Do It Again - Röyksopp
Do It Again Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The five-track mini-LP from the collaboration between Royksopp and Robyn includes two tracks from Röyksopp’s upcoming album.
  • Record Label: Cherrytree Records / Interscope
  • Genre(s): Pop, Electronic, Downtempo, Dance-Pop, Club/Dance, Alternative Dance, Downbeat, Ambient Breakbeat
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 23, 2014
    Quite frankly, it’s a towering edifice of electronic brilliance.
  2. May 23, 2014
    Röyksopp and Robyn have not only traversed new territory, they've made it their own.
  3. 83
    Overall, Do It Again feels like an exploration for all involved, and even manages to address gender politics in discreet but intriguing ways.
  4. For a record that trades heavily in production experiments foreign to both parties, Royksopp and Robyn by and large succeed at creating what they set out to--a monument.
  5. 70
    Like ‘The Girl And The Robot’ from Röyksopp’s 2009 ‘Junior’ album, and it begins with a stunner--‘Monument’, a winding and mystical 10-minute epic containing startlingly self-confident lyrics.
  6. May 22, 2014
    Do It Again isn’t as downright amazing as it could have been, but there are far more pros than cons.
  7. May 27, 2014
    Röyksopp and Robyn share so much sonic DNA that their team-up is almost self-defeating, blurring the distinction between the two to the point where their respective quirks are essentially scratched in favor of a cohesive but far too clinical production.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 28, 2014
    Röyksopp and Robyn collaborated twice before (Röyksopp's 2009 single, "The Girl and the Robot", and Robyn's 2010 sassy synthpop classic, "None of Dem") and although many musicians in the mainstream industry fail to reconnect that chemistry more than once, Do It Again actually feels natural -- conceptually, that is. The 9-minute synth-and-sax opener, "Monument", reintroduces Robyn into her "With Every Heartbeat" days, except if it were an epic, combining melancholy melodies with meaningful lyrics to create an anthem that'll sure as hell light the fires of fans.

    An extended-play (EP) disguised as a mini-album? Nope. Röyksopp and Robyn develop some of the catchiest Eurodance songs of their careers: "Say It", an ultra-repetitive synthpop song where Robyn and an electronic vocoder seemingly seduce each other (which actually peaked in the top 40 of the U.S. iTunes charts for a day, so something's not wrong here); "Do It Again", the title track that combines pulsing synth beats with Robyn's adoring vocals that'll surely light up clubs across Europe and maybe even the U.S.; and "Every Little Thing", where we're reintroduced into the 1990s obsession with trip-hop and melodramatic lyricism.

    Do It Again won't hit everyone as hard as it'll hit the select few that'll buy into Röyksopp and Robyn's knack at making stylish and substantial synthpop. It's too soon to call it a masterpiece and we'll surely enjoy it more during their upcoming Do It Again tour. But it certainly fills the void for anyone who hasn't gotten their proper dosage of these three in the last 2 or 3 years. Robyn's next solo-album is overdue.

See all 2 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 45 Notable Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 45 Notable Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 23, 2014
    Get details on this summer's key upcoming releases (including albums from Lana Del Rey, Morrissey, Jack White, Sam Smith, Spoon, Basement Jaxx, Mastodon, Miranda Lambert, and more), and listen to tracks from each one.