Dos! - Green Day
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 86
  2. Negative: 15 out of 86

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    2
    My favorite band has released the most boring, uninspiring, bland and forgettable album ever. What a disappointment. I really enjoyed Uno but this is clearly b-sides smeared into a full album release.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    3
    The worst album on the trilogy. Horribly-crafted uninspired rock songs almost fill the entire album. Apart from Stray Heart, Nightlife and some other moments, this is a complete headache.
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Ya its a 10..Just amazing as it gets bigger and better for the second album on the trilogy....Waiting Eagerly for TRE and the haters just GET LOST..DO u even know what music is..if they would have continued thier same genre in every album they do they would have been lost and forgotten a long time ago!
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    Wow this is bad. I thought that it couldn't get worse from Uno, but god this is bad. All of the songs are some of the most bland things I have had the misfortune of hearing in years. At least with Uno, Carpe Diem was ok, but there are no good or even half way descent songs here. Every song is short and sounds the same. I never thought I would say it, but I want the Green Day that made 21st Century Breakdown back... Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    I personally liked the album. It is definietly not the best Green Day album but it certianly isnt the worst. It has a lot of good, catchy songs but nothing more. In my opinion Dos! is much better than Uno! but that is just my opinion. This is nothing revolutionary, just a short, fun party album. Nothing more and nothing less. Lower your expectations and you will enjoy.
  6. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    Garage rock re-defined is a good theme for this album. When BJ said this was more like the second Foxboro Hot Tubs album, he wasn't kidding. The album is filled with garage rock jams that are fun, catchy, and easily get stuck in your head. While the lyrics and songwriting style are a definite departure from previous albums ('Nightlife' features rapping by Lady Cobra), Dos is a fun interpretation on Garage Rock and songs like '**** Time', 'Makeout Party', and 'Wow! That's Loud' are sure to become classics added to Green Day's already extensive repertoire. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Great follow-up to the first album and really sets groundwork for the third and final album to finale itself. The upbeat tones and relatable themes make it a wonderful continuation as the second part in this masterpiece.
  8. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Well, I must say that my expectations from this record were not so high and that's why, after listening to it, I can actually say that I kinda like it. It's much, much better than their previous album 'Uno!'. It has that genuine Green Day sound, what more would you want? If you are expecting more then just wait for the next installment, that is going to blow everyone's mind because Green Day has thought all of it through and they want to give us something worth listening to. And I think that's why they're releasing their albums back-to-back because they don't really want to disappoint their fans. I have this weird feeling that when we'd listen to the trilogy at once, that would truly turn into a masterpiece. Collapse
  9. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    I admit that despite some great songs, I was a little disappointed by ¡Uno! because of how many underwhelming tracks there were in the 2nd half. Fortunately I was far more impressed with ¡Dos!, mainly because there seems to be more thought put into each song, at least musically. The punk hooks are generally more punchy & raw, and there seems to be a lot more stylistic risks being taken here, which would develop later on ¡Tre!. I'm gonna do an in-depth track-by-track review now: 1) See You Tonight: A sweet & simple little acoustic intro with fantastic Simon & Garfunkel-esque harmonies that works just as well outside the context of the album. 8/10 - 2) **** Time: Despite some questionable lyrics (title says it all) I still find them oddly enjoyable in a guilty pleasure sort of way. Still, musically it's just so much fun, between the tongue-in-cheek bluesy chorus & the guitar solo, which is among the best in the trilogy. 7.5/10 - 3) Stop When the Red Lights Flash: A driving punk jam that gets the job done in the perfect amount of time. As much as I loved the longer songs on other recent albums, some songs around the 2:30 mark are pretty refreshing. 8/10 - 4) Lazy Bones: One of the more personal moments on the album, Lazy Bones is a wonderfully satisfying stress-filled song about the troubles of the world crashing in on you. Probably my favorite overall. 9/10 - 5) Wild One: A nice long love song that uses some rather interesting metaphors to paint a picture of Billie Joe's relationship with this woman, most likely either his wife or from a character's point of view, emphasized further by its fairly slow pace. 8/10 - 6) Makeout Party: Like **** Time, I really shouldn't like this song as much as I do but I just can't help but enjoy for the vivid imagery of the titular party and Billie Joe's witty way of doing it. Great bass solo too. 7.5/10 - 7) Stray Heart: The only single (as of now) from ¡Dos! and one of my favorites, Stray Heart is a near-perfect little power pop ditty that takes as many elements from Motown as it does from pop-punk. Bubblegum-pop in the most complimentary way possible, this song is a gem & makes a fine centerpiece for the album. 