Days Are Gone

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2013
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 27, 2014
    60
    Days Are Gone is a pretty impregnable collection of songs, their alloy of golden Fleetwood Mac melodies and liquid R&B polished to a reflective shine. [Oct 2013, p.103]
  2. Oct 7, 2013
    60
    When it’s all said and done, it’s a bit of a blur, but in the same way that looking back on a good evening might be when you wake up for work a day or two later. You’re glad it happened, but it might not stick with you.
  3. While newer tracks “My Song 5” and “Let Me Go” snag by throwing surprisingly moody shapes, Martika-esque closer “Running if You Call My Name” sounds like something smoothed for A-list romcom duties.
  4. 60
    Okay, but not much more.
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    60
    Stretched to album length, Haim’s shtick grows repetitive and the music is too frequently solid rather than inspired.
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    50
    The lyrics flirt with turmoil--there are lots of songs about holding on or jumping into the fire, and so forth--but don’t really say much of anything.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    What a new and a fresh band I like their sounds and they do have a VERY Tasty tunes with a very different musical style... the moment IWhat a new and a fresh band I like their sounds and they do have a VERY Tasty tunes with a very different musical style... the moment I listened to them I became an instant fan Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    This band is a breath of fresh air. The harmonies, song structures, melodies, and vocal arranges are absolutely breath-taking! It will keep meThis band is a breath of fresh air. The harmonies, song structures, melodies, and vocal arranges are absolutely breath-taking! It will keep me hooked until their next album. Full Review »
  3. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    Unexpectedly good. Lots of catchy tracks and very cool tunes all the way. It was great fun listening to this album, especially that itUnexpectedly good. Lots of catchy tracks and very cool tunes all the way. It was great fun listening to this album, especially that it reminded me of all the 80's pop that i enjoy. Very excited for this band and their future. Full Review »