User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. vcbnmrwea
    Mar 6, 2004
    0
    I bought this crap expecting to get a free tv. Instead I got a free radio that plays tv. It also dosns't have Thisrty Babs!
  2. fakename
    Sep 11, 2006
    3
    I have a name for this: Critic Rock. Sketchy, unapproachable singing that that removes any hope of tunefuleness layered over aimless noodling and very little rhythmic interest. Less interesting than another insufferable crit-rock band: Yo La Tengo. This is an exemplar of Metacritic's one weakness: crit-rock will always score well.
  3. AdamX
    Mar 8, 2004
    9
    Tv On The Radio are a great band, they showed that with the Young Liars EP. But what makes them an exceptional band, and what especially shows with this release, is that they don't feel they need to explore just one alleyway with their music. The choice to try something different must be commended, and this album displays ultimate fragility as well as harmony between the members of Tv On The Radio are a great band, they showed that with the Young Liars EP. But what makes them an exceptional band, and what especially shows with this release, is that they don't feel they need to explore just one alleyway with their music. The choice to try something different must be commended, and this album displays ultimate fragility as well as harmony between the members of the group... fractured, flawed but beautiful, this is a meer stepping stone for the progression of Tv On The Radio, who I expect we haven't seen the last of yet... Expand
  4. hart
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year.
  5. JonD
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    Emotional, unique, catchy. What else do you want?
  6. EllroyH
    Mar 17, 2004
    10
    Best album of the year. Totally orginal. A true work of art!!!
  7. hb
    Apr 6, 2004
    9
    Thsi is a great album. Not as good, though, as their live show. These guys have serious talent.
  8. KentonL
    Feb 4, 2005
    9
    Rising out of the slagheap of contemporary indie rock, this ain't no Hoobastank all the way to the bank. . .TV On The Radio are totally unique, with their moody atmospherics and left hooks to the brainpan. I guess you could call it art rock, but this ain't no Peter Gabriel lamb lying down on Broadway. Maybe Sun Ra on a one off with Roxy Music and Can. Whatever it is--or Rising out of the slagheap of contemporary indie rock, this ain't no Hoobastank all the way to the bank. . .TV On The Radio are totally unique, with their moody atmospherics and left hooks to the brainpan. I guess you could call it art rock, but this ain't no Peter Gabriel lamb lying down on Broadway. Maybe Sun Ra on a one off with Roxy Music and Can. Whatever it is--or isn't--TV On The Radio is probably the best band ever to come straight outta Brooklyn! Expand
  9. DimiP
    Feb 5, 2005
    8
    I keep listening to "dreams" and think I have a deja vous! This is by far the closest I've heard to this forgotten, rare but immaculate 80s dutch band, Mecano (mutant jazz records). From that respect it's no novel sound, but boy! I hope others will discover Mecano through TVOR... trully masters at work
  10. danielr
    May 10, 2005
    10
    poppy alone is a stand by itself beautiful song
  11. NaderG
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    Fucking incredible album. No guff!
  12. LawrenceP
    Jan 13, 2005
    8
    It's strange I'm giving this LP a 8 but it sounds like a 10. Most of these songs are like nothing i've heard before with "ambulance" being the most mind blowing.
  13. MikeP
    Sep 16, 2005
    9
    Fresh sound that can be more fully apreciated through repeated listenings
  14. HankW
    May 1, 2006
    10
    Incredible
  15. MarthaS
    Jun 8, 2006
    9
    sweet
  16. JyotirmayaD
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    I like what I hear ~ I'm not sure half the time what i'm hearing, but hey, that keeps it interesting as well.
  17. JeffH
    Dec 19, 2004
    9
    No, it's not perfect, but it's astonishingly attractive sound and true originality raise it above just about anything I've heard this year. "Staring at the Sun" and "Dreams" are perfect songs, if wildly unconventional. This album is a harbinger of amazing things to come. As David Cross said of them, TV on the Radio are "the new greatness."
  18. YouthConspiracy
    Mar 13, 2004
    8
    Stretches what would have made another flawless EP into a whole album...I'm sure their best is yet to come, but this is still three cuts above the competition.
  19. PatM
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    Beautiful textures and progressing songs. Hard to classify, harder to forget.
  20. Apr 28, 2011
    7
    TV On The Radio has a very distinct sound, and they really nail it on several songs. However, the album as a whole drags toward the end, with some of the songs relying too heavily on the band's distinctive aesthetic and going on too long for their own good. The quality and uniqueness of the overall sound is too great for this to be anything but a good album, but it's doesn't quite makeTV On The Radio has a very distinct sound, and they really nail it on several songs. However, the album as a whole drags toward the end, with some of the songs relying too heavily on the band's distinctive aesthetic and going on too long for their own good. The quality and uniqueness of the overall sound is too great for this to be anything but a good album, but it's doesn't quite make it beyond good. Expand
  21. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes may not be TV On The Radio's best work to date, but it is nevertheless a great album. Every track sounds more and more different from the previous track. It mixes electronic with Doo-Wop Punk Jazz Fusion. "Staring At The Sun" is the stand out track on this record. It's a brilliant song. All In All, Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes is a great album. B+
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 80
    What's most frightening is that, mighty as Desperate Youth... is, their real stone killer is probably yet to come. [Jul 2004, p.100]
  2. There are some amazing songs on Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes, but overall it still feels like a transition[al] release of a group really trying to nail things.
  3. Their initial EP documented a band that sounded ready to take on the world – but the follow up just shows that the journey may take longer than expected.