Comedown Machine - The Strokes
Comedown Machine Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length studio release for the alternative rock band led by Julian Casablancas.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    90
    This record is fun, it’s exuberant, and it’s diverse--and yet nothing sounds unnatural or feels crowbarred in.
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    80
    They’ve returned with their most thought provoking, strange and sexiest record yet.
  3. Comedown Machine is, essentially, The Strokes' 1980s album.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    61
    The deeply uncool Comedown Machine smacks of effort.... Still, the limitations of Comedown Machine's protracted diversity all come back to Casablancas, a man with wide range as a listener and extremely narrow range as a musician.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    Full of clever sounds, with melodies butting up against countermelodies and more laughs than you might think, Comedown Machine is by no means a bad record. It just has the misfortune of being the record that few Strokes fans want from them.
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    50
    The Strokes’ hallmarks--those lean melodies, that steely interplay among guitarists Nick Valensi and Albert Hammond Jr. and bassist Nikolai Fraiture, the urgency of Julian Casablancas’s vocals--are largely absent on Comedown Machine, their fifth studio album. In their place is a looseness that’s refreshing enough, until you realize these guys are perhaps running short on ideas.
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    40
    For the most part, this sounds like a band running low on ideas, or motivation, or the indefinable magic that makes a band a band.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    This latest album is quite different from their past albums, varying in electronic and dance music. If a band keep changing their style, itThis latest album is quite different from their past albums, varying in electronic and dance music. If a band keep changing their style, it become refreshing, not like example Scorpions keep singing same stuffs all over the years, people got fed up. Go and buy this album. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    The new album is better than i thought it would be. it's like i'm hearing something completely different and new, not just for The Strokes butThe new album is better than i thought it would be. it's like i'm hearing something completely different and new, not just for The Strokes but in general. Kudos for the courage, in my opinion, it paid off. Favourite Tracks: Tap Out, All The Time, Welcome To Japan, Slow Animals, Chances. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Wow... I stay impressed with The Strokes, totally different from their previous Albums, and believe you me not a bad thing; Tracks like "TapWow... I stay impressed with The Strokes, totally different from their previous Albums, and believe you me not a bad thing; Tracks like "Tap Out" "All The Time" 'One way Trigger" Even, "Welcome to Japan" Yes, I am telling you this Album is good very different but so damn good, Although, all of my friends are not happy with it, I still recommend it to you. And that is just half of the songs, the reason why you might have problems liking this album could be the fact that Julian keeps his voice higher in some of these songs, something we are not used to. "80 's Comedown Machine" almost made me cry by far, my Favorite from the Album. "Slow Animals" and "Chances" two more songs that prove this Album is Fantastic and The Strokes have not lost their touch. The last track, something completely different yet, I find myself relaxing and loving it just as much... Don't be so quick to dismiss this album, it is definately worth a second chance... Again, I recommend this to you. Expand
  4. May 21, 2013
    9
    Listen to "Slow Animals", "Chances", "Happy Ending", "Tap Out", "Welcome to Japan"... You know what? Listen to the whole thing! It's amazingListen to "Slow Animals", "Chances", "Happy Ending", "Tap Out", "Welcome to Japan"... You know what? Listen to the whole thing! It's amazing and the only track you might want to skip will be the last one, and that just because you'd feel like "Happy Ending" would be a much better... Ending! Their best album since "Is This It". With their first album, they brought us back the best of rock and roll. Now they're bringing us back the best of pop music... You know what decade I'm talking about! Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    Thank God for the Strokes!! With perhaps the exception of their third album, it's really difficult to listen to a Strokes record without a bigThank God for the Strokes!! With perhaps the exception of their third album, it's really difficult to listen to a Strokes record without a big stupid grin on your face and a feeling of pure happiness that you're alive to hear it. And this is coming from a pretty cynical person here, seriously I hate a lot of things, more than probably the average cynic, but this is a band that, although seemingly unable to break out from the shadow of their seminal debut, are simply happy to make music that gives you a yummy feeling inside! Those B######s! Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    It's a strange record, but it's fun and great. It sounds like "Is This It?" as if it had been written in the 80's. Julian's voice really fitsIt's a strange record, but it's fun and great. It sounds like "Is This It?" as if it had been written in the 80's. Julian's voice really fits in the album, as he does falsetto here and there. If you liked Angels, you can't miss this one. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    1
    I've heard a lot about this band and their supposedly amazing debut, but I haven't got around to listening to it yet. But I decided to giveI've heard a lot about this band and their supposedly amazing debut, but I haven't got around to listening to it yet. But I decided to give their latest release a try, seeing as it could well be the group's last album. Well, if that's the case, they're not going out with a bang. This is one of the weirdest albums I've ever heard barely audible voices, awful vocals, lyrics I can't make head or tail of, and a bunch of odd noises that send me reeling. It seems like something thrown together for a joke. The lead single, All The Time, is practically a crime against music. The only decent song is closing track, Call It Fate, Call It Karma, which is a beautiful ballad and a glimpse into what the album could have been. I've heard a lot of fans say that their debut was their opus and they slowly declined from there, so I'm surprised that most of them seem satisfied with this. I expected more effort from a final album. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews