Coexist - The xx
  • Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Coexist Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the British indie pop band was inspired by club music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The world adored the xx's Mercury Prize-winning debut album xx. Coexist is, if anything, an even finer piece of work.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    Coexist is a masterpiece. [Oct 2012, p.80]
  3. The end result is a quieted, more suppressed record that steps delicately from one note to the next and shines even more of a spotlight on the twin vocal sentiments of longing and crumbled romance.
  4. Sep 5, 2012
    With a signature sound established at the first time of asking, The xx's challenge was to both expand their palette and satisfy the demands of a huge audience. And through refinement rather than reinvention, they've succeeded in singular style.
  5. 75
    At a certain point, the xx need to turn off that reverb pedal and learn to sing above a whisper - but I'll be damned if they haven't worked their magic again.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    This album certainly sounds more produced, but the band's investment in studio time mostly means sighing washes of prismatic reverb rather than a new architecture of synths and drums. Still, many of the album's best moments are its most... well, not beat-driven, but beat-bedazzled.
  7. Sep 12, 2012
    Where xx was an album that got its hooks in you, Coexist becomes a somnolent atmosphere-in-itself, in which hooks are conspicuous by their absence. It all works best when the tempo rises (relatively speaking), as on "Tides" and "Swept Away;" still, the pulse races placidly.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 4 out of 20
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    In the end, Coexist is a love letter, simple, honest and beautiful. "Missing", the album's finest track, you hear Oliver more passionate that ever, the emotion in his voice is truly captivating. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    It isn't as strong as xx, but that album was exquisite and fresh. Coexist's merits are that it pushes the boundaries minimalism while incorporating subtle house beats and deconstructed guitar riffs. Those hoping for The xx to move in a new direction will be disappointed, but those hoping for them to refine their sound will be delighted. Their next album will have to offer something bolder, however because this album has pretty much used up everything that composes the coolness of their sound. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2013
    As soon as I heard ‘Angels’ open the second album by The XX I was in love, by the time the record had come to a close with ‘Our Song’ I was head over heels and instantly played it again. At the stage I’m at now I’m in danger of over playing it, the reason being that it is quite simply beautiful. Taking the template of their debut and refining it is key here and it is as much an album of space as it is sound. Lyrically it’s the scribbling’s from the pages of a broken hearted teenage diary written by a philosopher and musically it can only be described as hauntingly minimal. Soft beats and even softer keys are barely present among the breathed vocals, this is trip hop turned down to one and makes Massive Attack sound positively fast. Unfortunately if you didn’t like their debut chances are you won’t find anything here that will change your mind, apart from the experimenting like steel drums on ‘Reunion’ it is pretty much the same thing. That said it is better and more mature like they have grown into their own sound and claimed it with confidence. My only real gripe with the record is the length, it is very short, but that said with the standard of what’s on offer here it is not really a big issue and to quote the title of David Eggers book this is still ‘A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius’. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    The new album from The xx titled 'Coexist' is lovely sounding and has it's moments but overall this record is otherwise pretty forgettable because it is all drowned out by beats and doesn't focus enough on the lyrics Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    Coexist is a good album but it's not better than their previous work. It lacks something, that something could be ideas, the lyrical themes or even experimentation. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    It was inevitable that this album would be a tad disappointing because the debut was so good. Honestly, most of the songs are beautiful, lush and affecting, but rather than swell and subside like xx did (and most great albums do), this one kind of meanders. The first one was a soundtrack to driving at midnight from city to country and back, and this one feels like walking through alleys at 4:30 AM. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2012
    **** boring. Don't waste your time thinking that this is something brilliant or epic. This album lacks everything that made their first album worthwhile. This record sounds lazy and bored. I imagine the band felt the same while making this. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews