Coexist - The xx
  • Band Name: The xx
  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Sep 11, 2012
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 109

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    This is definitely an extraordinary album. The emotion behind the songs is amazing. Songs such as 'Our Song' and 'Sunset' are so peaceful and calm, yet so dramatic and bold the listener is easily captivated. Some of the songs are not as strong as others, but the ones that shine do so in such a way to make this album an unforgettable piece of art.
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    As soon as I heard ‘Angels’ open the second album by The XX I was in love, by the time the record had come to a close with ‘Our Song’ I was head over heels and instantly played it again. At the stage I’m at now I’m in danger of over playing it, the reason being that it is quite simply beautiful. Taking the template of their debut and refining it is key here and it is as much an album of space as it is sound. Lyrically it’s the scribbling’s from the pages of a broken hearted teenage diary written by a philosopher and musically it can only be described as hauntingly minimal. Soft beats and even softer keys are barely present among the breathed vocals, this is trip hop turned down to one and makes Massive Attack sound positively fast. Unfortunately if you didn’t like their debut chances are you won’t find anything here that will change your mind, apart from the experimenting like steel drums on ‘Reunion’ it is pretty much the same thing. That said it is better and more mature like they have grown into their own sound and claimed it with confidence. My only real gripe with the record is the length, it is very short, but that said with the standard of what’s on offer here it is not really a big issue and to quote the title of David Eggers book this is still ‘A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius’. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    While their debut had a bit of magic, with an original sound and production to go along with some great songs, it was far from perfect with several moments that dragged a little. Coexist has the same (and now familiar) XX sound so loses the surprise factor, however the songwriting in my opinion has improved from their debut. The songs take a bit longer to get to know but have a bit more depth and more emotional layers to them. On first listen you might think they've churned out more of the same but while it does have a similar vibe, I do feel Coexist is a more substantial record that builds on rather than imitates its predecessor. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    First, when listening to this album you must take it for what it is. It is mellow and soulful. Jamie xx's reverb-filled melodies fill out each song without forcing the song down your throat. The album allows the reader to easily engage and connect with the music, particularly songs such as "chained" or "angels" which, in particular, manage to evoke an emotional response
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    The xx make lovely music, we know that since their debut album. 'Coexist' is no step forward, the album is actually just as good as 'xx'. I would even say it's a tiny little bit worse. "Angels" is the only 5-star-song, but every other song is good, nonetheless. Their independent style of music is very interesting and you should definitely listen to this album. It's very good but the single songs aren't so impressing. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2012
    1
    I find it incredibly hard to be unenthusiastic about this album. This is the most boring unmemorable music in years, and to think of the rave reviews and excitement dedicated to this mundane record is even more surprising. How did the world make this band matter? Search for something more exciting and soulful than what Pitchfork is in love with.
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    Coexist is a good album but it's not better than their previous work. It lacks something, that something could be ideas, the lyrical themes or even experimentation.
  8. Oct 3, 2012
    3
    Well this album would be perfect for people going through depression or a break up. There is nothing in this album, unlike The xx's first one, that makes you feel warm or happy. Not that an album needs to be always happy and cheerful - this new one is extremely boring. They're talented musicians and the sound is good, but the album is sad, lonely and repetitive. It sounded to me, on first listen, that it was all about "Don't leave me" and I though that track would never end - it didn't it was the whole album. Expand
  9. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    The XX have added much needed emotion to their music. Some may like this others might not. I do! It's good music, like the 21st century Cure. This album is very engaging, and The XX have gone further with their sound in comparison with the first album.
  10. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    There is a point where minimalism becomes less intricate and more boring, and this album sits right on that edge. They have taken what they were known for, stripped it even more & replaced it with the slightest house influences which has delivered both a delicate but eerie album.
