Drops Of Jupiter

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 146
  2. Negative: 13 out of 146

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BJONESJONES
    Oct 6, 2001
    10
    DROPS 0F JUPITOR MADE ME FEEL LIKE I HAVENT FELT BEFORE
  2. RonS.
    Oct 9, 2001
    10
    I have never heard a more solid CD in the last five years. Only song 10 lags, the first nine are superb. Excellent work by train the critics suck.
  3. RonS.
    Oct 9, 2001
    10
    I have never heard a more solid CD in the last five years. Only song 10 lags, the first nine are superb. Excellent work by train the critics suck.
  4. MartynR.
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    What an album, this is one of my favourite albums ever classic lyrics too
  5. LiamR
    May 29, 2003
    9
    This is quality music by a fresh sounding band which was recomended by a friend, Give us more and well done.
  6. sonyat
    May 10, 2004
    10
    "Drops of jupiter," How many years later, and still this has to be one of my favourite songs."It still gives me shivers up and down my spine, everytime I listen to it." "Calling all angels was another beautiful song, that took me to another place in time." I can't wait until your next release, as I'm sick and tied of the music thats being played today.!!!!!
  7. LauraB.
    Oct 13, 2001
    10
    I believe that this album is unique, and has a lot of power in it's words. The words itself is strong, when it comes together with beat it makes a beautiful sound of music.
  8. ALCOHOLIC
    Oct 7, 2001
    3
    IT PRETTY BAAAAAAAAAAAAD SUX
  9. ALCOHOLIC
    Oct 7, 2001
    3
    IT PRETTY BAAAAAAAAAAAAD SUX
  10. BrendaK.
    Aug 30, 2001
    10
    This CD rocks and has stayed in the top 50 Billboard for several weeks. These critics need to listen a lot closer and give this group credit where credit is due!
  11. BenR.
    Sep 1, 2001
    2
    Vocals and structure are a direct ripoff of Black Crowes, giving them no points for originality in this formula constructed pop-rock album.
  12. JasminC.
    Sep 29, 2001
    10
    This is fantastic! You critics need to listen a little harder, the CD rules and even if you find it boring, at least it's not Britany Spears JUNK!
  13. MariaB.
    Sep 4, 2001
    10
    This ne Album is really hot
  14. JohnA.
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    IT'S A DOWN TO EARTH ALBUM
  15. MichelleH.
    Jan 22, 2002
    10
    This album has great, solid lyrics that many people can relate to in the real world. Drops of Jupiter has a great beat to it, and the lyrics are amazing! It's real-life music...something that needs to happen more in the world! Two thumbs way up!!!
  16. EricG.
    Jan 30, 2002
    9
    Outstanding GROOVE on Mississippi. Along with Drops of Jupiter this CD is a must have. Also the DVD shows the diverse talents as the members swap instruments though-out the show
  17. JennyD.
    Feb 23, 2002
    10
    This is a fantastic album! How anybody can slate it, I don't know, I think they need to clean out their ears! I agree with most people that "Drops of Jupiter" is the best and I'm sure "Train" will be around for a long time!!!!!
  18. CandyR
    Mar 10, 2002
    10
    I love "Train", especially this album. It is their best one yet. I have no idea why the critics rated it so poorly, but they're wrong! This album rocks!!
  19. ShazH.
    Mar 1, 2002
    10
    Just great!