8.5/10 - 8) Ashley: By far the closest the album gets to "classic" Green Day. It wouldn't feel out of place at all on Insomniac or Nimrod. Despite that though, the subject matter about a drug-addicted friend seems like something mature enough to go on any album from Warning onward. Not the best song here but still very enjoyable. 7.75/10 - 9) Baby Eyes: Even though the little guitar lead done a few times is pretty cool, the song as a whole is pretty underwhelming, and probably the closest the album gets to "filler". 7/10 - 10) Lady Cobra: A great & tough-sounding garage rock jam with lyrics I could easily picture on Arctic Monkeys' first album that perfectly introduces... 8/10 - 11) Nightlife: It's unfortunate that most people hate this song for being such a stylistic departure for Green Day. Personally I find it one of the most interesting songs they've ever written, between its eerie musical atmosphere & of course the infamous rap verses by Mystic Knights of the Cobra's Lady Cobra. I will say this: it's a grower. You will most likely not quite "get" this song in the first couple listens, but once you do it sucks you into the environment it's painting both musically & lyrically about this hazy sexed up party. Probably Green Day's most wonderfully experimental track since some of the stuff on Warning. And the argument that this song is a sellout makes no logical sense. Yeah, because nothing says "corporate" like featuring an underground rapper barely anyone has ever heard of. 8/10 - 12) Wow! That's Loud - Undoubtedly the best part of this song is the flat-out awesome lead riff before each verse that for some reason I can easily picture being played on the bagpipes. The verses & chorus are good too but that riff is where it, for lack of a better word, peaks. The solo is also very impressive, and probably the best one technically speaking on the whole album. 7.75/10 - 13) Amy: The last track on ¡Dos! and by far the most heartfelt, this stripped-down & acoustic tribute to the late Amy Winehouse is absolutely beautiful, capturing the connection Billie Joe felt with her, whether it be musically or personally. In fact, even though I've never been a fan of Winehouse's, this song might convince me to check out some of her work. 8.5/10 - Overall, unless ¡Tre! wins me over with repeated listens, ¡Dos! might be my favorite album in the whole trilogy. It's got guts, heart & an uncompromising attitude combined with Green Day's consistent knack for great melodies & making pop-punk never feel stale. Overall score: 83/100 Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    What the heck? Apparently Green Day can release another album within two months containing boring riffs and lyrics. The only really good song is their tribute to Amy Winehouse, **** Time' on the other hand is the silliest song they've ever made. The album only lasts 39 minutes and gets really prosy in this short time. It's worse than Uno, but it's no complete mess - you can rock to it pretty well.
  11. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    The second album of the trilogy goes to a lower level in the quality of the songs. ¡Dos! is a good album, but it's quite far from ¡Uno!. It reminds Foxboro Hot Tubs' Stop Drop And Roll, with its garage influence. None of the songs reach the level of Let Yourself Go and Stay The Night. The best tracks of the record are Stray Heart and Time. The other songs are ok, except Night Life, which is terrible. However, generally speaking, it's quite good, even if it's one of the worst Green Day's albums. Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    If you thought Uno was good lyrically, you may be disappointed with Dos, as the theme remains the same throughout. If you thought (musically) Uno was boring, Dos is here, and it will blow everything Uno did musically out of the water. If you are familiar with Green Day's side project "The Foxboro Hottubs" you know what to expect. Lots of dirty, grindy effects in the music. But it still maintains a great Green Day feel. Songs like Lady Cobra, Stop When The Red Lights Flash, and Makeout Party, are all great upbeat songs, the album also contains some slower songs, such as Wild One and the immensely beautiful Amy. Despite that the album is shorter than I thought it was going to be, this album is fantastic from start to finish. Expand
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Green Day are a band who tend to mix things up, and if you enjoy Green Day's attempts to mix things up, you will love Dos! While Uno was a power pop album with one typical sound spanning it's entirety, there are multiple different sounds here ranging from raunchy garage rock, to bluesy 50's rock and even going into areas unheard of for Green Day such as rap, with guest verses from Lady Cobra. This album is full of memorable songs, with some very memorable riffs and lyrics, although some may feel very familiar to your (Lazy Bones has the same chords as Give Me Novacaine for example) which is the key area in which Uno was lacking. Songs such as F**k Time (yeah that exists), Lazy Bones, Makeout Party, Stray Heart and Wild One are two songs that stand out and really give the album a sense of emotion and a personality, as well as being some of Green Day's absolute finest, with absolutely commendable bass work (seriously, this is one of Mike's best). The band also delves into the rap genre and pulls it off rather well with the track 'Nightlife' which is a dark and dirty track with a great bassline.

