Dark Light

  • Record Label: Sire
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 89
  2. Negative: 17 out of 89

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jacob...
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Not HIM's best CD. it is filled with 2 of there best singles. "Join me" is still (to me) there best work. The United States just dosnt like HIM because it was never shown to us. Now i hope a new Generation of people will come to love it like I do.
  2. minzem
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    very good album!liked heavy riffs!
  3. ChristinaL
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    This CD kicks ass. It is the best yet. I cant help but listen to this CD over and over again.
  4. KaylaD
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    This is not one of HIMs best albums yet and I think inspires the emotional sides of most goths out there today. It says that you can still be emotional and romantic, but dark and diabolical at the same time.
  5. chipa
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    It's about time a band conveyed itself outside the ideals of such a compromising society. This is a clear example, existence of mere talent at it's best. And I happy to realize that they are the first Finnish band ever to go gold in the U.S.. Well, it goes to show that critiques don't know squat when it comes to music; for bellowing this autominous sound.
  6. Astatothsv
    Jan 12, 2006
    8
    This disc is not as good as the older ones, but still good, for me its a little plain not many changes from one track to other. HIM is one of my fav bands and Ville is a great singer, who can really sing live and goes for really high notes from time to time, lyrics are deeper but they dont talk about death too much and maybe thats why many fans didnt like it. Some one said that this is This disc is not as good as the older ones, but still good, for me its a little plain not many changes from one track to other. HIM is one of my fav bands and Ville is a great singer, who can really sing live and goes for really high notes from time to time, lyrics are deeper but they dont talk about death too much and maybe thats why many fans didnt like it. Some one said that this is not metal just cuz they tune guitars in E, dude go and check arroud, even Therion tunes in E! Expand
  7. AN
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    The Best!
  8. TrentonJ
    May 20, 2006
    10
    I've been a HIM fan for almost 2 years now and I must say, this isn't their best cd, but it's better that any other cd from a nother band
  9. SandyO
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    really great ablem
  10. jakec
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    him are the best band in the world ever
  11. JillP
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    come into the heartagram
  12. IvonaZ
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    my favourite is razorblade romance but i'd give them 10 for each and every one of their albums...i admire ville for the stile he uses while writing songs and i just love his voice...
  13. iowahimlover
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    HIM is wonderful. Why is it that if the album isn't ear shattering or has endless drum and guitar rifts its no good. If people just took the time to LISTEN with their ears and heart they would see and HEAR the beauty in the music. At the very minimum, you can actually understand what is being said. Unlike some other metal bands. The average person feels like they are being blasted by HIM is wonderful. Why is it that if the album isn't ear shattering or has endless drum and guitar rifts its no good. If people just took the time to LISTEN with their ears and heart they would see and HEAR the beauty in the music. At the very minimum, you can actually understand what is being said. Unlike some other metal bands. The average person feels like they are being blasted by the noise and undecernable vomit emiiting from the vocalist. If you don't like HIM and their music, just don't listen and quit complaining. Let those of us who enjoy them, ENJOY them, period. Expand
  14. namesareoverrated
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    The only thing keeping me from giving Dark Light a ten is because people glorify "Wings of a Butterfly" to high heavens and beyond. Seriously, I can't see how anybody can say it's the best song on the CD, because I'd go so far as to say "Under the Rose" is the greatest song ever writtern. Anyone want to challenge me? You're welcome to it, but don't expect a The only thing keeping me from giving Dark Light a ten is because people glorify "Wings of a Butterfly" to high heavens and beyond. Seriously, I can't see how anybody can say it's the best song on the CD, because I'd go so far as to say "Under the Rose" is the greatest song ever writtern. Anyone want to challenge me? You're welcome to it, but don't expect a response. On the other hand, the only thing keeping me from dropping it lower to an eight is the fact that it doesn't feature Villie Valo on the cover. Those covers kind of disturb me... Still, my favorite album from a favorite band. Long live His Infernal Majesty. Expand
  15. joeyB
    Sep 5, 2007
    8
    this is a really great album....and the best thing about it is that it doesn't sound like all the other stuff thats out there....oh and for kicker tom...this music isn't emo....its goth rock!
  16. VenusDoom
    Apr 1, 2009
    10
    This album blew me away!
  17. Jeremy
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    They're incredible. If you disagree go to a concert and deal with their fans.
  18. KristinaA
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    I think the album is GREAT!! I had the pleasure of seeing H.I.M live last night in St. Pete. Was as equally great as the album. Wish the guys well in the U.S. so I can see them again.
