Drone Logic

  • Record Label: Because
  • Release Date: Oct 7, 2013
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    100
    'All I Need’ and ‘Simulrec’ are highlights in what is a confident and mesmerising debut from Avery, one that deserves to go down as one of the best of 2013.
  2. Mojo
    Oct 11, 2013
    80
    With echoes of caribou, Chemical Brothers and Underworld also fluttering in the mix, Avery's is a compelling, club-friendly debut with crossover appeal to the headphone set. [Nov 2013, p.89]
  3. Q Magazine
    Oct 11, 2013
    80
    Although the music is minimal, propulsive and built for clubs, Avery's formative years spent listening too rock and proto-electro lend the album a dynamic that suits headphone immersion. [Nov 2013, p.102]
  4. Uncut
    Oct 8, 2013
    80
    Impressively, in a nod to Avery's crowd-pleasing and circuit-bending skills, this is a techno album that seldom sags. [Nov 2013, p.65]
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    It sits together as a cohesive body of work rather than a fragmented collection of club moments.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    The times have changed enough in the music world that Drone Logic won't get the same recognition and acclaim that albums by Underworld or the Chemical Brothers (or even Plastikman or Orbital) received 20 years previously, but it's every bit as good and expansively musical as anything from that era.
  7. It’s minimal without being clinical, catchy without being clichéd and, thanks to the influence of MBV and Neu!, full of sonic left turns.
  8. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    A nicely well-rounded debut album from an artist who's only been releasing music for a couple of years.
  9. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    Drone Logic is a fastidious and memorable debut, though the middle suffers from a significant lull in energy.
  10. Oct 23, 2013
    72
    You might find it too retro, or just not hip enough, but there is zero second-guessing on Avery's part: never does he glance over his shoulder with a nod to UK bass culture or a capitulate to a straight house track.
  11. Oct 14, 2013
    70
    Drone Logic has peaks that dwarf its troughs, though, making Avery’s brave debut worth buying for its four best tracks alone.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    The best techno record I've heard in forever. Every sound and detail is precise and perfected. I also like how the album starts off very coldThe best techno record I've heard in forever. Every sound and detail is precise and perfected. I also like how the album starts off very cold and robotic, but ends more viscerally, although, the former style is definitely better. Favorite track: Water Jump Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2015
    10
    I knew nothing about Daniel Avery before looking into this list This is the best f*ckng album in any genre i've heard in a long time. F*ckng Genius.
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    wow, its amazing album very quality sound for dancing and even chilling. every track its kinda different story but conect overall. lovewow, its amazing album very quality sound for dancing and even chilling. every track its kinda different story but conect overall. love techno sounding like this Full Review »