    This is a great album and is really worth a listen, if Uno wasn't a particular favorite of your's, check out Dos, it's a great album and really gets you ready for Tre!
    Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2012
    0
    Yup, it all sounds the same as the past 2 albums - lazy and uninspired

    I used to love Green Day, even told myself that I would never get tired of them

    But their recent antics, acting like they're 20 years old, cussing for no reason other to sound hip, and genuinely lazy cookie-cutter songs have completely disintegrated any hope I have for them musically

    Rest In Pieces
  15. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    What was announced as a party album turned out to be more. Although, I would dare to say that guys from GD haven't shot from all cannons while making this album, I have to say that it's great. Lyrics are a bit of a weak side, but it's just a good, fun, catchy album...let the guys do what they want and enjoy themselves...they deserved it.
  16. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    Dos ! is a nice album, but this is not the Green Day that we used to listen before.............
  17. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    dos is very catchy and far more better than uno.........it has a variety of songs ranging from fast like makeout party ,medium like lazy bones,and slow like wild one and amy. billies vocals are awesome especially in the garagy feel of see u tonight.............hope that next album is also like this one
  18. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Dos is the ultimate Green Day album. But at the same time, it's unlike anything like Green Day have ever done. This album features everything from fast-paced Punk Rock from the days of Dookie to Garage Rock and even a rap song. Yes, a RAP song. That song is called Nightlife, and it features some sexy guest vocals from Lady Cobra, and an IMMENSE bassline by Mike Dirnt. And I mean IMMENSE. One of the catchiest ones ever. The bass work throughout the album is amazing, with a very prominent bassline in Stray Heart and a face melting bass solo near the bridge of Makeout Party. There's not much to the lyrics, but I guess there wasn't supposed to be in the first place. Dos is a true party album, with crazy guitar solos and songs about sex. With the exception of Amy, which is a beautiful ballad. This could turn out to be my favourite Green Day album of all time. It's worth a listen!
    Also, check out the crazy The Who-ish kinda breakdown in Wow! That's Loud. And the amazing 50s solo by Armstrong in **** Time. Minds will be blown.
    Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    What the hell happend with Green Day? The last three album sounds the same and I think "tre" will too! I think the are out of ideas, they writing music because of the musi indrustry want it....
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Being a long time Green Day fan, but not a huge fan of their recent stuff I was very happy to hear a return to their pre American idiot style, just some fast paced easy to listen to pop/punk/rock, nothing more nothing less. I personally feel their better at simpler shorter songs rather than those long drawn out song's on their last few albums but that's just me and I've been listening to them for 18 years. Expand
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    its truly not worth it to hear their album as it changed dramatically from American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown. Lots of cliched "rock" music. On the next one waiting to see if their last album Tres makes up for this one
  22. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This album it's too strange, a mix of songs very louders like **** Time or Red Lights Flash and ballads like Amy and one song.....for me it's the worst song in the history of Green Day's career (Nightlife)....too far than their fans expected
  23. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    Dos is the best album of the trilogy, there is some bad songs on it however, such as Time and Nightlife and Amy. But songs like Ashley, Wow Thats Loud, Lady Cobra etc are just awesome.
  24. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    The best of the trilogy by far. The songs flow together beautifully. Again the lyrics are built around the music and not the other way around. The music is more fun then Uno though. Does have some filler songs just like last time. Notable songs: F*** Time, Stop When The Red Lights Flash, Stray Heart, Lady Cobra and Nightlife
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    It's great to hear them back on home turf, stripped of their last two records' strained conceptualism, instead just spitting out random, bratty nuggets about uncomplicated things like feeling horny and outrageous women. [Jan 2013, p.94]
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    They're much more at ease losing themselves in power-pop harmonies on Lazy Bones and embracing '60s garage on Stop When The Red Lights Flash. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    Musical joie de vivre courses through Dos!, along with enough variety to ensure this is more than just, um, Uno! Part 2. [10 Nov 2012, p.52]