  20. PeterV
    Apr 2, 2003
    1
    Don't know about the rest of the album, but Drops of Jupiter is uncommonly bad. This is possibly the most blatant example of lyrics-by-numbers I have ever heard - "hey guys, let's write a song with the words 'moon', 'stars', 'rain', 'summer', 'spring' etc etc - that will pull in all the lost souls looking for Don't know about the rest of the album, but Drops of Jupiter is uncommonly bad. This is possibly the most blatant example of lyrics-by-numbers I have ever heard - "hey guys, let's write a song with the words 'moon', 'stars', 'rain', 'summer', 'spring' etc etc - that will pull in all the lost souls looking for 'spirituality'. This song is empty, meaningless drivel - if you want original angsty lyrics about REAL things like feelings, emotions, love etc, try any of these: Van Morrison (Astral Weeks, Into the Music), anything by Leonard Cohen, EARLY David Gray (the man has lost it lately), Joni Mitchell (Blue), Patty Smith (Horses), Nirvana, Marvin Gaye (What's Goin On), John Lennon, Bob Dylan, Nick Cave (esp. his ballads) or Tom Waits. Don't just listen to the radio - OPEN UP TO MUSIC!! Expand
  21. Chuck--
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    I use the phrase "there has never been a greater song" about more than one song, but "Drops of Jupiter" is unquestionably on the list. It is a perfectly crafted song of angst which has an emotion that is similar to Hootie & the Blowfish and "Let Her Cry". The whole album is great, Pat Monahan's voice isn't Michael Stipe-esque, as Q Magazine alleged, it is Pat Monahan-esque, and I use the phrase "there has never been a greater song" about more than one song, but "Drops of Jupiter" is unquestionably on the list. It is a perfectly crafted song of angst which has an emotion that is similar to Hootie & the Blowfish and "Let Her Cry". The whole album is great, Pat Monahan's voice isn't Michael Stipe-esque, as Q Magazine alleged, it is Pat Monahan-esque, and that's enough for me. Expand
  22. davidl
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    fab album.cant believe some of the bum reviews.best album ive heard for years!!!!
  23. ShannonM
    Aug 24, 2005
    10
    I love this cd, it was released over 4 years ago and I still listen to it everday!
  24. BrandonG
    May 8, 2006
    9
    This is the most awesome CD EVA!!!!!!
  25. BenC
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    The Drops of Jupiter track has to be one of the most poetic unuiqe songs of the decade well structured with a great hook hard to shake super great song I rate this one a deserving 10.
  26. BryanR
    Jul 13, 2006
    10
    The "Drops of Jupiter" Song will be the groups only one hit wonder years from now. It is definetly unuiqe and we never get tired of listening to it. The rest of the group's music is a disappointment. We even tried to enjoy their other music and just couldn't find any enjoyment in it. I've heard neighborhood Garage Bands do better, But Drops of Jupiter has slight direct The "Drops of Jupiter" Song will be the groups only one hit wonder years from now. It is definetly unuiqe and we never get tired of listening to it. The rest of the group's music is a disappointment. We even tried to enjoy their other music and just couldn't find any enjoyment in it. I've heard neighborhood Garage Bands do better, But Drops of Jupiter has slight direct meaning to it in the lyrics, but surely demonstrates instructional poety straight from a poety classroom and has a unuiqe presentation, The Song Drops of Jupiter gets a 10, the rest of the groups material only a 1. This was our honest opinion. Expand
  27. RobN
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    Hard to shake the song out of your head after 4 or 5 plays ~brilliant ! Rest of album loved it.
  28. LukeM.
    Nov 1, 2001
    10
    Drops fo Jupiter is the best song known to mankind and the critics don't know what they're talking about.
  29. CatieK.
    Nov 3, 2001
    9
    I LOVE the song 'drops of jupiter', but the rest of the album just isn't as catchy as drops of jupiter, i like the album, though!
  30. Shiran
    Oct 2, 2001
    9
    'Drops Of Jupiter (Tell Me)' is by far my song of the year. The rest of the album is very creative but the rest of the songs just aren't as 'sing-a-long' as 'Drop Of Jupiter (Tell Me)'.
  31. AshleyP.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    It was a very good cd.I liked it.
  32. MathewC.
    May 22, 2001
    10
    It's 100% cool! Listen to the tracks, man! They're ace!!!
  33. DarcyH.
    May 30, 2001
    8
    I feel that this band has soul, which is something that alot of new acts out there lack. I know that the critics are out there to run artists down, but F__K them, as long as the artists are seling and making people happy, that's what it's all about! Oh yeah, and I love the tracks on the new Train CD!! Darcy
  34. AnGelBratyeahright!
    Jun 11, 2001
    10
    i wanted to vote higher but it only went to ten!this is the best cd!
