User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 60
  2. Negative: 13 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. johnhappy
    May 1, 2004
    0
    it sucked
  2. jeffl
    May 4, 2004
    9
    i really like this cd because you can tell that d12 tried to differntiate from there previous album, although lyrically, its just as sick as the first one, which was the intent, thats what they are known for, The beats are excellent, some song sbetter then others, one of my favs, "How Come" and "Bitch", which is so truthful, anyone who thinks it isnt, falls into the category of what the i really like this cd because you can tell that d12 tried to differntiate from there previous album, although lyrically, its just as sick as the first one, which was the intent, thats what they are known for, The beats are excellent, some song sbetter then others, one of my favs, "How Come" and "Bitch", which is so truthful, anyone who thinks it isnt, falls into the category of what the songs deals with, good job D12, One of my fav albums currently, one thing i will say, Em is at his best when he is a solo artist and can have full songs, but as a whole D12 hold up pretty well,. Expand
  3. mikemat
    May 1, 2004
    5
    I was waiting for this cd to come out for a year and when it cam out it dissapointed me. I like all the artists on shady/aftermath like a crackhead loves crack but this one really is bad. EM, some advice from a hardcore music analyst you gotta go back to spittin about things that are going on around you and things we normal people can relate to you we dont care about how hard you are when I was waiting for this cd to come out for a year and when it cam out it dissapointed me. I like all the artists on shady/aftermath like a crackhead loves crack but this one really is bad. EM, some advice from a hardcore music analyst you gotta go back to spittin about things that are going on around you and things we normal people can relate to you we dont care about how hard you are when you go to a club. Ohh yeah and umm since you usually diss everyone that talks smack about you what happen to Suge Night and the outlawz.(Too Gangsta for Radio) listen to it if you havent heard it. I hope next CD will be better!! Expand
  4. KatieP
    May 3, 2004
    10
    It's actually a very good CD. I can't say if it was better than Devil's Night (cause I didn't listen to D night). D12 World is very good though. The best tracks are undoubtedly "Bitch", "I'm Gonna Get My Gun", "How Come?", and a bunch of others. It really is good.. I don't think people are being fair by saying it's terrible. The beats are good, they It's actually a very good CD. I can't say if it was better than Devil's Night (cause I didn't listen to D night). D12 World is very good though. The best tracks are undoubtedly "Bitch", "I'm Gonna Get My Gun", "How Come?", and a bunch of others. It really is good.. I don't think people are being fair by saying it's terrible. The beats are good, they sound good... Eminem is thankfully not on every song. "Good Die Young" is also a great tribute to Bugz and it made me cry when I listened to it. Great CD, better than I ever expected. Expand
  5. cotyr
    Oct 4, 2004
    6
    this cd didnt match my expectations and wasnt as exciting as their debut but it is still a listenable cd but most of the songs are skippable
  6. willb
    May 2, 2004
    5
    First off, the Devil's Night album was, in my opinion, very good, and im a big Eminem fan to boot. So, i was excited to get my mits on the new one, D12 World. However, after a few listens, i'd have to say the cd is a disappointment. Theres nothing new here, its the SAME ideas and issues being spit, in the SAME fashion over mostly dull beats. Not one member of D12 really stands First off, the Devil's Night album was, in my opinion, very good, and im a big Eminem fan to boot. So, i was excited to get my mits on the new one, D12 World. However, after a few listens, i'd have to say the cd is a disappointment. Theres nothing new here, its the SAME ideas and issues being spit, in the SAME fashion over mostly dull beats. Not one member of D12 really stands out on their 2nd album. On the first cd, bizarre was funny and fresh, unfortunately his raps havent changed at all in the last few years. Bizzy (sigh, as hes occasionally nicknamed on D12 World) raps about the exact same stuff as in Devils Night and eventually gets totally annoying. Kuniva, Swifty, and Kon Artis