• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Congratulations Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pete Kember produced the second album with the rock band led by Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, which also includes three members from the touring live band.

Top Track

Flash Delirium
Mild apprehension Blank dreams of the coming fun Distort the odds of a turnaround Gut screams out next to none So turn it on, tune it in And stay... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mojo
    100
    Brooklyn duo deliver shock psychedelic masterpiece. [May 2010, p. 96]
  2. The nine-song album aims for a more unified and introspective feel, a good deal darker, denser and less instantly accessible than the debut. Instead of concise singles, it more fully embraces the duo's interests in waving the Barrett-era freak flag
  3. 80
    Despite being haunted by the group's flip from rock-star charade to reality, Congratulations still brims with mischievous energy.
  4. Every track here has successful passages, but frustratingly, they too often turn out to be detours or trap doors. In general, the less cluttered and more focused their tracks are, the better they turn out.
  5. It's a brave, sometimes successful, but ultimately flawed attempt to evolve and grow the band's sound. The one crime is a distinct lack of any memorable tunes, but it will certainly stand as one of 2010's more interesting releases.
  6. With Congratulations, they attempt to not just keep it weird--which they've done--but to figure out how they can be in it for the long haul. It's a solid start.
  7. MGMT is like some nightmarish amalgam of those bands' [The Flaming Lips and Of Montreal] bottom-barrel ideas set to wanky synths, sometimes for up to 12 minutes (!!!) at a time.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    I LOVE LOVE this album. Every song on it has a different and unique sound. My favorite song is Flash Delirium. At first listen I thought wthI LOVE LOVE this album. Every song on it has a different and unique sound. My favorite song is Flash Delirium. At first listen I thought wth was that? But then I had to listen to it again and again. Siberian Breaks is beautiful and I love every psychedelic second of it. Each time I listened to the album I noticed something different and the more it grew on me. Congratulations is incredibly creative both in lyrics and in sound. This album is a masterpiece and severely underrated. Expand
  2. CraigtD.
    Apr 15, 2010
    10
    Wipes the floor with everything this year.
  3. DavidM.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    What a grower of an album. Soon it will be drilling itself into your subconscious.
  4. Jul 17, 2017
    9
    MGMT went for a huge risk as they went for a more subtle and not so commercially viable route, and I think it payed off. While there are noMGMT went for a huge risk as they went for a more subtle and not so commercially viable route, and I think it payed off. While there are no poppy singles like Kids, Electric Feel or Time To Pretend, this album is still amazing. Every time I listen to Congratulations, there's a sense of comfort and humanity there which is so easy to connect with. The only (very minimal) downside is that it is somewhat lyrically directionless, but I have a feeling that that may be the point. Best tracks on here are It's Working, Song for Dan Treacy, Flash Delirium, I Found a Whistle, Siberian Breaks, Brian Eno and Congratulations. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    8
    What on earth do you do with your sophomore release if you're MGMT? In 2008 their inventive debut album of radio-friendly megahits provokedWhat on earth do you do with your sophomore release if you're MGMT? In 2008 their inventive debut album of radio-friendly megahits provoked such a frenzy of superlatives from the like of Radio 1 and NME that their collective drool of the critics was detected oozing out of car-stereo speakers and strewn magazine pages for months afterwards.
    And certainly Oracular Spectacular was good - very good even - although it was a smidge front-loaded. But just how does an ambitious young band follow the "most in-demand album" in the world? Well, if you're MGMT, you ditch all that easy, brilliant pop accessibility and embark your expectant audience upon a voyage into a farcical universe swelling with psychedelic goofiness, unruly song structures and, err, Brian Eno. And, you know what, congratulations are in order. Ok, so it hasn't had Jo Whiley squealing all over the airwaves like a cat whose tail's been stamped on by a stiletto. All the better. Congratulations, despite the absence of an audience wower like 'Time to Pretend', is a denser, more consistent effort than its well-hyped predecessor; a unified listening experience rather than a mere compilation of singles. It's a daring departure from the formula that has won them so much favour and, whilst it doesn't risk 'Kid A' style alienation, the bold move deservedly draws such lofty comparison.
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    The first listen didn't convinced me, but by the third listen, everything made sense now. The songs are a blend of 60s poopy songs with modernThe first listen didn't convinced me, but by the third listen, everything made sense now. The songs are a blend of 60s poopy songs with modern ambient electronica. Very addicting. Nice album. Expand
  7. May 26, 2011
    0
    After such an amazing debut I was seriously disappointed with the dire, forgettable crap that followed.

See all 47 User Reviews