Destroy Rock & Roll

  • Record Label: Red Ink
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sunworshipper
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    The Best album in ages.Mylos been 'dropping the pressure' in the UK for a while n its great to see hes had a brilliant reception in the US of A! Go out n buy it people, ya wont be dissapointed..
  2. AaronQ
    May 1, 2006
    8
    Reminds me of a more subltle "Discovery" by Daft Punk.
  3. MarkP
    Feb 10, 2006
    8
    Great CD, Perfect Balance of jump up tunes and chilled out vibes. Its rocked the UK for years
  4. JoelCampP
    Feb 13, 2006
    9
    Easily one of the best albums Iv'e heard in recent years. Reminds me a lot of Daft Punk. There's a few songs that are so so, but the standout tracks (like "In my arms, Drop the Pressure) are amazing. Just buy it, you won't be dissappointed ok.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Feb 10, 2006
    8
    Catchy electronica that worms its way into your brain. Definitely worth owning!
  6. TravisB
    Apr 8, 2006
    9
    You can do everything to this album. Best electronic album I've heard in a while.
  7. Dan
    May 4, 2006
    7
    Ok, so some of this stuff doesn't seem all that original (granted these songs are technically a couple years old already) Rikki reminds me of something by Jackson and Destroy Rock and Roll is a bit of a Teachers knockoff. My favorite song on here is Otto's Journey and that's probably because it sounds like Alan Braxe. That aside I have a lot of fun listening to all the way through.
  8. steve-o
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    Its been awhile since I have listened to a electronic cd and bobbed my head THE WHOLE WAY THROUGH (yes there are certainly albums with more technical and proficient of electronic equipment but often lack a cohesive substance to elevate the album to the next level) Mylo, while simple, is elegant and garnishes instant, but also lasting fun.
  9. BK
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    SO AWESOME. Haven't heard a techno album like this in a long time, I'm in love with it. Simple, yes, but also perfection. I'm really glad I discovered this and if you're a fan of Daft Punk's "Homework" get this for sure!!
  10. NickG
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    This album is awesome because it is so unified and eclectic at the same time. If you just played it at a party and let it go all the way through, not only would everyone be dancing like crazy, but they would be impressed at Mylo's versatility in creating this dance masterpiece.
  11. matta
    Feb 28, 2006
    9
    Absolutely solid in every way. Critics are saying it isn't groundbreaking, but it is in that it doesn't suck like Daft Punk and most of his imitators. ONe of the best albums of the new year.
  12. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Very feel good vibes from every track on this beautifully made album. Samples taken and used a bit like Daft punk but maintain a Disco groove to it. 9/10, all uniquely good songs

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Urb
    80
    Each song is perfectly buoyant and bold standing alone or considered on the whole. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.95]
  2. Every bit as compelling as contemporaneous efforts from likeminded electronic artists Daft Punk, Lemon Jelly, and the Orb.
  3. Filling the gaps between Prince and !!!, this is for those who spent the last two decades shaking their hips rather than banging their heads.