get lost in the schuffle because theres nothing they rap about that sets them apart from any of the other members. Proof has potential, but again, when all you rap about is how much of a bada** gangsta you are, it sounds like ur making up for something lacking, or you really just dont have anything to say. Finally, Eminem. Em has for years proven himself in the rap world. But i think hes gettin a lil burned out(NOT PERMANENTLY i hope). This album doesnt have the same polish or pizzaz as ANY of his previous works. While i have never really been a fan of the beats he's produced, the ones he does on D12 World make me think he should either recalculate his ideas or give the reins to somebody else. i think he should step back and rething some of his rhymes as well. I think it would do him some good to take a year off or something, and get his S*** straight, cause the quality of his work is slipping in my opinion. Ok, it seems as if im just bashing this cd, but i did give it a 5. Thats because, even though it gets repititive, some of the tracks are good (not great) and enjoyable. Ill throw this in the cd player every once in awhile for the next couple weeks, but i dont see myself listening to it much after that. If your a eminem or d12 fan then deffinately check it out, after a listen you might think im an idiot, but if ur on the ropes with a purchase, have a listen before you buy. Expand
  7. McTom
    May 24, 2004
    5
    Look, Eminem and Proof are great rappers, but the rest of them bunch isn't quite as good. Especially is Bizarre terrible to hear: he screws half the album with his afwul voice (i don't know how, but the Bizarre-problem seems here even bigger than the last D12 album). Some good numbers though like 'Get my gun' and 'How come' where of course Eminem & Proof Look, Eminem and Proof are great rappers, but the rest of them bunch isn't quite as good. Especially is Bizarre terrible to hear: he screws half the album with his afwul voice (i don't know how, but the Bizarre-problem seems here even bigger than the last D12 album). Some good numbers though like 'Get my gun' and 'How come' where of course Eminem & Proof shine out. That Proof-man should get a solo-album alright en Bizarre has to be kicked out, 'cause thats crap. Expand
  8. AaronA
    May 4, 2004
    8
    i must agree with m.j here and say that this album aint as good as as Devils night but dont let this misslead you as D12 world is still great! especially 'Git up noW' pure class
  9. RandyL
    May 6, 2004
    2
    Pathetic, i have to give them some kudos for releasing 'my band' first, because that song pretty much sums up the album, not saying that the track (or any other track on the album) is good though. 1 point given for good cover art and 1 point given for earning a zero review
  10. NathanE
    Jun 26, 2004
    10
    Its the best Album of the year!!!!!!
  11. JamesD
    Jun 30, 2004
    0
    Well, nothin new from Mr. Overrated himself and his talentless bag carriers from Detroit. I wonder when Eminem will start to talk about something other than himself and also, when will someone step to him about he being possibley the worst rap producer on the planet. He still rockin the same beat he did on The Eminem Show, thats when he's not bitin Kanye West or Timbaland. But hey, Well, nothin new from Mr. Overrated himself and his talentless bag carriers from Detroit. I wonder when Eminem will start to talk about something other than himself and also, when will someone step to him about he being possibley the worst rap producer on the planet. He still rockin the same beat he did on The Eminem Show, thats when he's not bitin Kanye West or Timbaland. But hey, with all his groupie followers, why should he care. Waste of money. Expand
  12. MickeyBlueEyes
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    Great album,although 1 or 2 of Em's fellow rappers(Bizarre)is'nt as talented in the lyrical department its a great album nonetheless,Em takes Rap to the next level,Proof again does a great job with his quick,witty style,why doesnt he have his own album??
  13. JimmyB
    Mar 8, 2005
    0
    Worst record EVER!!!!!!
  14. Nick
    Jun 15, 2005
    1
    There is no D12 here, it is all Eminem and it is not good at all
  15. AnthonyM
    May 23, 2004
    10
    fuck what everyone else talking about D12 world is the shit!!!!!!!!!!!
  16. Jake
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    This album was the shit
  17. m.j.
