User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 72
  2. Negative: 25 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyF
    May 6, 2008
    7
    Not a bad album. Opener 'Century' is like the worst one though, and it goes nowhere over it's long 5 minutes. 'Guilt' and 'The Couples' are two of the best, that wouldn't have much of a problem being on their debut. Tag-team 'I Liked the Boys' and 'Here Come the Serious Bit' don't really do much for me, but 'Round the Not a bad album. Opener 'Century' is like the worst one though, and it goes nowhere over it's long 5 minutes. 'Guilt' and 'The Couples' are two of the best, that wouldn't have much of a problem being on their debut. Tag-team 'I Liked the Boys' and 'Here Come the Serious Bit' don't really do much for me, but 'Round the Hairpin' is the best song here, with it's incredible instrumentation and great vocals, (follower 'Too Clever By Half' also contains great vocals, a chilling, airy product.) Now, 'Erin O'Connor' and 'Nostalgia' are bother pretty good, and 'I'm Going to Hell' is fun, even if it is an awkward closer. COUPLES is nowhere near the caliber that their debut was. Their debut is incredibly catchy, brilliantly produced, had good lyrics, and her voice was showed off more I think. It lived more. Now, this is sort of a disappointing followup. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Super album. One of the best albums I've heard this year. So fresh and different to everything else that's out there.
  3. ReginaH.
    May 9, 2008
    0
    The worst thing they ever done, don't waste your money in this garbage. This is only for hard fans.
  4. FelipeP.
    Apr 15, 2008
    0
    The worst album of the year.
  5. AlexisT.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Brilliant.
  6. CARPETCAT
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    If they were on a major record label, trade magazines like NME would be far more likely to give them a better review instead of cozying up to contrived major label rubbish like Panic At The Disco. This is a great album and a huge step forward from the last album. This sort of thing should be encouraged!
  7. AnoushkaP.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This album is perfection. I think some reviewers have very narrow taste, and I'm hardly surprised that NME didn't think much of it. The rag is full of useless shouty bands with expensively dishevelled hair masquerading as an image/personality/talent.
  8. JohnRusty
    May 10, 2008
    0
    Too overload.
  9. JayS.
    May 5, 2008
    0
    Horrible and boring, the first was better.
  10. MandyM.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    The worst Brit Record of 2008
  11. TameY.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    I love the first one, but this is ridiculous
  12. RalphM.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    I think they lost their way to make good music.
  13. JimmyC.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    Don't waste your money on this crap CD!
  14. AmyW.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    disappointed album!
  15. RogerS.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    Most boring album of the century. Are they crazy?
  16. MarcR.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    The difficult second record.
  17. JarvisS.
    May 7, 2008
    0
    This is horrible!
  18. RichardM.
    May 7, 2008
    0
    Brit Rubbish.
  19. CharlesW.
    May 7, 2008
    0
    Even for free I take this album
  20. JassF.
    Apr 15, 2008
    4
    Totally disappointing follow-up. I'm afraid to say the Long Blondes have gone terribly wrong.
  21. Sune-Wales
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    I couldn't disagree more the the other comments. This is one of the best albums I've heard this year. Brilliant.
  22. FfionL.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Album of the year.
  23. Allan
    Apr 26, 2008
    3
    If you liked Someone To Drive You Home, you are probably going to be disappointed. The change in styles is very uncalculated and there's almost nothing "pop" about this album. Rather boring and it literally brings a tear to my eye with how good Someone To Drive You Home was.
  24. RamiroW.
    May 10, 2008
    0
    This is Trash music.
  25. RaphS.
    May 11, 2008
    2
    Truly awful not just by comparison to someone to drive you home. just generally. there's not urgency, no sex appeal, absolutely no emotion. just loads of posturing. check out rilo kiley's under the blacklight for a much better pseudo-fleetwood-mac execution.
  26. KH.
    May 6, 2008
    9
    I thought Someone to drive you home was a fine album, but not more than that. This new album does make good on all the promise of the first. One of the best I've heard this year.
  27. JudithM.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    I did not like this album
  28. RossA.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    Even with the erol alkan's prodution, this album failed to be good.
  29. JamesH.
    May 6, 2008
    0
    Nobody deserves listen to this crapp. Don't wast your money!
  30. MacyC.
    May 7, 2008
    0
    So different of the first album, horrible music.
  31. EllenR.
    May 7, 2008
    0
    This is waste of time and money, they failed.
  32. PaulC
    Apr 16, 2008
    7
    2008 has seen the release of two great 80's albums, with The Long Blondes and Neon Neon. If you like 80's inspired music this is your album. It's not as good as Neon Neon but definitely an enjoyable listen.
  33. NoelS.
    May 11, 2008
    4
    I love their first album - it's on constant play on my iPod. However, this new one sounds like a bunch of quickly thrown together Blondie b-sides. I mean, seriously, it's really not that good.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. In lyrics and music, The Long Blondes have managed to put out a sophomore album just as addictive and catchy as their debut "Someone To Drive You Home."
  2. With Couples they've managed to turn two years of inter-band heartache into an ambitious, forward-thinking pop record that tops their debut by quite some distance.
  3. Eloquent, glamorous, spirited and now more sonically innovative than ever, the quintet have affirmed their place as one of Britain's most exciting bands with this release.