Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    88
    Throw on those headphones and head heavenward.
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    80
    It's a comedown album for the chillwave crowd and an audiophile's dream.
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    80
    It's a happy, bright trance, not necessarily to be avoided. C'mon. Dive in.
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    From the filtered Cut Copy of "Hours" through "Adrift's" hip-hop tape signals to the final patter of "Elegy," Dive is a postcard from a pantone Miami, and a perfect memento for the summer weather we've all been deprived of in Britain.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    It meets expectations, and while surpassing them is something achieved only occasionally, this is a record that well complements a no-work state of mind.
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    Tycho is worth any self-respecting electronic fan's time.
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    80
    Dive is the kind of high quality release one expects from Hansen.
  8. Narrative beauty and endless energy is abound, but you're going to have to play make believe to find out.
  9. Nov 29, 2011
    76
    A beautiful album with an amniotic vibe, Dive can be a bit repetitive.
  10. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Dive might not be the most ambitious instrumental record you hear all year, but it almost always sounds good.
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    70
    It's his most downtempo effort, and all that much more soothing and captivating.
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    70
    Despite its burnt album art and sandy surfaces, it's an album not of barbecues but of bottles of wine and quiet fires.
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    60
    Dive is a pretty and sturdily crafted collection of techno maybe-memories-- hypnagogic pop for a very discerning Ikea shopper.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    This is so magical. I'm in love with this.. I can close my eyes and feel the musica filling my veins with piece. God.. I love that sensation..This is so magical. I'm in love with this.. I can close my eyes and feel the musica filling my veins with piece. God.. I love that sensation.. It's so good haha Full Review »
  2. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    While unable to surpass the pure beauty of his previous effort, this is still a fantastic album.