Damita Jo

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Mar 30, 2004
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 84
  2. Negative: 12 out of 84

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2013
    8
    After being demonized by American press for her infamous nipplegate (in which Justin stay alive totally fine), this tempting album by Janet Jackson suffered great commercial flop. But the truth is that this is inevitable her best work in the 2000s. Other than the title track and the movie associated "Doesn't Really Matter", "All For You" (a.k.a the ultimate filler collection) is hardly aAfter being demonized by American press for her infamous nipplegate (in which Justin stay alive totally fine), this tempting album by Janet Jackson suffered great commercial flop. But the truth is that this is inevitable her best work in the 2000s. Other than the title track and the movie associated "Doesn't Really Matter", "All For You" (a.k.a the ultimate filler collection) is hardly a satisfying work for such an artist that used to probe into the deepest side of human being, and even the further on plastic R&B 20 Y.O. plus the pre-Lady Gaga era electropop Discipline, none of them reached the height to impress listeners and critics like her old works.

    "Damita Jo", on the other hand, is way more sensual than "All For You" while much more straightforward than "janet.". The reason you don't find such detailed expression like "My hands wrapped around, stroking up and down" in albums like "janet." and "The Velvet Rope" is that the sexuality expressed in these albums are supposed to be tied together with humanity, while the big leap forward found in "Damita Jo" is that she both revealed and created a complete personality of Janet's alter ego, or if you prefer, just the more private side of her life.

    Musically this album is nothing about vanguardism. Some of the materials you may find include 70s disco and 80s R&B ballad which not only are obviously abandoned old materials, and definitely would not hit, even without all the controversy she undergo a few months ago. Let's look at it with another perspective: This album, with all the modern soul elements, have a great consistency, which is great enough to say it's very precisely crafted. Even with all type of futuristic material you can imagine, "Discipline" failed to category itself as a classic, because "Damita Jo" already achieved the state that all the music elements can link up with each other, while expressing a complete personality of our lovely Damita Jo.

