• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Clor Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Barry Dobbin-led band (who also form part of Roots Manuva's live band) make their debut with this retro-dance-rock disc.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. They're pop in perhaps the most literal sense of the word-- their songs POP out at you, glowing bright blue-green like a Nike tracksuit.
  2. No one around sounds quite like Clor at the moment.
  3. 80
    Theirs is really a taste worth acquiring. [Sep 2005, p.103]
  4. This debut sets the newcomers head and shoulders above the neo-Britpop pack.
  5. Sounds at once familiar yet new. [Aug 2005, p.127]
  6. Although they have some serviceable indie disco hits, Clor are merely the latest production line band to explore a niche in the market, though their attempt at nerdy, computerised post punk rubs one off as a flawed blend of, of all things, The Downward Spiral and Zwan.
  7. Clor’s singer and main-man Barry Dobbin unfortunately posses the kind of high, straining voice that grates to the point of making you want to punch him on the nose, and when combined with the incessant business of the band’s undoubtedly clever and accomplished music it makes this eponymous debut feel like an effort to listen to.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. WillM
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Whoa!!!! This cd is so cosmic.... my girlfriend, Beth, likes it too!! Not as good as SNOW PATROL but its ok. Their earlier stuff was better though
  2. DavidH
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    This is THE best Unclassifiable album you will ever hear, it is the best of 2005 and they are incredible live and they should be more popular
  3. JonS
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    My boyfriend got me this cd for my birthday and I love it (although, my opinion my be biased because it was such a sweet present). We listen My boyfriend got me this cd for my birthday and I love it (although, my opinion my be biased because it was such a sweet present). We listen to it all the time before we get skeat with each other. Expand
  4. williamo
    Mar 9, 2006
    9
    thanks Clor for this amazing album!
  5. Danny
    May 12, 2006
    8
    Aww so sad to hear Clor have now split up, but still got a great album to remember them by.
  6. BenJ
    Aug 12, 2005
    7
    Frequently brilliant, occasionally irritating. My advice would be to try-before-you-buy as this won't suit every taste. I think the Frequently brilliant, occasionally irritating. My advice would be to try-before-you-buy as this won't suit every taste. I think the current 78% rating is a little high though... Collapse
  7. Antigravity
    Aug 15, 2005
    7
    Clor on their debut album manage to spin out some cheeky, exhilarating, spun out pieces of music. I'm not the dancy type, but on Clor on their debut album manage to spin out some cheeky, exhilarating, spun out pieces of music. I'm not the dancy type, but on numerous listening occasions I felt the impulse to take my shirt off, perform star jumps and sing along. What more could you want from an indie/dance record? Unfortunately, their musical brilliance is scattered throughout "Clor" but it definately is evident, especially on the camp and fun "Good Stuff" and possible worldwide smash "Love + Pain". Regardless of it's downfalls and inconsistencies, "Clor" is the epitome of a debut album hinting at future greatness. I can't wait for their next outing. Expand