  11. Sep 19, 2012
    7
    The new album from The xx titled 'Coexist' is lovely sounding and has it's moments but overall this record is otherwise pretty forgettable because it is all drowned out by beats and doesn't focus enough on the lyrics
  12. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    It's about time The xx made a second release. They created a sound with their debut album, which no one has yet to sound better than they do. The xx's minimalist approach to their pop songs is what made them so unique. So it's only natural they do the same thing in their new record, Coexist. Although in Coexist, their songs are much more layered with lush ambiance and a sort of metallic sound to each track. It's what you'd expect from an xx album basically. These songs don't really jump out at me like they did in their debut, but give them some time and patience and they'll eventually leave you wanting more. All In All, The xx' Coexist may not have quite the impact their debut had, but it holds a solid punch and only shows that The xx are still growing as a band. B Expand
  13. Sep 17, 2012
    1
    While their debut album was brilliant in its minimal, laid-back approach, Coexist lacks that charm as it repeats every trick used by the band before. It's boring, predictable and safe. Creativity has left the room. Is that the album we've been waiting for? Sounds like demos from the first album. XX? More like ZZz...
  14. Sep 17, 2012
    5
    The xx delivered a remarkable album, full of delightful songs with an unique sound, in 2009.
    Coexist is still enjoyable, but it feels too uninspired and empty, with an excess of reused ideas.
  15. Sep 13, 2012
    0
    **** boring. Don't waste your time thinking that this is something brilliant or epic. This album lacks everything that made their first album worthwhile. This record sounds lazy and bored. I imagine the band felt the same while making this.
  16. Sep 13, 2012
    6
    Not much in terms of dynamic contrast, but if you're in need of a mellow album you could do much worse. The vocals and instrumentation is nice and light. A high point is the track "Reunion".
  17. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    It isn't as strong as xx, but that album was exquisite and fresh. Coexist's merits are that it pushes the boundaries minimalism while incorporating subtle house beats and deconstructed guitar riffs. Those hoping for The xx to move in a new direction will be disappointed, but those hoping for them to refine their sound will be delighted. Their next album will have to offer something bolder, however because this album has pretty much used up everything that composes the coolness of their sound. Expand
  18. Sep 11, 2012
    6
    It was inevitable that this album would be a tad disappointing because the debut was so good. Honestly, most of the songs are beautiful, lush and affecting, but rather than swell and subside like xx did (and most great albums do), this one kind of meanders. The first one was a soundtrack to driving at midnight from city to country and back, and this one feels like walking through alleys at 4:30 AM. Expand
  19. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    Many people may say that The XX didn't push their sound to be different from their brilliant debut album, however the fact is no one sounds like them, and they have their own unique style and originality and are easily one of the best new bands to come along in years. Their new album is even better then their debut I believe. And with multiple listens, it only gets better. There are no throw away songs, or ones in which they try too hard to make it good. Many standout songs for me. But none more then "Missing", which is easily the best song of the year in my opinion. "Angels, Chained, Swept away, Try, Reunion, Tides" are all quite impressive too. I can't wait to see them live again, they are intense live, and have a feeling of a band not since Radiohead that has nothing but the sky as the limits to what they can do in the future. No sophomore slump here. This band will be around a long time (as long as they don't break up or something, let's really hope not). This album is easily one of the top 3 albums so far this year. Only Beach House and Frank Ocean have done albums anywhere near as brilliant. I still like the XX more then anything else this year and I listen to a lot of music. Long live the XX and I pray they keep making albums that make people think and listen to many times, until they understand that it is an album of everlasting beauty and perfection. Expand
  20. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    In the end, Coexist is a love letter, simple, honest and beautiful. "Missing", the album's finest track, you hear Oliver more passionate that ever, the emotion in his voice is truly captivating.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    78
    Hard to imagine that the XX could construct a quieter album than the first, but that's what Coexist manages. The first-time poetry of the debut will always be more earthshaking, but the softer, silkier, and more tender Coexist proves the trio can be just as memorable in repeat doses.
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    While album three may require a reboot from The XX, that's for another day. Right now, when it comes to fusing indie rock and dance, no one pulls it off quite as elegantly.
  3. They add up to a song cycle with a happy ending--the joy of which may grow in wisdom or crumble back toward nothingness tomorrow.