    The only other female singer that made her way to demonstrate her life within Music in such a detailed way is Mary J Blige. But ask yourself, are you actually interested in Mary J Blige's sex life? Most likely not.
    Expand
  2. AshleyS
    Mar 29, 2004
    9
    This would be a very good come back for Janet Jackson.
  3. mrdamitajosameasabove
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    This is by far one of her best albums yet. I have no ideal what you all are listening too, but the album is off the map and that actually means excellent
  4. Yolanda
    May 4, 2004
    10
    This CD is excellent please support our sister Janet. Everybody supported R Kelly, and we all know he was the one who did it. Everybody in this life wants to be forgiven for something they did, hey give Janet a chance guys, please purchase her CD. Thankx!
  5. GaizekaM
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    Its top of the best. I like it very much. Keep it up lady.
  6. aaliyahj
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST CD
  7. JonisH
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    Those reviews are ridiculous! this is one of Janet's best albums to date. THANK god for Janet's "thin, wispy voice", our ears need a break from those screamers and yellers. The Album is SUPERB!
  8. remi
    Mar 29, 2004
    8
    after the Superbowl fallout, i KNEW i had to get the album. it was my way of showing solidarity, as i supported an icon... or so i thought. it was only today that i remembered just how excited i was when i heard in january that she would be releasing an album. i believe my exact words were "Finally! some real female music after all this Beyonce garbage!" and janet delivered... oh, did she after the Superbowl fallout, i KNEW i had to get the album. it was my way of showing solidarity, as i supported an icon... or so i thought. it was only today that i remembered just how excited i was when i heard in january that she would be releasing an album. i believe my exact words were "Finally! some real female music after all this Beyonce garbage!" and janet delivered... oh, did she deliver! the originator of the "baby-maker" (note to Carl Thomas) comes back with some real gems here. but, i digress... let us begin at (you guessed it) the beginning. the atmospheric "looking for love" intro is awesome, although that's more a nod to Jam & Lewis than her. however, she steps up to claim her credit soon after. i always say, "Bold is the artist who dares to have a title-track on a self-titled album." Such a thing smacked of self-indulgence. however, i'm willing to forgive the energetic, surprisingly hip-hop "Damita Jo". i would continue in my track-by-track analysis, but i just remembered ms. jackson's album was 22 tracks long. on the whole, it's an awesome effort. one does cringe, though, asking "can't she talk about anything but sex anymore?" where are the Rhythm Nations and States of the World? the world isn't a better place now than it was in "1814", so why stop commenting on what goes on outside the bedroom. Damita Jo's split in 2; the first half being mainly hip-hop, the 2nd, slow and sexy. of the first half, few songs can match up to the infectious bounce-track, "Strawberry Bounce" and the beautiful R&B gem, "My Baby." 'Bounce gives the odd illusion that Jigga really IS on the track. and 'Baby makes even the coldest, least expressive heart (mine) appreciate it apparent sincerity... but if i hear the admittedly ingenious Kanye recycle another verse from his "Kon the Louis Vuitton Don" mixtape album, i'm gonna kill someone! that said, other standouts include "R&B Junkie" and "Spending Time With You", the latter, reminding us a lot of brother Michael's "Butterflies" the slower half begins with the album's true gem, "I Want You". Janet brings a level of sweet sincerity to Kanye's ingenious throwback that trumps Alicia Keys' also-great offering on "You Don't Know My Name." "Warmth" & "Thinkin' 'Bout My Ex" are acceptable, but the real remaining standouts are "Moist" (which picks up where the insanely sexy "Would You Mind" left off) and "SloLove," whose feelgood sound makes us yearn for a simpler time, being a kid, skipping grade school today and lying in bed, while listening to the rain through our open windows. for that, i say Thank You, Janet Expand
  9. tw
    Mar 31, 2004
    8
    it,s a hot cd, my only problem is i think that she could of talked about something more then sex, i don,t think her fan base will accept it as much knowin that she,s n a relationship there,s nothin 2 wish 4 she,s takin. I really like r/b junkie but out of all the tracks I LOVE track #14 ("THINKIN BOUT MY EX"), it,s cleverly written and totally unexspected, a beautiful BABYFACE song.
  10. KelvinB
    Mar 30, 2004
    8
    This is a great album--much more cohesive than "All for You." "I Want You" cements Janet as a soulful balladeer, "All Night (Don't Stop) is just begging for the dance floor. The title track, at under four minutes, speaks volumes. The ballads are much stronger on "Damita Jo" than All for You. "Thinking About My Ex" is an R&B classic. The album's only shortcoming is a lack of This is a great album--much more cohesive than "All for You." "I Want You" cements Janet as a soulful balladeer, "All Night (Don't Stop) is just begging for the dance floor. The title track, at under four minutes, speaks volumes. The ballads are much stronger on "Damita Jo" than All for You. "Thinking About My Ex" is an R&B classic. The album's only shortcoming is a lack of hard-hitting dance songs, ala "If," "Rhythm Nation" and "All For You." But once you hear Janet purring and harmonizing on "Moist" all is forgiven. Expand
  11. AlanS
    Mar 30, 2004
    8
    I really love the CD despite the unnecessary preoccupation with sex and some of the awkward lyrical phrasing. Janet is awesome.
  12. markyj
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    This is one of Janet's best efforts yet. Dripping with sexuality and her unique way of telling a story. This is one of the best cd's of the year
  13. KendraN
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    I love this album! I can listen to the whole thing and love every second! Go Janet!
  14. megant
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    i love her song all nite (dont stop) everytime it comes on i just have to get up and sing and dance to it
  15. nikki
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    I love this album, I love every song! This is Janet's best album!
  16. ElleC
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    An incredible album that puts the likes of Beyonce, Britney and Madonna to shame. Janet proves that she is the Queen of Pop with this one. Buy it now!!!
  17. JamieB
    Mar 29, 2004
    10
    I have to say this album grows on you very quickly. I've had it a week now and love it more and more everyday. Favorite trax are: SloLove (amazingly frothy club number), Thinkin' Bout My Ex (Babyface's best work in years!), Island Life (soulful jam), R&B Junkie (a sure-fire dancefloor hit) and I Want You (great 70's throwback)...Even with Janet's limited vocal I have to say this album grows on you very quickly. I've had it a week now and love it more and more everyday. Favorite trax are: SloLove (amazingly frothy club number), Thinkin' Bout My Ex (Babyface's best work in years!), Island Life (soulful jam), R&B Junkie (a sure-fire dancefloor hit) and I Want You (great 70's throwback)...Even with Janet's limited vocal ability (very pretty voice, not the most powerful on the block), she and her producers know exactly how to squeeze the most bang out of it. She has some of the best vocal arrangements (and unlike Britney and J-Lo, who disguise their severely limited voices by burying them in powerful back up singers), janet sings all her own backgrounds too. The result if pure, sweet magic...Wonderful album. Her best in years... Expand
  18. rickmartin
    Mar 30, 2004
    10
    THere are so many good songs on this album. Although janet cant hit those high notes, she really doesnt need to. She is a superstar for a reason. She is an all around entertainer that knows how to make a great album. Strawberry Bounce, All NIte and especially My Baby shows Janet was the first to incorporate amazing hooks and choruses. Ashanti, Beyonce cant compete with the creative power THere are so many good songs on this album. Although janet cant hit those high notes, she really doesnt need to. She is a superstar for a reason. She is an all around entertainer that knows how to make a great album. Strawberry Bounce, All NIte and especially My Baby shows Janet was the first to incorporate amazing hooks and choruses. Ashanti, Beyonce cant compete with the creative power of a SUPERSTAR. Slo Love and like you dont love me R&B junkie Truly and spending time are worth a listen aswell Expand
