Days Go By - The Offspring
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    It annoys me so much that this isn't getting as much praise as it deserves. Seems like all people are doing is saying "HERP DERP CRUISIN CALIFORNIA IS A POP SONG & THE TITLE TRACK SOUNDS LIKE FOO FIGHTERS!!!!" and then just brushing off the rest. I honestly don't see what they're complaining about. To me The Offspring is in top form here. Over the years their sound seems to have gotten more & more diverse. There's songs that sound like classic Offspring ("Hurting as One", "Dividing By Zero", "Slim Pickens") with maybe a hint of Rise Against at times ("The Future Is Now"), emotional piano-driven balladry ("All I Have Left Is You"), mid-tempo Foo Fighters-esque rock ("Days Go By"), quirky pop-punk ("I Wanna Secret Family With You"), fun upbeat & tongue-in-cheek power-pop ("Cruising California"), and even a bizarrely catchy hybrid of mariachi & reggae ("OC Guns"). What's all the negativity towards? For Noodles' sake, even the new Flo Rida album got a higher average critic score than this! While obviously nothing will ever top Smash, this is a close second for sure. People need to get over that The Offspring isn't always gonna be 100% punk 100% of the time and just enjoy the great songwriting for what it is. This is also the problem I have with the reception of the new Linkin Park album. People notice it doesn't sound like nu-metal and instantly throw around the labels "boring", "watered-down", and even "sellout", without giving themselves a chance to embrace the sound they have in front of them rather than just comparing to the older stuff. In my opinion this album is a fantastic addition to the Offspring discography, and every track is catchy & memorable. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    New Offspring, what a way to kick off the summer!!! I have read several "critics" reviews and must wonder why so serious? This is a great record, one of their best in my opinion. I have plowed through it numerous times and now and it just gets better after every listen. In my estimation that's what a great record does, you listen to it once and go yea and then by the time you've listened to several more times you're like hell yea!!! Cruisin California is just a great summer song, these guys have always written silly fun songs, it part of what makes them The Offspring. Love "Slim Pickens" too, great to have the band back and can't wait to see them live!!! Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  4. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    Love the album. The "6" track (Crusin' California (Bumping in my Trunk)) Just proves that The Offspring are still awesome. Remember Pretty Fly, Why Don't You Get A Job, Original Prankster and Hit That? All silly songs. I don't see why people, and even some other professional reviewers, are getting upset just now that they are making silly music. Must be the waggoner's that joined in 2008 because of You're Gonna Go Far, Kid. Regardless, this is just a fun rock album. It's what you'd expect from the Offspring, some stand-outs in the album, for me, were Secrets From The Underground, Dividing by Zero and the title-track-lead-single, Days Go By. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    I think this is an improvement over Rise and Fall, The band not only has some songs sounding similar to tier older style but also mix in some tracks that are a lot different.. However Cruising California is probably the worst Offspring Song ever. The rest is pretty good
  6. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    There are a few good songs on this album. There are a few bad songs on this album. But it's possibly the most underrated record of the year thus far, considering those critic reviews.

    Overall, the album is solid. Personally I didn't care much for Days Go By and even if it is a parody, Cruisin' California just doesn't sound witty enough to convince me, but songs like "The Future is now"
    and "Dividing By Zero" damn well make up for it. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    7
    Whilst not being as good as their previous effort, Ride and fall, Rage and Grace, still pretty good nonetheless. Certainly not their worst work. I just think it's a little disappointing one of the best tracks of the Album 'Dirty Magic' is a rerecord. Still like previous offering from The Offspring these songs will get stuck in your head fairly easily. Also Cruising California really doesn't get it's satirical edge across, which is clear when you read the lyrics but from just hearing it, rather hard to tell. So in conclusion I quite enjoyed this album and whilst there are no real surprises and it's not their best work and the length is just a little disappointing for a 4 year wait, it still is a pretty good album.
    Standout Tracks: All i have left is you Dirty Magic Slim Pickens does the right thing and rides the bomb to hell.
    Expand
  8. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    its not a evolve album for the band but is the reason why fans love the offspring (exept for the 6 track) and proves they still rock!!!. one of my favorites offspring albums
  9. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this album a lot. I would have given it an 8, but they rehashed a lot of the same chord progressions and beats. For example, "Dirty Magic" shares the same chorus melody as "Have You Ever" from "American."

    Dexter's vocals are probably better than they have ever been. There are some awesome guitar solos (something I felt the last album was missing a little).

    If you like their
    old stuff, you will like most of this album. I have no idea why 'Cruising California' and 'Days Go By' are the first singles they choose from the album. Both songs differ the most from their previous work.

    In my opinion, 'Days Go By' is the weak link in the album. It sounds a lot like the Foo Fighters and gets old really fast.

    'Secrets From The Underground' is probably the best song on the album. Over all, I was very satisfied and think the album is definitely worth buying.
    Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    The Offspring have always been one of my favorite bands, but this is not one of my favorite albums. There are a lot of derivative tracks (I can hear Foo Fighters and Rise Against playing in my head while I listen to some tracks, as well as Offspring songs from prior albums). This bothered me for some time, but after listening to the cd enough, I've gotten over that and have given it my approval. The song has enough singles on it to make the CD worth the purchase. Expand
  11. Dec 17, 2012
    4
    The Offspring tried many things to make their freshest album sound good. There are rock songs, punk songs, party songs and also calm tracks on 'Days Go By'. But they are really bad in terms of writing songs, which really surprised me because their former CD 'Rise And Grace...' was very nice. I listened the album once and I won't listen to it more often because it isn't entertaining. All the tunes are similar and I would recommend those nearly 50 year-olds to just stop making music. It's not worth to listen to the whole thing when only 15% of 'Days Go By' are actually good. Expand
  12. Jul 5, 2012
    3
    These guys are going to get sued for plagiarism. They use to be an excellent punk band, but then they decided that what they wanted to be is the "funny" band, and made songs like "Pretty Fly for a White Guy" and "Hit That." Ugh. This album mixes in some of those types of songs along with some Rise Against and Foo Fighters ripoffs, clearly just desperate to get back on the radio. They need to stop. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    70
    Overall, Days Go By ends up as a solid record only because there are traces of The Offspring again and not a band that tries to copy others.
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    40
    At best, the songs on their ninth album are bland recreations of their past successes.
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    40
    The general rule with Offspring albums is that their buoyant Californian punk will always be pockmarked by two wildly irritating songs. So it is with Days Go By.