Destroy Rock & Roll

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Destroy Rock & Roll Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This debut LP for Scotland cut-and-paste artist Myles MacInnes was released in the UK in 2004 and finally hit American shores in early 2006.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    It's got breezy lounge fare, vocoder-driven club cuts, and a joyful average-Joe appeal long gone from the fracturing world of DJ music. [10 Feb 2006, p.137]
  2. There isn't much in here that could be considered hip, or that shows technical skill. But there's a total gut-level joy, as if these were tracks made by an ecstatic, well-meaning kid who hadn't yet encountered the complicated concerns of the places people might actually dance to them.
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    Impressively, all this is delivered with sufficient panache to make it sound fresh and exciting, rather than merely eager to please. [Jun 2004, p.105]
  4. Urb
    80
    Each song is perfectly buoyant and bold standing alone or considered on the whole. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.95]
  5. What you should go to Destroy Rock and Roll for is highly enjoyable, competent, reasonably inventive, energetic techno.
  6. Billboard
    70
    Though far from groundbreaking, "Destroy Rock & Roll" spotlights an artist who has a knack for cleverly referencing music that has come before. [11 Feb 2006]
  7. Simple beats and waves of synthesized strings don't, in themselves, make for neo-disco euphoria.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sunworshipper
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    The Best album in ages.Mylos been 'dropping the pressure' in the UK for a while n its great to see hes had a brilliant reception in The Best album in ages.Mylos been 'dropping the pressure' in the UK for a while n its great to see hes had a brilliant reception in the US of A! Go out n buy it people, ya wont be dissapointed.. Expand
  2. JoelCampP
    Feb 13, 2006
    9
    Easily one of the best albums Iv'e heard in recent years. Reminds me a lot of Daft Punk. There's a few songs that are so so, but Easily one of the best albums Iv'e heard in recent years. Reminds me a lot of Daft Punk. There's a few songs that are so so, but the standout tracks (like "In my arms, Drop the Pressure) are amazing. Just buy it, you won't be dissappointed ok. Expand
  3. steve-o
    Feb 25, 2006
    9
    Its been awhile since I have listened to a electronic cd and bobbed my head THE WHOLE WAY THROUGH (yes there are certainly albums with more Its been awhile since I have listened to a electronic cd and bobbed my head THE WHOLE WAY THROUGH (yes there are certainly albums with more technical and proficient of electronic equipment but often lack a cohesive substance to elevate the album to the next level) Mylo, while simple, is elegant and garnishes instant, but also lasting fun. Expand
  4. BK
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    SO AWESOME. Haven't heard a techno album like this in a long time, I'm in love with it. Simple, yes, but also perfection. I'm SO AWESOME. Haven't heard a techno album like this in a long time, I'm in love with it. Simple, yes, but also perfection. I'm really glad I discovered this and if you're a fan of Daft Punk's "Homework" get this for sure!! Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Very feel good vibes from every track on this beautifully made album. Samples taken and used a bit like Daft punk but maintain a Disco grooveVery feel good vibes from every track on this beautifully made album. Samples taken and used a bit like Daft punk but maintain a Disco groove to it. 9/10, all uniquely good songs Collapse
  6. AaronQ
    May 1, 2006
    8
    Reminds me of a more subltle "Discovery" by Daft Punk.
  7. ElliottM
    Mar 1, 2006
    5
    Pleasant enough, but shockingly derivative. There's nothing new or innovative here, and it's been done better before - a handful of times.

See all 13 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings