Dear Science, - TV on the Radio
Dear Science, Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the New York band was produced by Dave Sitek.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. No two tracks are the same, none could be anyone else. This is one irresistible party: the joy Adebimpe was looking for is right here. A great, great record. [Oct 2008, p.154]
  2. Dear Science, the third album from the Brooklyn-based art rock band TV on the Radio, is a vivid, angry, sensual soundtrack to the haunted life.
  3. 90
    Overall, Science expands the band’s already-vast palette that continues to defy and recontextualize any definition of a “rock” band.
  4. Dear Science finds the band pushing still further, using its big beats and graffiti textures in service of its most accessible songs to date.
  5. 80
    Malone excels himself with the brassy pop of 'Lover's Day' and 'Golden Age.' [Oct 2008, p.112]
  6. Deep Science should enhance TVOTR's reputation as one of the finest, forward-thinking bands around, along with fellow Brooklyn acts Animal Collective and Liars.
  7. They haven’t exactly lost their sense of intrigue, it’s just that on Dear Science it all sounds a lot less intriguing.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 110
  1. exe.
    May 14, 2009
    10
    I can't stop listening to this amazing collection of songs. Hearing most of this album performed live certainly helped me to appreciate the music more as a living breathing thing, where as a lot of songs from Return To Cookie Mountain (an album I find to be without flaw) were not as satisfying on stage. Anyway, it's not it's predecessor, without a doubt, but I'm into TVOTR's journey and see no reason to pick apart one of the few bands I can still get excited about. To each his own. Expand
  2. CurtisH.
    Sep 28, 2008
    10
    The best album this year, hands down.
  3. ChK
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Well, I think it's best album I've hard recently.
  4. Will
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Surely destined to be a classic? By far and away the most exciting release of 2008, even if it has been a poor year for music.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 24, 2008
    9
    Fun and awesome. Ive found more to enjoy here than on Return to Cookie Mtn.
  6. ScottF.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    Their previous albums were haunting and beautiful. This one adds fun.
  7. bastu
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    Everyone seems to failed to have noticed that it has none of the intricacy, charm or, god forbid, personality that made all of their previous music so good. Beautiful layered vocals or sitek's oft hailed instrumentation, no bugger that... get a drum machine and sing "he's a what? he's a what? he's a newspaper man and he gets his best ideas from a newspaper stand". I despair. And who knows what's wrong with all you people claiming it's the best thing since sliced bread... Depressing. Expand

See all 110 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.