Decemberunderground

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 129
  2. Negative: 19 out of 129

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasB
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like People like Dave J think AFI 'betrayed' them. They think they lost their hardcore edge. They think that one day they said 'hey, screw punk, lets get popular and lose our integrity.' It didn't happen like that. Ever since the beginning of their careers they had been constantly progressing, and AFI were definitely not pure punk in the year 2000. Songs like 'ever and a day', '6 to 8', and especially 'Morningstar' were definite signs that they were gonna change in the future (incorporate more singing, less heavy, more melodic, etc). To say that AFI should have remained a punk band is a selfish and inaccurate statement, the fact that they are at this level now was necessary for their survival. As a matter of fact, there are many open minded AFI fans who have listened to them for nearly a decade and still enjoy them, and embrace their progression. Sing The Sorrow was a massive improvement on many levels, and they faced a huge task when they had finished touring. They spent nearly two years working on their new CD, and in my opinion, it was definitely worth it. I keep enjoying different things about the album every time I hear it. The emotional intensity of Love Like Winter and The Missing Frame truly stand out. When hearing tracks like Prelude 12/21 and 37mm for the first time one will be very confused. But after hearing them many times I have a new appreciation for them. Also, when a song like Kiss and Control might sound over dramatic at first, after several listens you begin to appreciate the song for what it is. The heavier moments of Affliction and Kill Caustic are very refreshing. They add in another stunning closer with Endlessly, She Said. In conclusion, if you sit and listen to this album constantly comparing it to Black Sails in the Sunset, or even Sing The Sorrow, you will dislike it. But new AFI fan or old, if you listen to this album several times with an open mind, you may find it their most progressive, cohesive, and enjoyable work yet. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Even if Decemberunderground betrays its genre a little bit, it's undeniably catchy. "Miss Murder" is the album's lead single, as well as its golden. "Love Like Winter" relies solely on technical elements rather than organic rock. Is Decemberunderground a concept album? Not at all. But is it the slightest bit unique? Well, yeah.
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    8
    Decemberunderground manages to balance a fine line between gaining new fans with the band's new polished production and satisfying older fans with its traditionally dark and deep melodies and lyrical content. The tracks can appeal to a mainstream audience without stripping away the rawness of the depth. "Miss Murder" is perfect emo pop rock that retains their traditional punk sound, whileDecemberunderground manages to balance a fine line between gaining new fans with the band's new polished production and satisfying older fans with its traditionally dark and deep melodies and lyrical content. The tracks can appeal to a mainstream audience without stripping away the rawness of the depth. "Miss Murder" is perfect emo pop rock that retains their traditional punk sound, while tracks such as "Love Like Winter" and "Endlessly, She Said" are more experimental and tend to drift away from the band's originality, but still sound just as sweet. Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    One of AFI's weakest albums musicality wise, but remains very unique and superb lyrically.
    Adds alot of electronic sounds which is not seen in much of AFI's music (which later started Blaqk Audio for members Davey and Jade a little after this album)

    Don't get how AFI is mediocre though when I'm sure 98% of the trolls on here listen to Nickleback, Foo Fighters, or any of THOSE mediocre bands.
  5. FoxG
    Jun 10, 2006
    10
    One of the bands best records.
  6. EmilyG
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    decemberunderground is thier best album yet. i love evey single song.all thier songs are truely belivable, and they also show much growth musically in the new album. i think thier "different style" should be embraced by all the new and old AFI fans.
  7. GarthR
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    A really great CD from one of the world's greatest bands.
  8. Susan`K
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    AFI is awesome!
  9. AbelD
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    A very good album that shows the evolution of AFI's sound and how they only continue to perfect it since their shift in Shut Your Mouth and Open Your Eyes. Though not as focused and tightly-woven as Sing the Sorrow, it remains just as enjoyable, if not, more so.
  10. SamanthaB
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    this album ROCKS davey havock has a super sexy voice and the whole album is totally original, dude!
  11. MKostya
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    I love this album. I'm a sucker for melodies and if I could mix all my favorite genres of music and produce a great album: A.F.I have created it here. Summer Shudder is BURNING cool. And the Missing Frame is CLASSIC. Don't listen to the critics - good or bad. Listen for yourselves a few times...it's going to be the album of the summer!!!!!!!!
  12. JacobG
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    You will not be disappointed. Period.