  19. BrandonM
    Mar 30, 2004
    9
    I have over 80 janet cds from around the world. I'm a fanatic and this is the first album i liked the first time around since the janet album. I can agree it's easy to forget some songs are playing becuase of her beloved gentle rasp, but the majority of these songs bang! All kinds of music moves me and tears are testiment to that.
  20. NseE
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    This is a fantastic cd, surpassed only by 'Control' and 'The velevt rope'. The retro sounding 'I want you' is excellent. The club anthems 'All night (don't stop)', 'R&B Junkie' and 'Slolove' will get your feet moving. The title track is a hybrid of hip hop and R&B. 'Sexhibition' is a clever Prince style number with This is a fantastic cd, surpassed only by 'Control' and 'The velevt rope'. The retro sounding 'I want you' is excellent. The club anthems 'All night (don't stop)', 'R&B Junkie' and 'Slolove' will get your feet moving. The title track is a hybrid of hip hop and R&B. 'Sexhibition' is a clever Prince style number with faint lashings of rock guitar streaming through. 'Spending time with you' sounds uncanilly like brother Michael's 'Butterflies'. 'Moist' is a beautiful ballad. 'My baby' with Kanye West's rapping flowing seamlessly with Janet's singing is another standout. The rock laced, bouncy 'Just a little while' is highly infectious. Forget what most critics are saying, this is an excellent showcase of Ms Jackson's talent. Another winner. Expand
  21. DonaldHJr
    Apr 2, 2004
    7
    Very Good stuff...If you are in the mood for a little melo-drama. She can sing, but needs to take more singing lessons! This is a pop songstress, nothing more or less. A serious one ....not quite there yet.
  22. GilbertC
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    This album is a pure 10! Janet is one of the best of our time and the media needs to leave her alone, no one gave Madonna this much flack during her "sex" book times when she was running the streets buck naked. I feel like the critics aren't giving Janet's new album a chance because of the Supper Bowl, but if you listen to the album you will know that it is HOT!! One of the This album is a pure 10! Janet is one of the best of our time and the media needs to leave her alone, no one gave Madonna this much flack during her "sex" book times when she was running the streets buck naked. I feel like the critics aren't giving Janet's new album a chance because of the Supper Bowl, but if you listen to the album you will know that it is HOT!! One of the best!! With hot club songs, sensual songs, bubbly pop hits, and some great ballads. Quit hatting on Janet, her new album ROCKS!!! Expand
  23. brunellk
    Jun 17, 2004
    10
    dont hate. just a little while, sexabition, and spending time is worth the money alone
  24. Renee
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    How does she do it? Janet has done it again with Damita Jo. Janet has once again released an album that you can listen to from beginning to end
  25. Biggs
    Sep 14, 2004
    10
    Well crafted CD. Janet, Jam, and Lewis have done it again with help from a few others. Janet is a pleasure to listen to. You can feel her energy and space that she is in, LOVE.
  26. PRay
    Jan 25, 2007
    8
    All For You was rubbish, 20yo is rubbish, in contrast Damito Jo is everything that the latter two fail to be, the most naturally sexy, fresh, funky that Janet has sounded in years. Didnt need the marketing stunt if thats what it was. Unlike All For You which had some rubbish sex songs, this has good ones, unllike 20 yo which has some rubbish dance songs and a load of bland songs, Damito All For You was rubbish, 20yo is rubbish, in contrast Damito Jo is everything that the latter two fail to be, the most naturally sexy, fresh, funky that Janet has sounded in years. Didnt need the marketing stunt if thats what it was. Unlike All For You which had some rubbish sex songs, this has good ones, unllike 20 yo which has some rubbish dance songs and a load of bland songs, Damito Jos efforts are all better than all the weak tracks on bothe those albums. Expand
  27. JosephV
    Feb 22, 2007
    7
    Not thrilled by this CD. I think it's her weakest. Maybe I just haven't gotten into it yet...
  28. janetmariahwhitneymadonnadiva
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    perfect 10 album! superbowl aside, ms. jackson created the perfect summer cd! go ms. janet
  29. JayV
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    those critics that have bashed this cd are not evebn paying attention to the music. The superbowl is irrelevant to thw music. THIS IS JANETS BEST CD TO DATE. A true masterpiece.
  30. ZaneH
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    AMAZING
  31. algiet
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    this cd is hot man.janet is straight r & b and i love it.america overreacted about the halftime show to begin with.janet shows on this cd that she is on top of her game.take a seat britney,ashanti and beyonce because the queen of pop is back with grooves to keep your head bobbing whenever you pop the cd in your cd player
  32. MichaelL
    Mar 29, 2004
    9
    It's right up there with the Velvet Rope, but doesn't focus on one continuous emotion. There is a one-two punch rhythm to this CD. Two songs with the same kind of sound are packaged together and then it switches to another style all the way throughout. I personally love All Night( Don't Stop) which then goes right into Junkie. The interludes are a bit weak on this one, but It's right up there with the Velvet Rope, but doesn't focus on one continuous emotion. There is a one-two punch rhythm to this CD. Two songs with the same kind of sound are packaged together and then it switches to another style all the way throughout. I personally love All Night( Don't Stop) which then goes right into Junkie. The interludes are a bit weak on this one, but that is not why you would buy a Janet Cd. Hey Janet, you can come over to my place anytime and I will not complain about any wardrobe malfunctions! Expand
  33. JulioR
    Mar 29, 2004
    8
    The cd is great! There is no one song that isn't catchy, something that past Janet albums laked for. Never been a huge Janet fan, but this one is good, specially that Strawberrybounce!! Just think people is to prejudging her work just for the Superbowl thing. Hope people can put music in one side and recognize it for what it is: a good album.
  34. CurtisB
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    I would love to give it a 20. I've been a Janet fan for a long time, and I have to say that this is her best cd to date. This is also the most mellow cd, that she has made. It has a late 80's early 90's feel to it. The kind of music that makes you feel good, and if you you want to get close to your special person, she has that to. I can listen to this cd over and over I would love to give it a 20. I've been a Janet fan for a long time, and I have to say that this is her best cd to date. This is also the most mellow cd, that she has made. It has a late 80's early 90's feel to it. The kind of music that makes you feel good, and if you you want to get close to your special person, she has that to. I can listen to this cd over and over again. (and I have). Do your thing GIRL!!! Expand
  35. PhillipW
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    DAMN, Janet did it again. This album reminds me of the more soulful and sentual Janet that I remember for the 1993 album Janet. Keep doing you thing Ms. Jackson
  36. NISHNISHF
    May 13, 2004
    10
    Point Blank This CD is tyte!
  37. ChonteJ
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    this is the cd of the year
  38. JayB
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Janet continues to do what she does best. Damita Jo showcases Janets ever increasing self awareness, while also containing the many sweet R&B tracks that has made her such a success. One of 2004's best R&B albums!
  39. Jan 24, 2015
    8
    Really good action movie. I gave it an 8/10.

