Couples

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 72
  2. Negative: 25 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyF
    May 6, 2008
    7
    Not a bad album. Opener 'Century' is like the worst one though, and it goes nowhere over it's long 5 minutes. 'Guilt' and 'The Couples' are two of the best, that wouldn't have much of a problem being on their debut. Tag-team 'I Liked the Boys' and 'Here Come the Serious Bit' don't really do much for me, but 'Round the Not a bad album. Opener 'Century' is like the worst one though, and it goes nowhere over it's long 5 minutes. 'Guilt' and 'The Couples' are two of the best, that wouldn't have much of a problem being on their debut. Tag-team 'I Liked the Boys' and 'Here Come the Serious Bit' don't really do much for me, but 'Round the Hairpin' is the best song here, with it's incredible instrumentation and great vocals, (follower 'Too Clever By Half' also contains great vocals, a chilling, airy product.) Now, 'Erin O'Connor' and 'Nostalgia' are bother pretty good, and 'I'm Going to Hell' is fun, even if it is an awkward closer. COUPLES is nowhere near the caliber that their debut was. Their debut is incredibly catchy, brilliantly produced, had good lyrics, and her voice was showed off more I think. It lived more. Now, this is sort of a disappointing followup. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Super album. One of the best albums I've heard this year. So fresh and different to everything else that's out there.
  3. AlexisT.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Brilliant.
  4. CARPETCAT
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    If they were on a major record label, trade magazines like NME would be far more likely to give them a better review instead of cozying up to contrived major label rubbish like Panic At The Disco. This is a great album and a huge step forward from the last album. This sort of thing should be encouraged!
  5. AnoushkaP.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This album is perfection. I think some reviewers have very narrow taste, and I'm hardly surprised that NME didn't think much of it. The rag is full of useless shouty bands with expensively dishevelled hair masquerading as an image/personality/talent.
  6. Sune-Wales
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    I couldn't disagree more the the other comments. This is one of the best albums I've heard this year. Brilliant.
  7. FfionL.
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    Album of the year.
  8. KH.
    May 6, 2008
    9
    I thought Someone to drive you home was a fine album, but not more than that. This new album does make good on all the promise of the first. One of the best I've heard this year.
  9. PaulC
    Apr 16, 2008
    7
    2008 has seen the release of two great 80's albums, with The Long Blondes and Neon Neon. If you like 80's inspired music this is your album. It's not as good as Neon Neon but definitely an enjoyable listen.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. In lyrics and music, The Long Blondes have managed to put out a sophomore album just as addictive and catchy as their debut "Someone To Drive You Home."
  2. With Couples they've managed to turn two years of inter-band heartache into an ambitious, forward-thinking pop record that tops their debut by quite some distance.
  3. Eloquent, glamorous, spirited and now more sonically innovative than ever, the quintet have affirmed their place as one of Britain's most exciting bands with this release.