Death to False Metal

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2010
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    6
    Like any other Weezer album, every track grows on you over time.
    Whilst this compilation of unreleased tracks is nothing amazing, these are worthy songs for any Weezer fan's collection.
  2. May 15, 2011
    5
    I'm generally a pretty big fan of Weezer, however this album causes me constant confusion, Why would they release some of their sub standard songs and not songs from the black hole? An album fans have been waiting so many years to hear in its entirety.

    The lyrics are uninspired and it is easy to see why a lot of these songs didn't make it on to their respective albums, all in all, for me,
    I'm generally a pretty big fan of Weezer, however this album causes me constant confusion, Why would they release some of their sub standard songs and not songs from the black hole? An album fans have been waiting so many years to hear in its entirety.

    The lyrics are uninspired and it is easy to see why a lot of these songs didn't make it on to their respective albums, all in all, for me, someone who has been a Weezer fan for many years, it was somewhat of a let-down.
    Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Kerrang!
    Jan 31, 2011
    40
    The rest of these songs weren't good enough to make it onto 2005's Make believe or 2008's Weezer (The Red Album), which says it all really. [6 Nov 2010, p.51]
  2. Mojo
    Dec 23, 2010
    60
    This collection of rarities includes songs from their "mystery year" of 1998, an MOR cover oof Toni Braxton's Unbreak My Heart and on, Turn Up The Radio, a song written as a YouTube collaboration with fans, yet is still stronger than most albums in the current mainstream pop/punk realm. [Jan 2011, p.110]
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    48
    Ultimately, this collection is a series of album nearly-rans. This shouldn't undermine the songs, but it should reiterate how strong Weezer's records actually are (for the large part).