Dos!

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Nov 13, 2012
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    Clearly, all the partying caught up to [Billie Joe Armstrong], but while he was racing recklessly, he cut this terrific little party record.
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Some songs' lyrics feel a bit too rote ("Makeout Party," "Lazy Bones") but that's when you realize Green Day never really had all that much to say in the first place, and they function at their best with hook-filled songs that are typically three minutes or less. Luckily for us, ¡Dos! is full of those tracks, and is definitely the highlight of the band's ongoing trilogy to date.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    80
    Twenty years on from "Kerplunk," Green Day couldn't possibly replicate its early urgency, but the band can manage to keep its sound nicely unhinged.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Dos! is a reliably fun, garagey treat--and should be viewed as no more than that.
  5. 83
    Scratch the party-till-you-puke surface and there's plenty of minor-key darkness lurking below.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Musical joie de vivre courses through Dos!, along with enough variety to ensure this is more than just, um, Uno! Part 2. [10 Nov 2012, p.52]
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    88
    It's an excellent Green Day album--one of its best--a catchy, revealing work that surprises with its willingness to explore ideas that the band members may not have invented, but which, fed through Green Day's filter, become theirs.
  8. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    It's great to hear them back on home turf, stripped of their last two records' strained conceptualism, instead just spitting out random, bratty nuggets about uncomplicated things like feeling horny and outrageous women. [Jan 2013, p.94]
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Everything about ¡Dos! is a step up from the last go-round, as if the previous LP was a mere dress rehearsal for the proper show,
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool harness the sound of immolating, teenage-wasteland lust for an album with a distinct sense of life coming off the rails.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    Wow this is bad. I thought that it couldn't get worse from Uno, but god this is bad. All of the songs are some of the most bland things I haveWow this is bad. I thought that it couldn't get worse from Uno, but god this is bad. All of the songs are some of the most bland things I have had the misfortune of hearing in years. At least with Uno, Carpe Diem was ok, but there are no good or even half way descent songs here. Every song is short and sounds the same. I never thought I would say it, but I want the Green Day that made 21st Century Breakdown back... Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Green Day are a band who tend to mix things up, and if you enjoy Green Day's attempts to mix things up, you will love Dos! While Uno was aGreen Day are a band who tend to mix things up, and if you enjoy Green Day's attempts to mix things up, you will love Dos! While Uno was a power pop album with one typical sound spanning it's entirety, there are multiple different sounds here ranging from raunchy garage rock, to bluesy 50's rock and even going into areas unheard of for Green Day such as rap, with guest verses from Lady Cobra. This album is full of memorable songs, with some very memorable riffs and lyrics, although some may feel very familiar to your (Lazy Bones has the same chords as Give Me Novacaine for example) which is the key area in which Uno was lacking. Songs such as F**k Time (yeah that exists), Lazy Bones, Makeout Party, Stray Heart and Wild One are two songs that stand out and really give the album a sense of emotion and a personality, as well as being some of Green Day's absolute finest, with absolutely commendable bass work (seriously, this is one of Mike's best). The band also delves into the rap genre and pulls it off rather well with the track 'Nightlife' which is a dark and dirty track with a great bassline.

    This is a great album and is really worth a listen, if Uno wasn't a particular favorite of your's, check out Dos, it's a great album and really gets you ready for Tre!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    What the hell happend with Green Day? The last three album sounds the same and I think "tre" will too! I think the are out of ideas, theyWhat the hell happend with Green Day? The last three album sounds the same and I think "tre" will too! I think the are out of ideas, they writing music because of the musi indrustry want it.... Full Review »