  35. CarlyJ.
    Jun 14, 2001
    10
    I absolutely love this album. It has an awesome sound and incedible lyrics. rock on!
  36. JonS.
    Jul 28, 2001
    1
    The album gets one point for not being completely atonal. There is nothing on this record that hasn't been done before. For once, the critics are right.
  37. KarenB.
    Aug 24, 2001
    10
    I love this cd. I don't buy a lot of cd's, but this is one that I really love. These guys are great.
  38. CarlosA.
    Jan 1, 2002
    9
    Good album and great band, it kind of reminds me of what The Gin Blossoms did on the mid 90's. Pretty cool indeed... 'Hopeless' and 'Drops of Jupiter' alone make the album worth buying it.
  39. sdaasdasd
    Apr 6, 2002
    10
    i love train!! they are my heroes and we adlib to their songs at school. train haas kept my friends together.
  40. RiaT.
    Jun 25, 2002
    10
    fantastic, just as good, if not better than the first cd, although no song has eva surpassed meet virginia's superiority of lyrics and music
  41. AndyF.
    Sep 14, 2002
    3
    This album is powerfully mediocre, substandard pop rock. All these 9/10 user reviews sadden me.
  42. AmandaR
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    I love this cd it's the best cd i have! anyone who hasn't listened to Drops of Jupiter is seriously missing out!
  43. BrookeB
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    I though that drops of Jupiter was one of the greatest songs Ive ever heard It really Inspired me I LOVE it anyone that gives it less than an 8 you suck and you really must be a heartlss BITCH
  44. JoshuaS
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    this cd is sweet
  45. sheric
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    a fantastic cd, as are all cd's train has put out. Not a bad song on the whole cd. I listen to it at least once a day and am nowhere near getting sick of it!
  46. ciarahc
    Jan 18, 2005
    10
    i dont particularly like this band, i dont particularly fancy any of the members, i dont even like this type of music. This album suprised me, it is the best collection of music i have heard in years i hope they continue
  47. ChrisH
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    The critics are rubbish and do not know what they are saying. This is the best album i have ever heard, im not a pop fan i like rock! and this album still rules to hell with the critics
  48. DafEds
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Aweseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeemmmmmmmmme is the only thing to describe this album i loved it
  49. DaveE
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    i thought this album was truly amazing, Drops of jupiter is a great song i listened to it for 6 hours straight and i still loved it everytime it played
  50. Kristyl.
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    This cd is amazing. Drops of Jupiter is the best song I have ever heard in my whole life it kicks ass! The lyrics just make you want to float on a could and they are amazing. If you don't give this cd a 10 then you're and idiot, really.
  51. JonathanT
    Mar 20, 2005
    9
    Wow!
  52. SleepP
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    Drops of Jupiter is the best song EVAR! it means so many things and is a easy to listen to song, with freakin' awesome lyrics. the music is so great, and i cant play it enough on my ipod. i replay it over and over! don't anyone listen to the critics...they SUCK!
  53. nandk
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    awesome
  54. RonR
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Drops of Jupiter is to me unique because of its poetic and sometimes quirky lyrics, and the symphonic rock touch it has thanks to the heavy strings and piano arrangements. Unfortunately, the same effort has not been put in all the other songs, that all miss originality in tune (except for Meet Virginia) and lyrics. Looks like the producer could not find the energy to raise the quality Drops of Jupiter is to me unique because of its poetic and sometimes quirky lyrics, and the symphonic rock touch it has thanks to the heavy strings and piano arrangements. Unfortunately, the same effort has not been put in all the other songs, that all miss originality in tune (except for Meet Virginia) and lyrics. Looks like the producer could not find the energy to raise the quality after he put in the effort for Drops of Jupiter. Hopefully, a more talented band will be inspired by the Drops. Expand
  55. CaitH.
    Nov 9, 2001
    10
    I love this album, and everytime Drops of Jupiter comes on, I get soooo excited!!!!
  56. RoseP.
    Dec 17, 2001
    10
    Jon S. is soooooo wrong. Drops of Jupiter is the best!!!!!! No one could beat it!! jon is stupid!!