  19. ChrisH
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Once again the critics have got it wrong this is the first time i heard HIM now i love them, no offence but you need new critics only the real people seem to know what they are on about
  20. BrittaniJ
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Beautiful!!! I love it! Ville has an amazing voice! Such a great singer!
  21. AmandaN.
    Dec 21, 2005
    10
    This album is beautiful! Those other people like John S who said that Ville needs to be shot I guess listens to horrible music like Ashlee Simpson, Rappers, and Madonna. So they must have brainwashed him. Those people need to be shot with a tranq gun to rest their poor poisoned brains that are full of that horrible music. At least Ville sings beautifully and doesn't sing about people This album is beautiful! Those other people like John S who said that Ville needs to be shot I guess listens to horrible music like Ashlee Simpson, Rappers, and Madonna. So they must have brainwashed him. Those people need to be shot with a tranq gun to rest their poor poisoned brains that are full of that horrible music. At least Ville sings beautifully and doesn't sing about people getting shot, raped, and the likes. This album is one of the best, along with his other albums; Greatest Lovesongs vol. 666, Love Metal, Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights, Razorblade Romance, and the cd collections. Oh and P.S. At least Ville can sing unlike *cough* Ashlee Simpson, and Rappers Expand
  22. dustinm
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    i love this cd it is a true example of ville at his best
  23. [Anonymous]
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    HIM simply rocks!
  24. TristanL
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Deeper, and more emotional than the other albums. Not as good as the classic and classy razorblade romance, but should entertain the kiddies.
  25. mindez
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    Very melancholic and heavy album
  26. KaraP
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I'm a really BIG H.I.M. fan and I think every C.D. is wonderful and I think, being a Goth myself, the album shows that Goths aren't all 'I want to die!' But we're romantic, we care even if we really don't. You need better critics! I think you guys just found the ones that said bad/nuetral(so to speak) things about it. I guess that's why this is a I'm a really BIG H.I.M. fan and I think every C.D. is wonderful and I think, being a Goth myself, the album shows that Goths aren't all 'I want to die!' But we're romantic, we care even if we really don't. You need better critics! I think you guys just found the ones that said bad/nuetral(so to speak) things about it. I guess that's why this is a 'critic' website. Even though I prefer Razorblade Romance and how it shows you that Goths are Romantic and emotional, this shows a gentle, sweet side of Goths people rarely ever see! I think it's beautiful and You seriously need better critics. Expand
  27. katerid
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    it's no doubt their best album yet
  28. GaripS
    Jan 30, 2006
    10
    Damn it people, how the hell can a H.I.M. album not have a full 10 rating?!?!?! The lady of my life dies for Ville Valo, so vote H.I.M. to the fullest and keep on Killing (your) Loneliness
  29. EliseD.
    Feb 16, 2006
    8
    This is a really good album, darker than the earlier ones. Its pretty kick ass but I wish it was longer.
  30. TahniG
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    HIM hasnt failed me yet. Their music is awesome i too wish it was longer. Now im just waiting for them to go on tour in the U.S
  31. anthonym
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    excellent
  32. AmyT.
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    I agree with Garip S. HIM deserves no less than 10. Or 11.
  33. ValeryK
    Jun 10, 2006
    7
    I'm HIM's fun, and i know that this album is the worst, cause love metal, the greatest songs, vol 666 and others were better, but this album is acceptable, but it could be better!
  34. SusanS
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    HIM is the best band ever. Villes' vocal is really great. The lyrics is deep & personal. I love this band, still they've changed. I can't say this album is the best (I like RR the most), but I adore their music, for 3,5 years already. Russia loves you, gyus =)
  35. kristyvampire
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    I LOVE HIM!!!!!!! THEY F***ING ROCK!! i particularly like this album, not they're best but still sexy and deep. i havbe every album of they'res and I think they're storngest album would be RAZORBLADE ROMANCE. DARK LIGHT is good. I like it. I LOVE VILLE VALO!!!
  36. evildollie
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    its a good album ok its different from there other ones but it is NOT wimpy.
