    Jan 6, 2006
    8
    This is a pretty good album, but common, stop complaining about how "over-hyped" this is. They don't pay a dime for advertising and everyone attacks them. For christ sake, complain about artists who actually have no talent, like Lindsey Lohan, not about these guys. They built up a reputation, not an advertising campaign financed by some mega-corporation!
  68. SeamusS
    Jan 6, 2006
    8
    It's no classic yet. At the same time, it's undenyably briliant. It shows a promise that, if they keep it up, the next album should be a classic. What's missing the most is a soul. It's tight and lyrically smart but not as moving as it could be. His voice is also an aquired taste.
  69. mavitia
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    it's 522 am but i'm up, staring at my computer screen. poorly articluting random ideas and listening to them because something in their sound resonates with something i'm trying to get in touch with. thanks guys
  70. AlexP
    Mar 9, 2006
    7
    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah Yeah Yeah For Cutie. I got this CD in Vancouver and the punky-quirky clerk said
  71. Hein
    Apr 30, 2006
    7
    Good record but way overratted! Vive The Velvet Underground!!
  72. sdaasdad
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    is the best
  73. Mars88
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    They sound alot like wolf parade, but that doesn't make them any less amazing.
  74. BobG
    Sep 7, 2006
    9
    Thumb up.
  75. jesuschrist
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    very good. One of the best bands of the century
  76. Jeff
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    You get used the initially abrasive vocals, and the melodies hook you. It is a very good cd.
  77. MattM
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    The best, most passionate, and most refreshing record in years.
  78. SeanW
    Nov 15, 2005
    0
    Crap your hands shove it down your throat.
  79. WillyP
    Nov 18, 2005
    4
    Love the music, but the singer, yeeek! It's like being trapped in a room with an aggressive mentally handicapped person. And live, it sounds even worse.
  80. LorganS
    Nov 23, 2005
    9
    MAKE SURE that you listen to the cd more than once before forming an opinion. It just grows on you so much. After the third time listening, I had made up my mind that this was pone of the greatest and different indie rock bands of our time. The band trie somthing different than most boring popular music out there and I love em for it. The singer really puts it all together. So anyway, MAKE SURE that you listen to the cd more than once before forming an opinion. It just grows on you so much. After the third time listening, I had made up my mind that this was pone of the greatest and different indie rock bands of our time. The band trie somthing different than most boring popular music out there and I love em for it. The singer really puts it all together. So anyway, listen to it again! Expand
  81. MaxS
    Nov 30, 2005
    10
    This album is kicka$$ buy it now
  82. EffE
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    This is a great first album. Reminds me of R.E.M. first albums (Chronic Town and Murmur). The bass line is always lound and melodic and Ounsworth doesn't pretend he can sing. The tunes are really good too, especially The Skins of my Yellow Country Teeth and Heavy Metal. It really sound fresh.
  83. BillyL
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    This album is single handedly revolutionizing the way people think about indie bands!
  84. AramisG
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    It will sound alot like Talking Heads or Violent Femmes on your first listen. Stick with it because it will grow on you. I won't say they are a great band until I hear a follow up album. Too many bands these days burn out after one album.
