Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    80
    It's the new songs (and remixes) that deserve the attention. [23 Feb 2013, p.52]
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    70
    The entire premise of the album is entirely playful, defined by its because-I-can nature, and while this might not result in a unified feel, it's nonetheless an enjoyable and eclectic experience.
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    60
    Though Donkey Punch the Night isn't the best place to jump into Puscifer's work, it's a well-crafted and thoroughly entertaining EP that will definitely keep Keenan's fans hungry for more.
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    60
    This is some subversive fun. Baffling, however, is a nearly note-for-note sonic reproduction of the Queen hit "Bohemian Rhapsody." [Mar 2013, p.93]
  5. 50
    Due to the reliance on covers and genre-bending remixes, Donkey Punch the Night doesn’t arrive with the same comedic post-rock energy of Puscifer’s previous LPs.
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    50
    It has its moments, but nothing outright triumphs or overwhelmingly compels.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    3
    Let me preface my review by saying that I am probably in contention of being the biggest MJK fan ever. I have bought his wine-and gotten itLet me preface my review by saying that I am probably in contention of being the biggest MJK fan ever. I have bought his wine-and gotten it signed in person, waited for twelve hours in 98 degree weather to meet him- for two secs, have seen TOOL seven times, Puscifer once, have a concert Puscifer poster, concert Puscifer shirt, tons of concert TOOL shirts, loved every single TOOL album and APC album, thought V for Vagina was playful and had some decent tracks, loved Conditions of my Parole, have every TOOL album on vinyl (1st press) and Conditions of My Parole on Vinyl, and the list goes on. I am so incredibly disappointed with Donkey Punch the Night. I saw Maynard sing Bohemian Rhapsody during E3 and I was blown away. I mean this is a dream come true- so when Donkey Punch the Night started streaming live I was wide awake and listened- unfortunately, the production on this album is so bad that it really ruins the whole thing. The drums are way too loud and Maynard's vocals sound like background noise. Every song on this album could be awesome- if it wasn't mixed like a piece of crap. It feels like Maynard may have asked his 'yes man' how the record sounded. Remastered this could easily be Maynard's vocal highlight. Full Review »