Demi

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 401
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    6
    'Demi' is like a mixture of two of Lovato's latest releases. Catchy teen-pop songs that are most likely to be the future singles, mixed with the emotional heart-breaking ballads. And we can say its her best record so far.
  2. May 18, 2013
    6
    Not her best album. Lyrically weak, musically generic. "Never Been Hurt" is another "Unbroken". "Warrior" is the new "Skyscraper" and "Shouldn't Come Back" is like "For the Love of a Daughter" Part II.

    Lovato could have tried to put the album together. Even though it's quite versatile, it seems to be all over the place and have no cohesion at all.
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    4
    Demi Lovato's vocals have certainly matured beyond her years and even though her fourth album's self-title suggests otherwise, Demi almost completely contradicts that maturity and could easily take the 21-year-old troubled songstress back to her teen pop years since that is basically what the many producers behind it intended it to be. Lead single "Heart Attack", second single "Made In theDemi Lovato's vocals have certainly matured beyond her years and even though her fourth album's self-title suggests otherwise, Demi almost completely contradicts that maturity and could easily take the 21-year-old troubled songstress back to her teen pop years since that is basically what the many producers behind it intended it to be. Lead single "Heart Attack", second single "Made In the U.S.A.", "Without the Love", and soon-to-be-single "Neon Lights" solidify Lovato's undeniably manufactured charm whilst wishy-washy ballads such as "Nightingale" and "Shouldn't Come Back" attempt to take Lovato to personal territory without never reaching there. Even in her ballads, Lovato's vocals are heavily dubbed and even processed, which makes no sense to the common ear. It's a disappointment to anyone who believed that Lovato could break her tween star image and would use her publicly courageous battle with emotional stress and self-harm to strengthen herself. Expand
  4. May 18, 2013
    5
    The concept expressed in the cover and the title of the album was not well allocated on most tracks Most of the songs on this album speak of the same things whenever we hear what plays on the radio. There isn't a personal album. Unbroken is still better in a matter of production and musicianship.
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    5
    'Demi', the follow-up to 2011's 'Unbroken', can only be described as lackluster. First off, it's no secret that Lovato possesses an incredible vocal range, which is why it is baffling to me that she would not choose to pair up her obvious vocal talent with some actual well-written songs. The album's only true stand-outs "Heart Attack", "Without the Love", "Really Don't Care", and "Fire'Demi', the follow-up to 2011's 'Unbroken', can only be described as lackluster. First off, it's no secret that Lovato possesses an incredible vocal range, which is why it is baffling to me that she would not choose to pair up her obvious vocal talent with some actual well-written songs. The album's only true stand-outs "Heart Attack", "Without the Love", "Really Don't Care", and "Fire Starter" are just swimming aimlessly in a pool of mediocrity; making it seem like Lovato couldn't decide whether to make a dance-pop, a teen-pop, an R&B, or an electro-pop record; which as a result makes 'Demi' seem almost laughably unfocused.

    I'm not saying it's a bad thing for a record to be diverse, but 'Demi' makes musical diversity seem like a joke. The track listing is extremely unbalanced. The album starts off with the indescribably good "Heart Attack", the decent "Made in the USA", and the great "Without the Love". Following this, 'Demi' falls into utter madness. "Neon Lights" is a generic, horribly-produced EDM mess, "Two Pieces" is a boring and forgettable break-up song, "Nightingale" is a vocally outstanding but sonically disappointing ballad, while "In Case" is a ridiculously-written milquetoast pop track. 'Demi' redeems itself on the super fun and light-hearted "Really Don't Care" (with the help of a mysteriously short verse from Cher Lloyd), the well-executed and impressive "Fire Starter", and the decent but slightly generic fist-pumper "Something That We're Not". But then after this, 'Demi' falls back into meaningless ballads: "Never Been Hurt" and "Shouldn't Come Back". At the end, "Warrior", the sequel to her unforgettably powerful 2011 ballad "Skyscraper"; closes off the album, however fails to build up the emotion of its "Skyscraper"; which was an incredibly-written song that utilized Lovato's impressive vocal range and an idiosyncratic metaphor. "Warrior" is just generic and boring.

    In order for 'Demi' to be truly successful, she needs to take a hint from singers like Ariana Grande and Mariah Carey, whom she is similar to due to her impressive vocal range. The R&B and highly emotive songs on 'Unbroken' (such as "Skyscraper" and "For the Love of a Daughter") were indescribably great, while her third album's title track and her fourth album's opening track "Heart Attack" were unforgettable and addicting electro-pop songs. If Demi can combine these two types of music on her fifth effort, she will have a critical and commercial hit on her hands.
    Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    Demi Lovato the next Christina Aguilera. She has an amazing voice, but is this an amazing album no.

    This may sound weird but every song (besides Really Don't Care and Something That Were Not) are perfect. But as a collective just make the album TOO emotional. Yeah that sounds weird. She definitely has grown through. I must say and this is also weird this is her worst album with great
    Demi Lovato the next Christina Aguilera. She has an amazing voice, but is this an amazing album no.

    This may sound weird but every song (besides Really Don't Care and Something That Were Not) are perfect. But as a collective just make the album TOO emotional. Yeah that sounds weird. She definitely has grown through. I must say and this is also weird this is her worst album with great songs on it. The songs are good but only like 3-5 are fun. Heart Attack, USA, Fire Starter, Neon Lights, and thats it. Nightingale, Warrior, Two Pieces, etc are great. Now I am far from a hater she is one of my all time top 10 singers but this album is too emotional. Should you buy it. Yes just look at this album as the emotional side of Unbroken. Unbroken is the fun one DEMI is the emotional one.

    Here We Go Again, then Unbroken, then Don't Forget, then DEMI. This is how you listen to her.
    Expand
  7. Feb 22, 2014
    6
    I liked the songs'Heart Attack', 'Made in the USA', 'Neon Lights', 'Really don't care', 'Something that we're not', but I disliked the other songs immensely as the rest of the songs are too generic and painful to listen to. This is definitely not her best album. I feel that she can do better than this.
  8. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    Demi já teve dias melhores,esse com verteza é seu pior trabalho,seria nota 5,mas pela sua bela voz e por Neon Lights e outras 3 músicas do album,leva um 6.
  9. Sep 5, 2014
    6
    a pretty basic pop record. the singles are strong (heart attack, made in the usa, really dont care, neon lights) one ballad (nightingale) and another song which came out and blasted my speakers (two pieces) - the rest is filler which is for her die hard fans.
  10. Oct 15, 2015
    5
    Pior álbum da Demi, eu achei ele bem confuso e que deixou a desejar no quesito produção. O antecessor, o Unbroken, é mil vezes melhor. No entanto, há músicas boas também. Made in The U.S.A e minha favorita.
  11. Nov 21, 2016
    4
    a pretty basic pop record. the singles are strong (heart attack, made in the usa, really dont care, neon lights) one ballad (nightingale) and another song which came out and blasted my speakers (two pieces) - the rest is filler which is for her die hard fans.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 17, 2013
    60
    It's predictable stuff--sassy songs, lovelorn songs, a couple of pop-psych pep talks--but Lovato is good company, and her voice has gustiness and character.
  2. May 15, 2013
    60
    Ultimately, this isn't an album of purpose, it's a collection of moments, and it has just enough good ones to solidify Demi Lovato's comeback.
  3. May 13, 2013
    80
    [An] often impressive fourth album.