• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Cosmogramma Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thom York, Ravi Coltrane, and Laura Darlington appears as a guests on the experimental producer/artist's third full-length album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Flying Lotus has made the strongest album to date with his amazing collection of sounds, beats and instruments; as good as you felt after hearing the sheer brilliance of "Los Angeles."
  2. Part of its delight is how naturally the disparate parts fit together, but another part is how they add up to phantasmagoria if you let your attention wander (and don't be a tight-ass‑-you should).
  3. Cosmogramma is an instrumental genre-jumping journey for head-bopping intellectuals, and the meditative melodies by vocalists Thundercat, Laura Darlington and Thom Yorke only add to the experience.
  4. 80
    Warm and inviting, his latest opus occasions swan dives into future soul, funky dubstep ("Dance of the Pseudo Nymph"), Theo Parrish–styled house ("Do the Astral Plane"), and astonishingly, Sun Ra jazz ("Arkestry").
  5. Because in constantly mutating just when you begin to pin it down, drawing everything around in before rearranging atoms before your very eyes, Cosmogramma proves itself time and time again as mind-meltingly boundless as a black hole.
  6. Add in a dabbling in the spirit of free jazz and one might expect this album to be a wilfully discordant aural trial. But it turns out to be quite the opposite. The parts may be disparate but they are made to submit to an abiding mood of vivacity and sunniness.
  7. Fans of experimetal electronica will be [happy], though Radiohead devotees should exercise caution. [Jun 2010, p.124]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    The best electronic album since Untrue. FlyLo blends a number of different styles together very effectively to create a unique, immersiveThe best electronic album since Untrue. FlyLo blends a number of different styles together very effectively to create a unique, immersive soundscape. This album seizes your brain and doesn't let go for 45 minutes of pure awesomeness, leaving you a more complete, enlightened person than you were before. There's so much to discover on this album, and it only continues to sound better every time I listen to it. Even if you're not really into electronic music, you should check this out. It's unique, progressive, and incredibly fun. Collapse
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    A brilliant work, takes you on a miniature journey. Excellent to listen to with headphones. Not a dull moment, completely engrossing all theA brilliant work, takes you on a miniature journey. Excellent to listen to with headphones. Not a dull moment, completely engrossing all the way through. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Flying Lotus's music is quite off the wall and many can only scratch their heads when they listen to his second album Cosmogramma. So whyFlying Lotus's music is quite off the wall and many can only scratch their heads when they listen to his second album Cosmogramma. So why does flylo conduct this strange, experimental, mishmash of styles? What makes flylo so easy for me to appreciate is the fact that no matter what, he will stick to the type of music he wants to do. He could make an entertaining dubstep album, a ground breaking hip hop collaboration, or even an experimental hip hop album. Similar to most great musicians, the music he makes is the center of his life. He has said that his music is his escape and it is what makes him feel like a kid again. He is also a fan of cartoons growing up watching adult swim and that same cartoon-ish aesthetic is the backbone of Cosmogramma. The Flying Lotus project is abstract and strange and I have seen that this album is not for everybody. This album bounces around constantly and is unsettling, but the constant energy is what makes this album such undeniable beauty. I treat this album as a concept album at times and I do believe that it does have a concept to it. Cosmogramma can mean many things and the listener has to use their imagination to figure out what it means. The first few words are "i have this world but nobody would believe me if I said it exists." Later in the album in his song with Thom Yorke, Yorke sings, "I need to know you're out there just need to know you're out there somewhere...and the world laughs with you." To me, this represents the experience of being shut up by the world. Towards the end of the album there is a metaphor using table tennis to relate the feeling of being rebounded and powered by a certain force. Cosmogramma represents the experience of life with being an upbeat and joyful kid, marveling at life and beauty then growing up and losing all of the innocence and happiness then finding passion, sex, social interactions, and being overwhelmed by a higher figure. There is not much else I can say about this album. It is simply pure overwhelming beauty. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    One of the few albums out there that could change a person's opinion on music completely. A cohesive blend of 4/4 dance, messy jazz andOne of the few albums out there that could change a person's opinion on music completely. A cohesive blend of 4/4 dance, messy jazz and supreme production make this album as funky, as fun and as erratic as it could have been. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    So effing dope, FlyLo delivers such delicious agressive beats, stomping on top of quivering synths... a euphoric sound- I could never get sickSo effing dope, FlyLo delivers such delicious agressive beats, stomping on top of quivering synths... a euphoric sound- I could never get sick of this album. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    A great blend of sound, and an incredibly consistent album. Every song stands out in one way or another, and the sounds are varied andA great blend of sound, and an incredibly consistent album. Every song stands out in one way or another, and the sounds are varied and perfectly put together. Expand
  7. j30
    Dec 6, 2011
    6
    Sensory overload is how I'd describe this record from the California based producer Steven Ellison. There are certainly highs and lows, allSensory overload is how I'd describe this record from the California based producer Steven Ellison. There are certainly highs and lows, all happening within seconds of each other. Sometimes it works, but for the most part it's a mess not worth picking up. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 25, 2010
    What made our list of the best-reviewed albums from the past month? The debut LP from Janelle Mon