Damita Jo - Janet Jackson
Damita Jo Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The nipple-baring superstar's first album in three years features production from Dallas Austin, Babyface, Kanye West, and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. The obligatory boring ballads aside, the results are astonishing.
  2. 80
    What's titillating about Damita Jo isn't some easy flash of sexuality, but the varied soundbeds that Jackson and her producers create to house her love games, and the confidence with which she plays. [May 2004, p.116]
  3. At 22 tracks, "Damita Jo" has its fair share of hits and misses.
  4. For the most part, the songs are stylized set pieces--the furthest thing from steamy R&B--and they evaporate as you listen to them. [9 Apr 2004, p.83]
  5. That it'll be her most scrutinised release is a problem, because its stilted, wearying, obsessive concentration on an uncomfortably forced notion of it's creator's sexuality means it's the only album she's made in the last dozen years that doesn't merit such focussed attention.
  6. Finds her flailing club-footedly some twelve steps behind contemporary R&B, whispering distractedly through a seemingly unending array of interludes and phoning in songs that even Mariah at her most barely-there would dismiss as a trifle on the insipid side.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 51
  2. Negative: 5 out of 51
  1. JayB
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Janet continues to do what she does best. Damita Jo showcases Janets ever increasing self awareness, while also containing the many sweet R&B tracks that has made her such a success. One of 2004's best R&B albums! Expand
  2. mrdamitajosameasabove
    Apr 20, 2004
    10
    This is by far one of her best albums yet. I have no ideal what you all are listening too, but the album is off the map and that actually means excellent Expand
  3. janetmariahwhitneymadonnadiva
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    perfect 10 album! superbowl aside, ms. jackson created the perfect summer cd! go ms. janet
  4. nikki
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    I love this album, I love every song! This is Janet's best album!
  5. PRay
    Jan 25, 2007
    8
    All For You was rubbish, 20yo is rubbish, in contrast Damito Jo is everything that the latter two fail to be, the most naturally sexy, fresh, funky that Janet has sounded in years. Didnt need the marketing stunt if thats what it was. Unlike All For You which had some rubbish sex songs, this has good ones, unllike 20 yo which has some rubbish dance songs and a load of bland songs, Damito Jos efforts are all better than all the weak tracks on bothe those albums. Collapse
  6. JosephV
    Feb 22, 2007
    7
    Not thrilled by this CD. I think it's her weakest. Maybe I just haven't gotten into it yet...
  7. AaronL
    Mar 29, 2004
    2
    OMG - I thought Christina Aguilera's trip into Skankville was bad on her last disc, but Janet has become mayor of Skankville with this dirrrty junk. Besides a couple of nice tracks that reflect the true artist she can be, this is a real disappointment. I don't mind it if an artists explores or questions sexuality in lyrics, but I find it cheap to spew sex-filled lyrics that are only there to shock or get people to buy the disc. Makes me think now that the Super Bowl fiasco was totally planned and not a "costume malfunction." Shameful choices from Janet. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews