Dead Gaze

  • Record Label: Fat Cat
  • Release Date: May 21, 2013

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Magnet
    Jun 18, 2013
    R. Cole Furlow reliably packs every Dead Gaze song with pathos, effects, blurred motion and voices, man, voices. [No.99, p.54]
  2. May 30, 2013
    R. Cole Furlow has managed to piece together a jigsaw of DIY recording methods, thrashy punk, grungy distorted noise and glowing synths to brilliant effect.
  3. May 30, 2013
    As this excellent introductory comp proves, no matter which sonic path he chooses here, or will choose in the future, Furlow's songcraft and skill at coming up with hummable, strummable songs will serve him well and make fans of pop music with a little grit and gunk quite happy.
  4. 70
    While the ambitions and output of Furlow have been consistent, it will still be most interesting to hear a fully formed LP of new material--the potential Dead Gaze fans have always admired hasn’t left these tracks.
  5. May 30, 2013
    The compilation nature of this LP makes it sound like a set of songs that has been allowed to gestate too long and the bloated, overripe package it presents reflects that.

There are no user reviews yet.