User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 124
  2. Negative: 19 out of 124

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnnaH.
    Jun 20, 2006
    0
    Woops my sis used my name, I personally agree with the other reviewer guy blake w. AFI does have no talent and they are only continuing the rapid down spiral of music. I'm a girl and I couldn't even sing that High. So basically don't listen to them. Try good bands like Weezer who know how to play music
  2. jonj
    Jun 9, 2006
    1
    I love AFI, but not this album. If I ever need something to listen to while I cut my wrists....I'll put this on. Otherwise, back of my CD case where it can be forgotten. *** I wish my lawn was emo....That way it would cut itself.
  3. GordonA
    Jul 1, 2006
    0
    AFI is the worts band I've ever heard, this crap CD is no exception.
  4. BilboBaggins
    Jun 26, 2006
    0
    The Rabbits are Roadkill song is a track from the STS sessions. That's always a bad sign, when you go sifting through leftovers. This album is simply AFI riding the wave of current screamo,emo, corporation rock. I think they realised that they were getting on in their years, so it was a good time to think about making some cash for retirement. I can accept change in bands, and I The Rabbits are Roadkill song is a track from the STS sessions. That's always a bad sign, when you go sifting through leftovers. This album is simply AFI riding the wave of current screamo,emo, corporation rock. I think they realised that they were getting on in their years, so it was a good time to think about making some cash for retirement. I can accept change in bands, and I definetely did with the past three albums, but in the end: Miss Murder is an absolutely mediocre single and December Underground is an absolutely forgettable album. Oh, and also, releasing an album on 06 06 06? How teenage. Grow up already Davey, you're in your 30's. Expand
  5. DaveA
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    No, no, no, no, no. They have a song with a rap beat in it, ENOUGH SAID!
  6. markx
    Jun 23, 2006
    3
    This, children, is what we call "plagiarism." Utter tripe.
  7. AlanR
    Jul 1, 2006
    0
    So EMO it hurts.
  8. pgg
    Sep 22, 2006
    0
    so bad that i popped it out after only a few songs. if you want a better album with more texture and better music that rocks, check out Snowden's new album. afi has nothing to say and it reminds me of night ranger from the 80's... they sucked then.
  9. rr
    Sep 22, 2006
    1
    gayest thing i've ever heard. you people that liked it need to get out more. there is way better music than this almost everywhere. somebody that gave this re-hash of bad 80's pop/rock a 9 or a 10 couldn't be real fans of any music or they are locked away and they are comparing it to.... christian rock?
  10. martins
    Sep 22, 2006
    1
    millie vanillie is better than this junk. melody is the only thing they have going for them but so do a million bands out there right now. go find a better one that writes real music and you won't be embarassed in 2 years for owning this and having somebody see it at your house. go buy the new phoenix record and at least enjoy for more than 1 listen.
  11. JonH
    Jun 7, 2006
    3
    In my waiting for this to come out i found myself listening to all of my AFI albums constantly. Which turned out to be a bad move since it reminded me of how amazing they used to be. This new CD has very few songs i enjoy and the rest are lackluster at best. No where near the calibur of their humble eight minute or so All Hallows E.P....makes me wonder what the long wait was for
  12. IllmaticNaS
    Aug 17, 2006
    2
    Wow. This album received "generally favorable reviews?" That is really amazing. I mean, I'll admit, "Miss Murder" is a REALLY catchy tune. But I just figured that's all this band was: mindless, catchy, forgettable, teenage-girl pop punk tunes. I guess there's something more to them. I don't really understand it. I'm not a fan of this. "Miss Murder?" "A Fire Wow. This album received "generally favorable reviews?" That is really amazing. I mean, I'll admit, "Miss Murder" is a REALLY catchy tune. But I just figured that's all this band was: mindless, catchy, forgettable, teenage-girl pop punk tunes. I guess there's something more to them. I don't really understand it. I'm not a fan of this. "Miss Murder?" "A Fire Inside?" "Can I take my life?" I mean, I don't see how that appeals to anyone at all. It's all overly-romantic, melodramatic bull***. (Which means a lot coming from me, considering I liked the Smiths. But at least they acknowledged they were melodramatic. The Smiths parodied themselves. These emo bands today take themselves way too seriously.) I mean, come on! There are BLACK BUNNY RABBITS on the cover! The lead singer wears eyeliner! It's too much. And I just can't see why this guy would want to take his life. Hey, buddy, try living in the hood. Try living in Philly, South Bronx, East St. Louis, South Central LA. Then I can obsolutely understand wanting to take your own live. But I think it is safe to assume that this skinny boy who wears eyeliner has never lived ina any rough, depressing conditions. It's offensive to me that he would even sing about taking his live. And if he wasn't living comfortably before, he is living comfortable now with his millions of dollars. You see, it's all bull. BULL!!! Expand