  85. MichaelR
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    Checking pitchfork, as I'm prone to do, I came across the description of this singer as the lead singe of Interpol warbling through Jeff Mangum's throat. After th initial burst of indignation at Neutral Milk Hotel being dragged into another review of a band they (most likely) had nothing in common with, I started to hunt for the album. Ifinally got it, put it to play in the Checking pitchfork, as I'm prone to do, I came across the description of this singer as the lead singe of Interpol warbling through Jeff Mangum's throat. After th initial burst of indignation at Neutral Milk Hotel being dragged into another review of a band they (most likely) had nothing in common with, I started to hunt for the album. Ifinally got it, put it to play in the background as I started my homework. I was floored. I would be going to class emptyhanded, it seemed. The first song immediately lets you know what's going on. You are, in fact, front row at a circus. It's the kind of opening track that's so weird you just know whatever follows wil be good, quirky enough that the simplicity and lack of real musical innovation seem completyely irrelevant. It invites you to fall in love, or at least sink into deep relaxation as the gypsies steal your wallet. After this the rest of the album gleefully floats by, fulfilling all the promises he first song made. Cryptic lyrics, twangy guitars, slow melodies, driving beats, child stars. The music becomes everything they want it to be as it seemlessly blends more influences than they may even know they had (Talking Heads, David Bowie, and Modest Mouse, just to name a few). Of course, the critics are right. Lead singer Ounsworth can't sing at all, at the lyrics are gibberish, not even the good playful kind. luckily, the two cancel each other out. Rather than getting bogged down in lyrics they don't need, the musical backing blasts through and Ounsworth Warbles on top, happy to use his voice as oddly tuned accompaniment rather than a source of insightful lyrics. The stand outs are there. "Over and Over Again (Lost and Found)" throws in the synthesizer and reels in the vocals ever so slightly to show you the best song the Talking Heads never recorded. "The Skin of My Yellow Country teeth" gives a fuzzy rendition of arcade theme music to introduce the driving drums and plucky guitar of an exciting western rock single. "Upon This Tidal wave of Young Blood" starts with some unassuming accoustic guitarthat leave you unprepared for the frantic album finale that reminds you (intentionally?) of the Unicorns "Child Star", repeating one line with all the urgency he can muster until the album abruptly fades out. The first listen confused and surprised me, and the following replays entranced me. This is easily the best new album I've heard this year. Expand
  86. JoshB
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    An amazing debut from an amazing band. See them live, it's worth it. They rock so much. You will absolutely be blown away.
  87. JohnL
    Oct 8, 2005
    8
    Over-hyped, but still an excellent album. The opening track is insipid and really irritating, but the rest is strong stuff. The vocals are probably an acquired taste, more eccentric, more like Tom Verlaine than David Byrne, IMO, but I love Television. Probably one of the year's best.
  88. JoeyS
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    unique (to me at least) band, with an incredible album from beginning to end. go to the website and download the mp3s-you don't wanna miss this one.
  89. rubberrubby
    Jun 30, 2005
    0
    rubbish!!!
  90. ToddB
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    I thought at first that "Mocking Heads" might be a more approprate handle for this band, until I really started to listen to the disc. It's like crack music. So incredibly addictive. It may not be the most original LP to come out this year, but barring another Yankee Hotel Foxtrot or Funeral, you can bet they'll top out more than a few "Best of" lists this year.
  91. Garrison
    Jul 11, 2005
    1
    All Hype. Arcade Fire have talent and a good name. These guys probably paid pitchfork off. The Hold Steady and The New Lows are my choice for 2005. Decide for yourself.
  92. TomC
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Forget what the critics, backlashers, bloggers, and pundits say. Please just give this album a listen with no preconceived notions. It will make your life better.
  93. atomg
    Jul 10, 2005
    4
    upbeat and catchy at times, but this album is vastly overrated.
  94. rag
    Jul 13, 2005
    1
    clap you hands say yeah: ouch.
  95. JCSmith
    Jul 13, 2005
    3
    Diet Radiohead. I just don't get it. I tried. I agree with The New Lows. Their FREE EP available at their site delivers. Hey...they even got a decent name. Props to bands with good names...and good music!
  96. RicardoST
    Jul 13, 2005
    4
    Feito para os "intelectualóides" de plantão.
  97. DannyO
    Jul 13, 2005
    6
    The music is good but old boy sounds like a cross between Bono and a cat in heat. More pitchfork hyperbole and snobification; these guys probably deserve a record deal but not a parade.
  98. Chet
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    Dont believe the hype or the backlash, but if you like catchy indie rock/pop, odds are you'll like this record...
  99. wrr
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    just listen to the album for what it is, not for what i think about pitchfork - try to stop listening to this record
  100. coulef
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    CYHSY is fantastic. At times derivitive and familiar but more often fresh and creative. I think this CD is excellent and would love to see them come to my town. MILWAUKEE,WI!!!
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. CYHSY’s songs ring of The Bends-era songwriting, but loungier, more playful, more comfortable in their own skin.
  2. The record is consistently, remarkably strong.
  3. If there are complaints to lobby against this remarkable debut, they lie mostly in its sound-quality. Namely, it sounds like what it was: self-recorded and self-released.