  13. LizG
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    AFI - I'm totally biased when rating you, as you are my favorite band in the universe. But as an honest to god reviewer, I'm not going to give you a grade of excellence on th is album. "Decemberunderground" is a good album, but not for AFI. If any other band had put out this album, it would be great. But after their last three albums (which were absolute genius), this does not AFI - I'm totally biased when rating you, as you are my favorite band in the universe. But as an honest to god reviewer, I'm not going to give you a grade of excellence on th is album. "Decemberunderground" is a good album, but not for AFI. If any other band had put out this album, it would be great. But after their last three albums (which were absolute genius), this does not live up to expectations. They, especially Davey Havok, attempted to draw influences from far too many different places. I could probably name two or three of the hardcore bands Davey was listening to while writing/recording this album. The influence from The Cure is just too much and it's way too obvious, and I adore The Cure. This album lacks the condusive, "whole" feeling of past AFI albums. It sounds more like they wrote and recorded dozens of songs over a span of three years and then chose the ones they liked the best. Oh wait, that's exactly what they did, by their own testimony. The part about "Decemberunderground" that disappointed me the most (aside from the god awful album art and stupid title) was the position of drummer Adam Carson on this album. It's like, "Hello? Adam? Are you there?" Where he made a bold, impressive stand on every other AFI album, he just faded into this background here. Instead of being the well heard, talented drummer he's spent more than 10 years showing himself to be, he played the role of all other contemporary drummers - he kept the beat. It was saddening to say the least. I do, in the end, like "Decemberunderground" though. It certainly hasn't made me weep as I set all of my AFI t-shirts and past albums ablaze in a trashcan. But if I was going to say to someone who'd never heard AFI, "This is my favorite band, give them a listen," this would not be the album I would hand them as the prime example of AFI in all its glory. Expand
  14. MattN
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    Having absolutely loved Sing the Sorrow, I anticipated AFI's follow-up album, Decemberundeground, to come up short. Man, was I wrong. Dead wrong. Decemberunderground is a very progressive and innovative album, combining epic songs with a melancholy overtones that elicit a raw emotion, making this album better than Sing the Sorrow. Easily the best album of the year, and instantly a Having absolutely loved Sing the Sorrow, I anticipated AFI's follow-up album, Decemberundeground, to come up short. Man, was I wrong. Dead wrong. Decemberunderground is a very progressive and innovative album, combining epic songs with a melancholy overtones that elicit a raw emotion, making this album better than Sing the Sorrow. Easily the best album of the year, and instantly a timeless classic. Expand
  15. borgy
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Shame really, that this album is getting negative reviews from their old school "fans". Obviously AFI probably knew that was going to happen, cause let's face it, "Punk" is a genre that attracts the most closed minded music fans to grace planet earth - I've noticed any band that is "punk" and dares to change their sound later on gets slammed for it but it doesnt mean it's Shame really, that this album is getting negative reviews from their old school "fans". Obviously AFI probably knew that was going to happen, cause let's face it, "Punk" is a genre that attracts the most closed minded music fans to grace planet earth - I've noticed any band that is "punk" and dares to change their sound later on gets slammed for it but it doesnt mean it's bad music. I got into AFI with their 2003 album "Sing the Sorrow" so i'm not an old school fan, but since then i have heard all their albums and yes i like them, but their work from "Black Sails In The Sunset" to now has to be their most intresting and varied, their first couple of albums are just so "samey" sounding to me - Jade brought a lot to the band. This album i think is a great progression from "Sing The Sorrow", It's a dark album and contains electronica and real instruments and it's a nice varied mix i think, Davey once known for his distinctive screaming can now been known for his original sounding vocal work as well (never heard a singer who sounds like him to be honest). Fantastic album i can listen to it all the way through. Whether or not you like this album is probably based on what style of music you are into... if you prefer their punk stuff, then stay away you should know by now you'll probably be disappointed. And in closing, some great tracks if you wanna check out the album: Love Like Winter, Miss Murder (probably already heard it), Endlessly, She Said, The Missing Frame, The Killing Lights, 37mm, Kill Caustic (next single apperantly). Expand
  16. CharlieB
    Jul 13, 2006
    8
    This album may not be seen by many as an explosion of musical talent. however the songs deliver a very promising and very well produced album with many musical elements. afi may have changed dramatically in their change from punk to emo(as many now describe this music) and old fans may dislike their new music but nevertheless this is a well made album.
  17. JoseA
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Great from beginning to end, My Favorite Album so far this year.
