Crayons

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DJMaxxx
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    The critics are crazy. This is the best pop album of the year so far. Donna's voice is still amazing and the track "Crayons" should be a summer anthem! Other faves: "Stamp Your Feet," "Drivin' Down Brazil," and "The Queen Is Back." But a strong release all around!
  2. OscarC.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    An Amazing Album. Evert track is different from the one before. I can't stop listening to it.
  3. CharlesA.
    May 31, 2008
    9
    Summer is truly the queen and crayons is shining example of her mastery over pop, dance, reggae, jazz... as the track states. "The Queen is back",
  4. BryanE.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    This is perhaps one of the best CD's of Donna Summer's illustrious career. Although some critics don't like the fact that Donna dabbles with many different styles on this CD, I love the fact that Crayons is so diverse. Ironically, the critics seem to like the disco driven "I'm A Fire", but this is the track that I skip the most. "Fire" is my least favorite track on the This is perhaps one of the best CD's of Donna Summer's illustrious career. Although some critics don't like the fact that Donna dabbles with many different styles on this CD, I love the fact that Crayons is so diverse. Ironically, the critics seem to like the disco driven "I'm A Fire", but this is the track that I skip the most. "Fire" is my least favorite track on the CD. "Crayons" is a very fun song. Love that one. Without giving a song by song run-down of the CD, just wanted to give this CD a thumbs up....two thumbs way up! Expand
  5. FrankB.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums Donna Summer has ever put out!!!
  6. RichardD.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This CD proves that the Queen is indeed back. Donna Summer is the type of artist that can actually sing a song rather then scream it or over produce it. You can feel the emotion and the mood in every note and every word. This is one of the best CDs that I have purchased this year!
  7. JeffC.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This album is her most creative & energetic since Bad Girls! Buy it immediately!
  8. BillyT
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    it is hot and donna is beautiful. I love it and am ready for another new album.
  9. JonathanHeath
    Jul 4, 2008
    10
    I love this CD. The QUEEN is back!
  10. FrancoisC.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    When the gap between the appreciation by critics and the one by general public is so big, I say to myself that something is wrong... about the critics of course. Donna Summer, like Celine Dion, is the type of artist critics as so scared about saying something good. Do not hesitate a second to get this album. One of the best in 2008 so far.
  11. GrantB.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    Amazing vocals from the original disco diva - and as lively a set as any new release by Madonna, Janet Jackson or any other would-be contender! The original queen of the dancefloor is back, and long may she reign. This is her best album since 1980's 'Wanderer', and I never thought i'd still be listening to new donna summer 28 years on! Fabulous.
  12. MattZ.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    It's really exciting to see a 59 year old hanging in - and then some - with artists so much younger. I'm inspired by longevity - great job, Ms. Summer. And Fame (the Game) may be the coolest mix of disco and rock since Hot Stuff.
  13. ChuckR,
    May 31, 2008
    9
    I love this album. I did not know what to expect as I did not care for most of her music through the 80's. But this album feels like the record company got out of the way and let Donna's personality shine. I especially like "Fame" and the title track "Crayons" (which features Ziggy Marly).
  14. DaveE.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Overall, I agree with most of the reviews that I've read. As a diehard fan, to me, the albums great but it does have it's flaws...not many. Some efforts to sound more youthful or current don't work. BUT after repeated listens, it holds up well & has many strong (diverse) tracks. I wasn't waiting for a "disco" album since this artist is so much more, therefore, i was & Overall, I agree with most of the reviews that I've read. As a diehard fan, to me, the albums great but it does have it's flaws...not many. Some efforts to sound more youthful or current don't work. BUT after repeated listens, it holds up well & has many strong (diverse) tracks. I wasn't waiting for a "disco" album since this artist is so much more, therefore, i was & am not disappointed. The lady still ROCKS! Expand
  15. DominiqueP.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    A truly refreshing CD, showcasing her versatility, and a voice that will not end -- when most female singers her age lose it (e.g. Diana Ross, Chaka Khan...) and outshines the likes of Beyonce and Rhiannan.
  16. AjR.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    I'm buying this cd no doubt a older and more glamous look i love the new look donna summer given the sucess of the other 1970s returning stars she a babe.
  17. fabfever
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Are you kidding wow wow where has she been wow this can be the begging of a brand new sound of music going into 2009 2010 2011 2012 and beown her talking parts and new beats and claps in the music we love you donna.
  18. SombiY.
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    The Queen is Back. Liike a breath a Fresh air...Love it.
  19. JohnG.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    She's back after 17teen years. In good voice and song. great cd.The best of classic Donna and the sounds of today. You will not be sorry!
  20. ChrisL.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    This album is awesome. I never listened to Donna Summer before, didn't really know much about her, but this was played to me by an old friend and I was blown away. Ten out of ten, no question!
  21. TrippW.
    May 29, 2008
    10
    A fantastic album illustrating the breadth and depth of Donna Summer's voice and song-writing. Long time fans will be ecstatic, and great production can bring a whole new audience!
  22. VeronicaW.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    110% pure hit.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. In-fashion vocal effects, which Summer certainly does not need, detract from a handful of these tracks, but as a whole, the album won't have trouble pleasing fans who just want to hear their queen have a blast and tear it up.
  2. This surprisingly lively set finds the former disco diva teaming with a crew of young collaborators--including Greg Kurstin, Danielle Brisebois, Ziggy Marley, J.R. Rotem and Lester Mendez--for a series of uptempo forays into stomping dance-pop, juke-joint blues-rock, breezy Latin jazz and African-accented soul.
  3. The music is harmlessly listenable, and the requisite nods to her dance-floor legacy, like the sweeping, dramatic house anthem 'I'm a Fire' and the lockstep 'Stamp Your Feet,' are (at the very least) no less opportunistic than the latest albums by Madonna and Janet Jackson.