    Apr 29, 2004
    8
    This is a pretty good rap cd, but it isn't as good as d12's first cd, Devil's Night. There are a couple of brilliant songs (in my opinion), but the rest of the songs on the cd are just good, not great. I know I gave it an 8. That's because it is a good cd, but it's just not what I thought it would be. I expected that every song would be damn near a classic after This is a pretty good rap cd, but it isn't as good as d12's first cd, Devil's Night. There are a couple of brilliant songs (in my opinion), but the rest of the songs on the cd are just good, not great. I know I gave it an 8. That's because it is a good cd, but it's just not what I thought it would be. I expected that every song would be damn near a classic after how excellent the first d12 cd was. Eminem is awesome as always, but that's just him. He could rap about the home shopping network and it would sound cool. Maybe my expectations were just too high. I know i'm rambling, but you get my point, right? Expand
  18. MadArtist
    May 11, 2004
    1
    This so-called album is just dribble. There is so substance to be heard of. I must admit, Devils night was a decent album even if the lyrics where alittle weak the moody beats made up for it. With D12 world the beats and the lyrics are just dry, boring, there is nothing there. One thing that is made perfectly clear on this album, is that eminem needs help with his beats all the one of This so-called album is just dribble. There is so substance to be heard of. I must admit, Devils night was a decent album even if the lyrics where alittle weak the moody beats made up for it. With D12 world the beats and the lyrics are just dry, boring, there is nothing there. One thing that is made perfectly clear on this album, is that eminem needs help with his beats all the one of this album seem to be unfinished and very weak. Expand
  19. DAnielleJ
    May 18, 2004
    10
    I love the song "MY BAND"! It rox so do u!
  20. AlexB
    May 25, 2004
    10
    the bomb
  21. harryb
    May 28, 2004
    4
    Very dissapointing follow-up to the EXCELLENT "Devil's Night", which had great production, the main problem that "D12 World" suffers from. The beats are either average-to weak. Besides a few standouts from Dr. Dre and some songs later in the album, Eminem's beats are repetitive and really un-original piano-cinematic stuff that sound like leftovers from the G-Unit cd. Even the Very dissapointing follow-up to the EXCELLENT "Devil's Night", which had great production, the main problem that "D12 World" suffers from. The beats are either average-to weak. Besides a few standouts from Dr. Dre and some songs later in the album, Eminem's beats are repetitive and really un-original piano-cinematic stuff that sound like leftovers from the G-Unit cd. Even the Kanye West track is bad, which is saying a lot for such a great producer. This cd would've benefitted highly from better beats, more Eminem (on the mic) and less Bizzare, because let's face it he is funny but CANNOT RAP! Expand
  22. CactuarChocobo
    Jun 12, 2004
    1
    Can anything elese in the world be as vile or as filthy as this? The songs are mainly crap, with an only exception, My Band. Even that is only demi-semi-decent. See? This album is that bad...
  23. CountJuggernaut
    Aug 29, 2005
    6
    There were a few tracks that sucked bad, but there were also AMAZING tracks like How Come and Good Die Young
  24. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    A sillier continuation to Devil's Night. Nontheless, many of the tracks are entertaining, and my specific praise goes to the emotional Good Die Young, where the members of the group pay their respects to fallen friend Bugz. An almost complete disconnection to the rest of the album, which focusses mainly on comedy and light-hearted misogyny. Bizarre's Just Like You track isA sillier continuation to Devil's Night. Nontheless, many of the tracks are entertaining, and my specific praise goes to the emotional Good Die Young, where the members of the group pay their respects to fallen friend Bugz. An almost complete disconnection to the rest of the album, which focusses mainly on comedy and light-hearted misogyny. Bizarre's Just Like You track is particularly...well, Bizarre. At least he's living up to his name. Expand
  25. Feb 20, 2012
    4
    This album was ok but ppl like Bizarre & Kuniva didnt deliver. Other rappers like Proof, Eminem, Kon Artist & Swift Were good. But some songs were just so bad
  26. May 8, 2015
    8
    Very good album, when Eminem is involved it sure won't be disappointing, the beats are good, Eminem is great as always, but what I enjoyed is that he doesn't take too much place on the album, he lets his buddies rap a lot and they are very good. Bizarre is an odd but very funny and enjoyable rapper.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Shock tactics and chest thumping still predominate, but satirical cuts... give this spit session much-needed polish. [30 Apr 2004, p.162]
  2. A likable ensemble effort, slopping over with infectious choruses and political incorrectness.
  3. Blender
    60
    The male affinity is so intense, it approaches homoeroticism. [#27, p.138]