  18. Vulpinef.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Personally, I think that if you want to listen to crap music, you should listen to 90's music. Everyone who gives AFI a low score says that they repeat themselves, most of the bands of the 90's are the WORST repeat offenders. they remade almost every song from the 70's and 80's! (not including AFI) I think that they are a welcome change from all of the music that puts Personally, I think that if you want to listen to crap music, you should listen to 90's music. Everyone who gives AFI a low score says that they repeat themselves, most of the bands of the 90's are the WORST repeat offenders. they remade almost every song from the 70's and 80's! (not including AFI) I think that they are a welcome change from all of the music that puts me to sleep! At least these guys are talented! And if you still hate them, they can do without you because they are developing a NEW fanbase. and to bilbo baggins, i bet that you aren't even 30 yet, and you're telling Davey to grow up?! Expand
  19. Angela
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    This is a really good album and obviously millions of people like it because they have it... and the reason that this site exists! It really shits me how people think their opinions are the only opinions in the world. If you think the band is shit, then why dont go to go one of your favourite bands pages and write about how much you love that band. You get off on thinking that your older This is a really good album and obviously millions of people like it because they have it... and the reason that this site exists! It really shits me how people think their opinions are the only opinions in the world. If you think the band is shit, then why dont go to go one of your favourite bands pages and write about how much you love that band. You get off on thinking that your older and wiser and "know what good music is" so you can rip into other bands ...go do something productive with your lives. I give this cd a 10. I've been listening to it almost every day in my car and its really grown on me. Expand
  20. PhilippO
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Melodical, sad but powerfull. The way they indicated with Sing the sorrow, is here the main part. So is AFI another Emo-Band ? Not at all , they still proof how to rock and still know how to play hard songs (Kill caustic). But it is true that they almost completely abandoned their roots, Hardcore Punk. If thats a negative aspect for you, than be it, i see it as a developement of their Melodical, sad but powerfull. The way they indicated with Sing the sorrow, is here the main part. So is AFI another Emo-Band ? Not at all , they still proof how to rock and still know how to play hard songs (Kill caustic). But it is true that they almost completely abandoned their roots, Hardcore Punk. If thats a negative aspect for you, than be it, i see it as a developement of their music and feelings. Expand
  21. GaryM.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    Amazing album! Amazing, because I am truly amazed that I love this album. I had never heard of the band before, but this album has made me a fan. Songs like Miss Murder, The Interview, 37mm, The Killing Light, etc. are really good songs. Hopefully, AFIs next album is as good or even better than this album.
  22. JJT
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Everyone who says crap about this album, just shut up!!!!! In case you didn't Know, it got #1 on the U.S.A billboard chart for 2 weeks straight. If you think this is "emo" then u have no taste in music at all. AFI is my favorite band, and they are really amazing. Everything they write about is just awesome. Davey Havok does not literally want to take his life, it's just a song. Everyone who says crap about this album, just shut up!!!!! In case you didn't Know, it got #1 on the U.S.A billboard chart for 2 weeks straight. If you think this is "emo" then u have no taste in music at all. AFI is my favorite band, and they are really amazing. Everything they write about is just awesome. Davey Havok does not literally want to take his life, it's just a song. The black bunnies are just for the video to represent an omen. And don't tell people if they like AFI, thet they need to get out more because I like a lot of other bands, but AFI is my favorite.They will not fade into obscurity either. They have the most loyal fans(literally), and you are just completely stereo-typing!!! Oh, and if they're the worst band you've heard, then YOU need to get out more.He's only 31 too, and for your info, that washis grandmom's b- day, I asked him at the last despair faction meeting!!!Weezer sux, and don't tell people not to listen to AFI because they rock and you don't control anybody. It's also not a girly voice. That's what you call good singing, and I'm sure you have no room to talk becaue you probably suk at singing. Again, "emo" isn't even a freakin word so don't be so lazy to spell out the whole word next time, and if you want "emo" then keep listening to your other crappy music. Oh, and they aren't pop at all. They also won a moon man for best ROCK video. Expand
  23. BrookW
    Jan 9, 2007
    8
    I have liked AFI for about 4 Years now and the change in her music was hard to get used to. at first i was deviststed about how sucky there music was in this new cd. But hen i got there new dvd and listened to the cd a few more times and it grew on me. Now dont get me wrong i still loe my traditional afi but im getting used to this one . Im happy AFI finnallly made it on the charts after I have liked AFI for about 4 Years now and the change in her music was hard to get used to. at first i was deviststed about how sucky there music was in this new cd. But hen i got there new dvd and listened to the cd a few more times and it grew on me. Now dont get me wrong i still loe my traditional afi but im getting used to this one . Im happy AFI finnallly made it on the charts after 15 years of keeping at it. You rock AFI! Im proud of you! Expand
  24. jerimiahc
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    any body who hates this cd can suk my balls
  25. BenW.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    December Underground shows the world that these guys are talented individuals who are open to experiment and experience different production styles.
  26. Elsa
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    AFI are a good band, I love them and this album is super great
  27. Emmanuel
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    AN AMAZING ALBUM!! A masterpiece by AFI.
  28. matth
    Oct 20, 2006
    8
    this rawks
  29. travism
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    fuck all the critics..afi and decemberunderground are amazing
  30. ValeryK
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    This album is great, though they changed a lot their style, and i'm dissapointed cause i realy love their old style, but this cd is also great, just listen it a few times, and you'll love it! believe me, i'm an AFI fun since forever, they changed, but they still being great!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The most melodically acute distillation of that style yet.
  2. With a comeback pitched between the indulgent love-metal of HiM and the pubescent pop-punk of Fall Out Boy, AFI's hiatus looks increasingly less like laziness and more like a marketing masterstroke.
  3. "Decemberunderground" is less cohesive than its predecessor and apes the band's influences far too obviously for musicians of this caliber. Even so, it's vastly entertaining.