Droppin' Science Fiction - The Mighty Underdogs
Droppin' Science Fiction Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rappers latest album features such guest artists as DJ Shadow, Mr. Lif, Damian Marley, and MF Doom.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It's the rare supergroup that's actually super.
  2. 80
    Droppin’ Science Fiction, the debut project from hip-hop supergroup The Mighty Underdogs, is one of the strongest underground hip-hop albums to come out in a long time.
  3. Though the album doesn’t develop a theme throughout listening, the all-star analogy holds up.
  4. As a whole, though, there’s not a whole lot of spark, and not much to remember. [Winter 2008]
  5. The album mostly succeeds, though, especially where its ambitions reach beyond standard social-issue theorizing and rap-game bashing.
  6. The fact that this dorkiness has enveloped a few usually-on-point guests (MF Doom, Mr. Lif & Akrobatik, DJ Shadow) is unfortunate enough; that it's being perpetrated by two MCs who've been consistently great since the early- to mid-90s just makes it more frustrating.

See all 12 Critic Reviews