  13. MattB
    Sep 16, 2006
    1
    I'm really dissapointed in AFI's new album. I mean I liked Sing the Sorrow to a certain extent but I hoped that AFI wouldnt go as far as changing their sound completely when the whole "emo" crap came into style. I'm a big fan of their old cds and have been for a very long time. I have every song that they've ever made and listen to them all.. EXCEPT their new cd. sure I'm really dissapointed in AFI's new album. I mean I liked Sing the Sorrow to a certain extent but I hoped that AFI wouldnt go as far as changing their sound completely when the whole "emo" crap came into style. I'm a big fan of their old cds and have been for a very long time. I have every song that they've ever made and listen to them all.. EXCEPT their new cd. sure you guys are like "blah blah blah AFI is changing to stay hip blah blah blah" but COME ON. I think that AFI had its very own sound and has destroyed all of their talent to become some overpopular sell-out band. I personally think that if AFI would have kept their old sound from their first cds and stayed within their boundaries they would be a much bigger influence on the oldschool hardcore/punk crowd than any other band. sure some say that the new cd has something going with the new croud but I'm sure they've lost more old fans than they gained new fans. its a sad sad day for TRUE AFI fans and music in general. Expand
  14. blakew
    Jun 19, 2006
    0
    Hey, guys I luv AFI guess why..... cause they stink. Try concentrating on their music. Just listen to that and no the girly voice. What does it sound like? Oh yes thats it dog poo. So I like this band bacuase its one more band that once again proves that this new rock coming in is getting worse and worse. Imagine actaully going to see these guuys live. They would have no show. Now if you Hey, guys I luv AFI guess why..... cause they stink. Try concentrating on their music. Just listen to that and no the girly voice. What does it sound like? Oh yes thats it dog poo. So I like this band bacuase its one more band that once again proves that this new rock coming in is getting worse and worse. Imagine actaully going to see these guuys live. They would have no show. Now if you want good music coupled with a mature voice and lyrics that go some where listen to First Impression of Earth a couple times through then go see a Strokes concert. They have what is arguable the greatest light show ever. Oh ya and they now how to play music. cause thats what Music is about THE MUSIC Expand
  15. drewb
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    i hate afi and i hate everything afi has ever done, they are just another band cashing in on another trend, they will fade into obscurity in a few months.
  16. RyanJawnpiece
    Nov 10, 2007
    0
    AFI is one of the pussiest bands out there right now.decemberunderground is absolutley horrible.The old AFI is one of my favorite bands of all time.I like when they were actually a hardcore punk band not this pussy shit.what happened to them.their first 5 cd's and EPs were amazing,but when they left nitro records they all grew vaginas.fuck the new afi.east bay hardcore all day.
  17. EricaT.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    AFI's music has, up until this point, been poignant and full of incredible imagery. Decemberunderground really misses the mark in comparison with other albums like Sing the Sorrow and The Art of Drowning. Quite frankly, songs like 'Miss Murder' and the rest of the album all sound the same... they lack depth and originality. They're okay to listen to, but lack AFI's music has, up until this point, been poignant and full of incredible imagery. Decemberunderground really misses the mark in comparison with other albums like Sing the Sorrow and The Art of Drowning. Quite frankly, songs like 'Miss Murder' and the rest of the album all sound the same... they lack depth and originality. They're okay to listen to, but lack substance... I thought it hardly even sounded like Havok. It's one thing to change lyrical and music styles, but another thing to start to lose meaning and depth. AFI has altered its sound from its early songs to the later ones, but never in a manner like this. I have to say, this album was a big disappointment, and I hope that Davey Havok and the rest of the band come back with something better for their next album. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. With a comeback pitched between the indulgent love-metal of HiM and the pubescent pop-punk of Fall Out Boy, AFI's hiatus looks increasingly less like laziness and more like a marketing masterstroke.
  3. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.