Decemberunderground Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jerry Finn returns as producer for the band's first album in three years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. Both accessible and artistic, Decemberunderground is destined to give AFI that larger mainstream audience they missed out on the last time around.
  3. Even as the guys stretch and flex their songwriting muscles, they never fail to remember where they came from, instead using their past work as the foundation to their essential growth.
  4. An ambitious, enjoyable album that expands AFI's sound while retaining the bombastic, aggressive rock the band played throughout the '90s.
  5. 70
    Sung in his almost icy, stentorian cry--and outfitted with mega-choruses--the tracks feel as epic as Havok's themes. [Jul 2006, p.97]
  6. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.
  7. Decemberunderground carries a distinct whiff of missed opportunities.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 88
  2. Negative: 17 out of 88
  1. NateP
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    forget emo. forget punk. forget genres. stop being close minded. I'm not the same person i was in high school and i'm glad afi forget emo. forget punk. forget genres. stop being close minded. I'm not the same person i was in high school and i'm glad afi isn't either. this almbum was done very well. Expand
  2. nVidiaGeForce
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    This is definately a mixed bag, you get everything here, in AFI's latest expirament, what dumbass said they stole form MCR, FOB, and the This is definately a mixed bag, you get everything here, in AFI's latest expirament, what dumbass said they stole form MCR, FOB, and the killers?! You could not be more worng. Musicaly speaking this is 10e10 times more advanced than those typical pop-emo cork soakers. Expand
  3. ThomasB
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like 'ever and a day', '6 to 8', and especially 'Morningstar' were definite signs that they were gonna change in the future (incorporate more singing, less heavy, more melodic, etc). To say that AFI should have remained a punk band is a selfish and inaccurate statement, the fact that they are at this level now was necessary for their survival. As a matter of fact, there are many open minded AFI fans who have listened to them for nearly a decade and still enjoy them, and embrace their progression. Sing The Sorrow was a massive improvement on many levels, and they faced a huge task when they had finished touring. They spent nearly two years working on their new CD, and in my opinion, it was definitely worth it. I keep enjoying different things about the album every time I hear it. The emotional intensity of Love Like Winter and The Missing Frame truly stand out. When hearing tracks like Prelude 12/21 and 37mm for the first time one will be very confused. But after hearing them many times I have a new appreciation for them. Also, when a song like Kiss and Control might sound over dramatic at first, after several listens you begin to appreciate the song for what it is. The heavier moments of Affliction and Kill Caustic are very refreshing. They add in another stunning closer with Endlessly, She Said. In conclusion, if you sit and listen to this album constantly comparing it to Black Sails in the Sunset, or even Sing The Sorrow, you will dislike it. But new AFI fan or old, if you listen to this album several times with an open mind, you may find it their most progressive, cohesive, and enjoyable work yet. Expand
  4. LeslieR
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    I love AFI and i love Davey and Jade
  5. blond&blackhairedgirls
    Jun 9, 2006
    8
    After 3 years of waiting for a new cd to come out I was pleasantly surprised. I am a big fan of AFI but not a overdramatic one. I am29 years After 3 years of waiting for a new cd to come out I was pleasantly surprised. I am a big fan of AFI but not a overdramatic one. I am29 years old and I just love the music. But yesterday I got really turned off by the celebrity lifestyle of AFI. At the Mountain View CA signing yesterday 6/8/06 we went to have them sign the new CD. I have NEVER been to one and just thought I would go to show support.. I wasnt looking for anything else. Everybody has said how great the guys are and how nice they treat the fans but I got NO feeling of that what so ever. The had rented RUDE AND CRUDE Tower Records security guards that made me and my friend feel very very uncomfortable and like I was in a prison. We could only say a few words and no pictures. If we moved out of a single file line we were BARKED at. It was a SCARY SCARY feeling and we felt like a criminal. All we wanted to do was to say a few words and take a picture. Like I said this was my first ever and last signing. I hope this will let the guys know to either not have signings or get better security and to treat their fans like a human being. We know that some fans are scary and stalker like and they need that extra security but I am sure they can tell the ones that are normal from the ones that arent. To sum it up, just be good to your fans. The CD is Great but I will not do this again. It makes you feel embarrased and less of a person. DIGRATED. Thank anyways guys for coming out..... Expand
  6. DanS
    Jun 6, 2006
    5
    What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By What happened to my favorite band? They have moved in a direction I can longer appreciate. I think the review above best sums it up... "By mimicking the sound of every Hot Topic band crashing into one...we have to wonder if they haven't just orchestrated their own extinction." Most of the songs are watered down poser pop punk, and the heavy hitters sound like whiney emocore. They may gather the interest of the younger generation with thier current style, but they just lost my mine. I can always sell the CD, but the tatoo from back when they rocked my world is a little harder to get rid of? Expand
  7. DaveA
    Jun 7, 2006
    0
    No, no, no, no, no. They have a song with a rap beat in it, ENOUGH SAID!

See all 88 User Reviews