Come Feel Me Tremble

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 2003
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Uncut
    100
    Much of Suicaine Gratifaction sounded like it had been written in a mood of morose introspection, but Come Feel Me Tremble is brazenly exclamatory. [Jan 2004, p.102]
  2. At the very least, it's the best album of Paul Westerberg's spotty solo career.
  3. Even taking into account his work with the Replacements, this is the album on which every song is truly worth hearing.
  4. The album is ingeniously constructed; many of the songs play off each other while seeming off the cuff and loose-limbed.
  5. Filter
    82
    No explosions, no chiseled features on the album cover, and no glossy syrup in the mix. Just a classic gift for combining word and melody, a simple but rare recipe. [#8, p.105]
  6. Come Feel Me Tremble is a bit of a mess, like they stuck the disc on a wall and threw the songs at it.... But you could say the same thing for Hootenanny, and to me this captures a bit of the same magic.
  7. Mojo
    80
    A collision of punk-fuelled cacophony, halting balladry and guttersnipe sensibility. [Dec 2003, p.112]
  8. Magnet
    80
    On par, quality-wise, with the triumph that was last year's Stereo/Mono. [#61, p.110]
  9. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    The scratchy voice still aches, the guitar riffs still gleefully rip off the Faces, and the songs sound like they just fell out of bed. [24 Oct 2003, p.106]
  10. A few real gems lay hidden amongst Westerberg's home-taping sprawl.
  11. The tunes here don't push your pleasure buttons quite like the old stuff.
  12. Blender
    70
    Regret comes in many shades, but Westerberg never makes it boring or mopey. [Nov 2003, p.123]
  13. Come Feel Me Tremble suffers for its lack of cohesion.
  14. A genuine disappointment after the creative comeback of Stereo.
  15. Alternative Press
    40
    Muddy, swamp rockabilly. [Jan 2004, p.108]
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 16, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. My blog is a coded love letter and I often like to play word games but what might have been implied in "Bridesmaid" was purely accidental. I would never intentionally disrespect you. Full Review »
  2. KenL&BonitaJ
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Great album!
  3. ronw
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    Utterly brilliant. Better than any 'mats record, and I saw them 5 times in the 80s. Sounds like vintage '72 Stones, but more Utterly brilliant. Better than any 'mats record, and I saw them 5 times in the 80s. Sounds like vintage '72 Stones, but more literate. 'Crackle and Drag' is as amazing as 'Answering Machine' and 'Wild and Lethal' rocks better than most alternacrap. What a comeback! Full Review »