Descended Like Vultures

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 2 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. andrewwr
    Nov 2, 2005
    9
    Rogue Wave congeals and makes a nearly perfect record
  2. DerekB
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    Brilliant album which showcases Zach's diverse musical interests and influences. The songs have many layers and I have enjoyed it even more after many listens. I'm rather at a loss to explain some of the more lukewarm reviews -- superficial reviewers who just like vanilla don't get it.
  3. MackB
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    Wow, this is one amazing album. This one almost slipped past me, unnoticed, until my bro tipped me on to it. Most of the low "professional" reviews are just lazy...and what's sad is that this is immediate stuff, so why take such a narrow-minded view? The melodies get stuck in your mind easily, yet most of the songs reward the listener on multiple listens, despite their instant Wow, this is one amazing album. This one almost slipped past me, unnoticed, until my bro tipped me on to it. Most of the low "professional" reviews are just lazy...and what's sad is that this is immediate stuff, so why take such a narrow-minded view? The melodies get stuck in your mind easily, yet most of the songs reward the listener on multiple listens, despite their instant catchiness. Oh well, just because some critics want to write them off doesn't diminish the album - it's just too bad these guys aren't quite getting the credit they deserve for writing such wonderful music. Expand
  4. katie,aprincess
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    stylus sounds like they're talking out their butt. this album is well-crafted pop, each song was made with attention to detail. such anger toward isaac brock!
  5. chris
    Nov 22, 2005
    9
    This album is complete.
  6. Will
    Dec 1, 2005
    9
    Definitely one of the best albums of the year, if you know what good music is.
  7. CurtisW
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    Rogue Wave, the band everybody loves to hate - where everybody is either a) a jackass or b) less than 26 years old. I know! I'm going to poop in my pants and call it the Arcade Fire and then rub it in my hair! I get so sick of everyones RW qualifications. It's not easy to make songs like this. Grow up and recognize.
  8. rollyfingers
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    Better than sex.
  9. JohnL
    Nov 6, 2005
    8
    A contender for album of the year. Can be played from beginning to end without the need to 'skip' tracks - though the second half doesn't sustain the awesome quality of the first.
  10. MattA
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    This is a great record, different but equal to their debut, that should be getting better reviews. I'm disappointed in Stylus for such a lazy review. The douche who reviewed probably only listened to the album once or twice, but the album needs at least a week of pretty constant listening to fully start making an impression on the listener. Anyway, great album and currently floating This is a great record, different but equal to their debut, that should be getting better reviews. I'm disappointed in Stylus for such a lazy review. The douche who reviewed probably only listened to the album once or twice, but the album needs at least a week of pretty constant listening to fully start making an impression on the listener. Anyway, great album and currently floating just outside my top ten of the year. Expand
  11. Matt
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    A perfect combination of the Beatles, Elliott Smith, and their own experimentation. One of the best of the year.
  12. Tim
    Oct 26, 2005
    8
    A solid album - different from the debut in the sheer amount of sound carried in each tune.
  13. Jack
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    I liked their previous album as a good listen every once and a while. This new album doesn't disappoint and definately explores some new, very easy to like and appreciate sounds for the band. One of the better cds of the year.
  14. MichaelB.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    I don't care what some of the critics say, this is some of the most thoughtful, intelligent, and even emotional music being written these days. This is the album for an autumn drive through the entire length of a flat state when you almost want to wave at any of the four cars you pass. Love. It.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Billboard
    90
    One of the year's best. [29 Oct 2005]
  2. Descended Like Vultures snuggles down between Wolf Parade’s Apologies To The Queen Mary and Modest Mouse’s 2004 release, Good News For People Who Like Bad News as a competent, half-slapped together, half-methodic slice of evolved indie-rock.
  3. In the end, it's hard to decide if Descended Like Vultures is better or worse than Rogue Wave's debut.