  57. AndjeyD.
    Dec 22, 2001
    10
    I think that this CD is the best especially that one song Drops of Jupiter (Tell me).
  58. KatrinaW.
    Aug 22, 2001
    10
    I love the song drops of jupiter because my ex boyfriend used to sing it.
  59. PatriciaK.
    Sep 11, 2001
    10
    this album is the best ive heard in a while
  60. AshleyC.
    Sep 12, 2001
    7
    Their a good band but the rest of the songs weren't very catchy!
  61. lazar
    Sep 17, 2001
    8
    the main guy in this song should get a haircut
  62. JimM.
    Sep 18, 2001
    10
    it is awsome
  63. AnaA.
    Sep 19, 2001
    10
    The whole album is the best but the song "drops of jupiter" will be forever my favourity theme song.
  64. CarlyC.
    Sep 21, 2001
    10
    drops of jupiter is the best song ever
  65. janakes
    Dec 2, 2003
    10
    very good
  66. MitsukiS
    Sep 25, 2003
    9
    this song is the coolest ^ ^! i could listen to it FOREVER!! and for all of you who think it "sucks", you suck...you sped MONKEY(s)!!..o.O BURN...
  67. RachelH
    Apr 18, 2004
    10
    wonderful CD!! Some of my favorite songs are from this CD and Drops of Jupiter is a great song but tracks like "Hopeless" and "Let It Roll" where he pours his heart into the lyrics are just wonderful meaningful tracks and it amazes me how great of lyrics he is able to come up with. Pat Monahan has amazing talent, he can sing just about any type of music and writes soulful and amazing wonderful CD!! Some of my favorite songs are from this CD and Drops of Jupiter is a great song but tracks like "Hopeless" and "Let It Roll" where he pours his heart into the lyrics are just wonderful meaningful tracks and it amazes me how great of lyrics he is able to come up with. Pat Monahan has amazing talent, he can sing just about any type of music and writes soulful and amazing lyrics and Train is just an amazing band! I recomend the CD or any of their CDs to any and everybody!! Expand
  68. g!dr
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    one of the best songs ive ever heard. unbelievable, n i dont like pop at all
  69. JohnM.
    Nov 23, 2001
    10
    evey song flows into the next great album
  70. SethK.
    Dec 13, 2001
    10
    i really like your song:Drops Of Jupiter. p.s.will you visit me at: maddog_360@netzero.net?
  71. HaileyE
    Dec 25, 2001
    10
    this is the best song ever i ever heard! :) i dont know how you losers who gave it even less than 9 did what you did! :( :( :( :(
  72. Jan 5, 2017
    10
    I don't usually go out of my way to write a review, but just needed to express that from where I'm standing, "Drops of Jupiter" is perhaps one of the strongest Pop compositions to ever be put to paper.

    Its melody and lyrics are driven by profound emotion and wit, not to mention its world-class orchestral arrangement, which deserve the song a permanent place in Pop history's greatest
    I don't usually go out of my way to write a review, but just needed to express that from where I'm standing, "Drops of Jupiter" is perhaps one of the strongest Pop compositions to ever be put to paper.

    Its melody and lyrics are driven by profound emotion and wit, not to mention its world-class orchestral arrangement, which deserve the song a permanent place in Pop history's greatest moments. I can't believe critics on here would ride their high horse, have the heard the music that's out today??
    Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    Singer Pat Monahan has a Michael Stipe-esque voice: part whine part sneer, but with an added dollop of believeable pathos. On this second album, his four colleagues concoct intriguing backdrops... [#180, p.112]
  2. 50
    Like Collective Soul, Vertical Horizon, and Matchbox Twenty before them, Train is a fairly faceless, generic rock band that writes straight-ahead, sing-along tunes. As a result, some of the songs on this, their second album, will make some people happy -- and other people just sleepy.
  3. These five regular San Francisco joes know a thing or two about the kind of midtempo, acoustic-based rock that makes for a smooth, radio-ready ride.