    Some of the action scenes were amazingly well choreographed. A few things I'd never seen before, like hitting a guy with the car, guy goes over the top of the car, while John Wick is shooting him through the roof.

    Awesome fun to watch.
  40. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    This is my 3rd favorite Janet album of all time! I believe this was too criticized but I absolutely love it. Like all albums, I like some tracks more than others. However, most of the songs in my opinion are solid and right on. My favorites are All Nite (Don't Stop) and Island Life. I do not understand why people got so upset about the Superbowl Wardrobe Malfunction (which was an ACCIDENT)This is my 3rd favorite Janet album of all time! I believe this was too criticized but I absolutely love it. Like all albums, I like some tracks more than others. However, most of the songs in my opinion are solid and right on. My favorites are All Nite (Don't Stop) and Island Life. I do not understand why people got so upset about the Superbowl Wardrobe Malfunction (which was an ACCIDENT) and the fact that she used sexual terms. Let's go back to janet. in 1993. That's the album that dubbed Janet as a sex symbol, but no one had an issue with it then. Now that she gets slightly more explicit, she's suddenly disastrous. Only true Janet Jackson fans love this album. The only songs on this album I have an issue with are Sexhibition, Warmth, and Moist. I like them, don't get me wrong, but they are really almost disturbing to listen to (coming from a person who is absolutely comfortable about sexual terms). Those songs I'll only listen to if I'm listening to the full album. The rest of the album, though, I really love! Great work by the best singer of all time, Janet Jackson. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Strong and sensual.
  2. Without strong rhythmic or melodic hooks, the album's slow grooves blend together and Jackson disappears into the productions.
  3. At 22 tracks, "Damita Jo" has its fair share of hits and misses.