Decemberunderground

Decemberunderground Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jerry Finn returns as producer for the band's first album in three years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. Even as the guys stretch and flex their songwriting muscles, they never fail to remember where they came from, instead using their past work as the foundation to their essential growth.
  3. There is plenty to love here, so don't be surprised when you find it has become the current soundtrack to your life.
  4. An ambitious, enjoyable album that expands AFI's sound while retaining the bombastic, aggressive rock the band played throughout the '90s.
  5. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.
  6. Blender
    70
    Sung in his almost icy, stentorian cry--and outfitted with mega-choruses--the tracks feel as epic as Havok's themes. [Jul 2006, p.97]
  7. Decemberunderground carries a distinct whiff of missed opportunities.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 89
  2. Negative: 17 out of 89
  1. EmilyG
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    decemberunderground is thier best album yet. i love evey single song.all thier songs are truely belivable, and they also show much growth decemberunderground is thier best album yet. i love evey single song.all thier songs are truely belivable, and they also show much growth musically in the new album. i think thier "different style" should be embraced by all the new and old AFI fans. Expand
  2. GraceS
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    i Love the new cdit rok itz soooo Awesum!!!!!!!
  3. ThomasB
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like 'ever and a day', '6 to 8', and especially 'Morningstar' were definite signs that they were gonna change in the future (incorporate more singing, less heavy, more melodic, etc). To say that AFI should have remained a punk band is a selfish and inaccurate statement, the fact that they are at this level now was necessary for their survival. As a matter of fact, there are many open minded AFI fans who have listened to them for nearly a decade and still enjoy them, and embrace their progression. Sing The Sorrow was a massive improvement on many levels, and they faced a huge task when they had finished touring. They spent nearly two years working on their new CD, and in my opinion, it was definitely worth it. I keep enjoying different things about the album every time I hear it. The emotional intensity of Love Like Winter and The Missing Frame truly stand out. When hearing tracks like Prelude 12/21 and 37mm for the first time one will be very confused. But after hearing them many times I have a new appreciation for them. Also, when a song like Kiss and Control might sound over dramatic at first, after several listens you begin to appreciate the song for what it is. The heavier moments of Affliction and Kill Caustic are very refreshing. They add in another stunning closer with Endlessly, She Said. In conclusion, if you sit and listen to this album constantly comparing it to Black Sails in the Sunset, or even Sing The Sorrow, you will dislike it. But new AFI fan or old, if you listen to this album several times with an open mind, you may find it their most progressive, cohesive, and enjoyable work yet. Expand
  4. ShawnM
    Jun 9, 2006
    9
    After first listening, great. After second, even better. AFI has grown in amazing ways and I'm really excited that I'm seeing them After first listening, great. After second, even better. AFI has grown in amazing ways and I'm really excited that I'm seeing them in two weeks. Best album for them yet by far. Everything good about Sing the Sorrow times ten. Expand
  5. JeffV
    Jun 9, 2006
    8
    Alright, I'm sick of people saying they sold out with this album. They did that with Sing the Sorrow. If you think this is their sellout Alright, I'm sick of people saying they sold out with this album. They did that with Sing the Sorrow. If you think this is their sellout album, then you just must have just started listening to AFI in 2003. Honestly, if you were devoted enough to stick with them when they went to a major label, then this album shouldn't change you're mind about them. It was hard to stay loyal with all the new fans jumping on, but when it comes down to it, it's all about the music. And once again with DECEMBERUNDERGROUND, they show that they are growing as song writers. When it comes down to it, this album isn't quite as dark as their past ones (still dark though), but they still have some really great songs. I give this album an 8 because overall, it's a great album with very well-written songs. It doesn't get higher because sometimes it can feel like they're trying a little bit too hard to have a certain image (they've always done this). Expand
  6. JohnW
    Jun 20, 2006
    5
    It's like they are deliberatly trying to sound like their recent copycats. My advice is to stay away from the post grudge sound and move It's like they are deliberatly trying to sound like their recent copycats. My advice is to stay away from the post grudge sound and move in the direction you were heading with Sorrow. Bring back the solos, speed, and sadness. Collapse
  7. DaveA
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    No, no, no, no, no. They have a song with a rap beat in it, ENOUGH SAID!

See all 89 User Reviews