Crazy Itch Radio

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SunilV
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    Give it time! Are they back to their formal glory? Well, yes and erm, no. You see, in many ways Kish Kash was their most cohesive album and Remedy their least, but no one will forget the hit singles from Remedy, so it all depends on what you're looking for. I've had this playing on itunes almost continuously for a day and boy does it grow. There's enough innovation (banjo Give it time! Are they back to their formal glory? Well, yes and erm, no. You see, in many ways Kish Kash was their most cohesive album and Remedy their least, but no one will forget the hit singles from Remedy, so it all depends on what you're looking for. I've had this playing on itunes almost continuously for a day and boy does it grow. There's enough innovation (banjo anyone?) and trademark Basement malarky to raise this well above the usual dance dross and the more you listen the more surprises ensue. Cohesive - not every time (and the interludes are just dumb, though the intro is perfect leader stuff). Without a doubt, this album raises the spirits and makes you love dance music all over again. Expand
  2. PeterK
    Oct 1, 2006
    8
    While not as funky or catchy as their previous stuff, the album is still wonderful, but more of a need-to-be-in-the-mood type experience. With no bad tracks, the album runs smoothly with semi-exciting grooves and several great funk moments. Note: I'm a big Jaxx fan.
  3. ThomasG
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    awesome album, different from the rest but still great!
  4. jd
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    the first 1/2 of the cd is very very good -- after that, 1 choice cut, several mediocre
  5. neocellare
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    I love this album, truly, i just can stop to hear it.
  6. Dan
    Sep 13, 2006
    7
    Probably really give this a 7.5. Some tracks are forgettably mediocre, but others are triumphantly swell. It's still above-average altogether, but below expectations for what I wanted out of a new Jaxx LP. Definitely check out standout tracks like "Take Me Back To Your House," "Hey You," and "Everybody."
  7. JoonL
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    I feel the singles collection and Rooty has raised expectations for Basement Jaxx to absurd levels. Crazy Itch Radio isn't a masterpiece, but it's still a fun listen and interesting considering a vast portion of mainstream dance music nowadays sounds like generic Ministry of Sound remixes. Also, while the album seems to mix too many eclectic influences together, I'd rather I feel the singles collection and Rooty has raised expectations for Basement Jaxx to absurd levels. Crazy Itch Radio isn't a masterpiece, but it's still a fun listen and interesting considering a vast portion of mainstream dance music nowadays sounds like generic Ministry of Sound remixes. Also, while the album seems to mix too many eclectic influences together, I'd rather have a group trying too many ideas than too few. Expand
  8. JorgeR
    Dec 31, 2006
    8
    I like all the radio-like effects... DaftPunk-cious xD... But there's a lot of annoying "intros" for a few songs...
  9. Dec 7, 2010
    7
    Although this will never be the album that you want to listen to over and over, it will be the one that you'll still find new reasons to love later on. The Jaxx's weakest album, but it's still a joy to listen to.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Crazy Itch Radio cements Basement Jaxx reputation as Britain's gold-standard dance duo.
  2. 'Crazy Itch Radio' bumbles along with mid-paced beats and, it seems, too many disparate influences to really hold together.
  3. Urb
    80
    Their best album since... Remedy. [Sep 2006, p.131]