  37. olab.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    perfect! popish' yeah... but for what it is.. it's perfect
  38. StarL.
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    Dark Light is by far HIM's BEST album yet! It's different from everything else they've done yet it still has that awesome HIM style too it. This is the first time that I've liked each and every single song. In their past albums I've technically liked all of them but there were a few that were just blah or ok. In Dark Light, all of the songs are absolutely amazing! Dark Light is by far HIM's BEST album yet! It's different from everything else they've done yet it still has that awesome HIM style too it. This is the first time that I've liked each and every single song. In their past albums I've technically liked all of them but there were a few that were just blah or ok. In Dark Light, all of the songs are absolutely amazing! They put so much work into this album and it came out great and it was sooooo definitely worth it! Ville Valo did great with the lyrics (as always) and the rest of the band totally rocked out of course. I think they did a fantastic job and for those of you who didn't like it, listen to it again and tell me it's not a great album! = ) Expand
  39. Stefani
    Nov 23, 2005
    10
    I haven't heard of this band until now and it is hypnotic. I can't seem to get enough of the unique music. From a womans point of view, Vallo is the perfect front man. He's got the voice, good looks and movements that just draw you in further.
  40. Sarah
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    Dark light is a fantastic piece of music, HIM are musical geniuss'. Ville Valo's lyrics and voice sooth the soul and warm ur heart, what a man. the only reason this is a nine instead of a ten is because i have all of their albums and Razorblade romance overshadows all the rest by far!
  41. MihaiV
    Nov 1, 2006
    8
    I'm surprised at how low the ratings are. This is a good album.
  42. Amanda
    Nov 15, 2006
    7
    I gave this album an 7 for the simple reason because, it just wasn't what I or other people were used to (NOT meaning people i haven't met, just people I know who like H.I.M). I'm not saying that I didn't like their cd, it's just not what I was expecting...
  43. johnw
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    this is not HIMs best album but still is great it doesnt have as much rock as im used to with HIM but still has the same deep meaning lyrics
  44. KarenB
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    At 1st listen I was a little dubious that this album would live up to their previous best, but I decided to give it another few listens and hey, it REALLY grows on you! It now virtually lives in my cd player and ranks second only to my favourite Razorblade Romance. Although most fans agree that this is HIM @ their most commercial (which usuallly = worst) this is a blistering good listen. At 1st listen I was a little dubious that this album would live up to their previous best, but I decided to give it another few listens and hey, it REALLY grows on you! It now virtually lives in my cd player and ranks second only to my favourite Razorblade Romance. Although most fans agree that this is HIM @ their most commercial (which usuallly = worst) this is a blistering good listen. Ville's songwriting & vocals are as good as ever and the rest of the band sound terrific and there is some really interesting layering happening on some of the more ambitious tracks. More user friendly than past offerings it might be but to my ears there's nothing else out there that can compete with HIM's unique blend of Rock/Goth angst! Expand
  45. BrianH
    Mar 27, 2006
    7
    As a fan of the boys of HIM (by the way, they have not used the acronym of His Infernal Majesty since their first show in 1995) for a long time, I think it's fair to say that I know what to look for in a HIM album. In a way, this one is definitely HIM, but that way is mostly in the fact that no two of their albums share much in common concerning sound. While their first and third As a fan of the boys of HIM (by the way, they have not used the acronym of His Infernal Majesty since their first show in 1995) for a long time, I think it's fair to say that I know what to look for in a HIM album. In a way, this one is definitely HIM, but that way is mostly in the fact that no two of their albums share much in common concerning sound. While their first and third albums were more gothic, their second and forth albums metal, and all the b-sides and singles released in between, despite the difference in sounds I believe people will still be caught off-guard by this punk-influenced disc. It's not bad, but it is definitely an acquired taste. When I first heard it, I might have given it a 5/10, but now it's definitely grown on me. Expand
  46. MoeE
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    Great album, and I hate the fact that people vote 0 or 1 because they think they suck, if you listen to the music you might change your mind.
  47. TonyB
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    This album is amazing!! Great vocals, heavy music, its romantic and violent all in one...HIM are the greatest rock band ever@!!!
  48. MYGUITAR
    Jun 13, 2007
    8
    This is overall a good, solid album with no
  49. samw
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    they are fanstically amazing!!! i love ville valo so much!!!! i would die for valo!!! Hail to His Infernal Majesty
  50. ChristinaP
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    A great Cd to listen to in the car and chill! This is the first H.I.M. album I have bought and now I'm addicted!
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Spin
    25
    Listening to this disc sorta gives new meaning to the phrase virgin sacrifice. [Oct 2005, p.142]
  2. A solid, if not wholly overwhelming album.
  3. Blender
    60
    It's refreshing to hear a band approach the form's familiar imagery from a place of romance, not cynicism. [Oct 2005, p.138]