Days Are Gone

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Days Are Gone Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the Los Angles indie pop trio of sisters was produced by Ariel Rechtshaid and James Ford.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    91
    It could be an overstatement to say that if Days Are Gone is any indication of what’s to come for Haim, the band is set.
  2. With the triumvirate of googly-eyed rhythms, sinfully catchy melodies and a breeziness that seems only fitting, they’ve served up one of the most auspicious debuts of the year.
  3. 80
    Overall, Days Are Gone showcases the band’s individual strengths that have been pulled together to create a collective group with intensity and depth of potential.
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    80
    The music is propulsive and upbeat, but executed with the almost blasé confidence of people who sound like they have nothing to prove.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    It’s a taut, punchy album full of winning charm, and blessedly free of cynicism and ego.
  6. Uncut
    Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Hook-heavy hummability abounds, but most interesting are the newer "My Song" and "Let Me Go"--darkly atmospheric chunks of contemporary R&B/Hip-pop. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    50
    The lyrics flirt with turmoil--there are lots of songs about holding on or jumping into the fire, and so forth--but don’t really say much of anything.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    This band is a breath of fresh air. The harmonies, song structures, melodies, and vocal arranges are absolutely breath-taking! It will keep meThis band is a breath of fresh air. The harmonies, song structures, melodies, and vocal arranges are absolutely breath-taking! It will keep me hooked until their next album. Expand
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    Hehe, ovo je moja prva kritika, lol. Stvarno sam bio odusevljen kad sam prvi put cuo pesmu Forever na radiju i jedva sam cekao da cujem ceoHehe, ovo je moja prva kritika, lol. Stvarno sam bio odusevljen kad sam prvi put cuo pesmu Forever na radiju i jedva sam cekao da cujem ceo album, sta reci, album je u potpunosti ispunio moja ocekivanja koja su stvarno bila velika. Najvise mi se svidjaju pesme Falling i My Song 5. Inace, ovo mi je jedan od omiljenih albuma. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    Simply one of the best indie-pop albums of the year. "Days are gone" is a fun, catchy and very very cool record. Almost all the songs areSimply one of the best indie-pop albums of the year. "Days are gone" is a fun, catchy and very very cool record. Almost all the songs are really great, with the best one being "My Song Five"; a mixture of rock n roll and R&B, Indie-disco songs “If I Could Change Your Mine”and “Days Are Gone” and the well known singles “The Wire”, "Falling" and “Don’t Save Me”. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Good disco, beats and melodies complement the way to fun and well centered, matching the vocals of the singers. Undoubtedly, the wait for theGood disco, beats and melodies complement the way to fun and well centered, matching the vocals of the singers. Undoubtedly, the wait for the debut of sisters Haim not displeased Collapse
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Ask any girl, not many of them will like rock, some will but in retrospect some won't. It's a cultural stereotype that they will like pop orAsk any girl, not many of them will like rock, some will but in retrospect some won't. It's a cultural stereotype that they will like pop or something along the lines of that and we're all guilty of this form of labeling. With Haim's musical roots, they bring a unique force on this album with this style. It's unexpected from a girl band, and yet it's still strangely safe for them as well. It's Fleetwood Mac's Rumours meets Michael Jackson's Thriller, just to put it explicitly. It's seems new, but then again the roots and inspirations are still evident, and its influence will be greatly appreciated.

    Days Are Gone isn't anything new lyrically as well, lacking flow and grace at some points but not so much to be a nuisance. Musically, it is incredibly interesting and intriguing, and with Haim behind the wheel, letting them drive us through their journey is probably our best decision yet.
    Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2015
    7
    HAIM sounds fresh and fun on this album, but at the same time they remind me of so many other artists that I love. These sisters are clearlyHAIM sounds fresh and fun on this album, but at the same time they remind me of so many other artists that I love. These sisters are clearly very talented, and they have a knack for crafting catchy tunes which are immediately accessible yet not generic sounding. The album is somewhat front-loaded, but most of the songs are pretty good. The standout tracks to me are "Falling," "If I Could Change Your Mind," and "Don't Save Me." I'm definitely looking forward to their future releases. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2014
    3
    I pre-ordered "Days Are Gone" because I loved HAIM's 2013 iTunes concert set, which combined raw rock with catchy pop. When the album finallyI pre-ordered "Days Are Gone" because I loved HAIM's 2013 iTunes concert set, which combined raw rock with catchy pop. When the album finally dropped, though, my excitement changed to disappointment at hearing only one song (My Song 5) with the energy I enjoyed in the band's live performance. In the studio, HAIM loses its power, buffing and layering until no rock edges remain. Yes, it's still possible to hear some smoking guitar riffs, but they're buried so deep in the mix that most listeners will miss them. Or not miss them, judging by the rave reviews on this site.... Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.