• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Jun 19, 2007
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 3 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JBeebee
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    Sublime, As Bob Dylan is by far my favorite artist, I have only ciritcal ears when someone "covers" the master... Bryan Ferry delights and I only wish he would have covered Not Dark Yet and perhaps Sugar Baby,etc. 1st play put a smile on my face after a rough day, and frequent plays only sound better and move this abum into a spot in my cd library along Bobs CDs.. Well done! Gates of Eden 10+
  2. ChristianZ.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    The Perfect tribute album, Dyalnesque pays due respect to both of these semi-legendary artists. Ferry isn't interested in the extremely rare (imagine what he might have done "Foot of Pride" or "She's Your Lover Now". The mind boggles.) but he doesn't avoid risk either. Consider Gates of Eden, a song that close to noone has ever attempted because of its perfection. Ferry The Perfect tribute album, Dyalnesque pays due respect to both of these semi-legendary artists. Ferry isn't interested in the extremely rare (imagine what he might have done "Foot of Pride" or "She's Your Lover Now". The mind boggles.) but he doesn't avoid risk either. Consider Gates of Eden, a song that close to noone has ever attempted because of its perfection. Ferry takes a subtle arrangement, breathes the vocal gently, and releases the subtleties beneath the words which in the origninal were harsh and at times accusatory. Even better, consider Positively Fourth Street, which insists on revealing the personal pain behind a line like "You don't know what a drag it is to see you." Finally, consider this: Ferry takes a warhorse, a dead-on obvious choice like "The Times They Are a Changing" and creates a new message. This is a song that can be considered quaint or hopelessly dated, but Ferry gets tougher here, insisting the song still has relevance, and in the process, makes the listener believe it as well. There may not be anything groundbreaking here, but for fans of both of these artists (and who isn't one deep down?), this is a collection of small treasures, the kind that last. Expand
  3. susanf
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Love it and have been waiting for it's release since I heard of the project! His voice melts me and it's definitely better than listening to Dylan singing these tunes.
  4. peterw
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    imagine Dylan with all the rough vocals smoothed out and you can get to hear the words too plus a great band and you have a classy album
  5. denismenace
    Mar 8, 2007
    10
    The red printed Bryan Ferry on the sleeve and the ferris wheel blue behind hint I suppose at the prime colours of Oh Mercy, Dylan's late 80s (magnificent) record. And your own thoughts on Ferry? Those other sleeve covers of Roxy Music are barely surpassed. And whilst the others went on to various nice things, I haven't really caught the voice of Bryan Ferry over the years since. The red printed Bryan Ferry on the sleeve and the ferris wheel blue behind hint I suppose at the prime colours of Oh Mercy, Dylan's late 80s (magnificent) record. And your own thoughts on Ferry? Those other sleeve covers of Roxy Music are barely surpassed. And whilst the others went on to various nice things, I haven't really caught the voice of Bryan Ferry over the years since. Then, just this weekend, sort of cosy on the sofa, I saw him on the Culture Show sing that great song Positively 4th Street. Tears in the eyes at the end, I was faced with the simple truth that I had (apart from Hendrix on Watchtower) never heard Dylan sung as good (better?) than Dylan. And I have been devoted to his songs since the 60s. This is curious. I suspect this record has been in gestation for a very long time. Ferry clearly loves these songs. Just back from pressing play again. My third time through these songs. "Just like Tom Thumb's Blues" is starting up. The band are painting a languishing picture, with (Ferry?) really nice harmonica. This isn't supposed to be a big essay. So, before this song finishes, what is going on? Bryan Ferry is touching the essence of the song, gently, not tempted much to extend those last lines into an excursion of vowels on, "Simple Twist of Fate" (the way weaker interpreters always do). It is the way he sings "old canal, so confused I remember well" - and hauntingly "brought on by a simple twist of fate". Lovely. He sort of drives down the centre of the road and just gently pulls up where you expect (from all those exaggerated Dylan covers) a press down on the accelerator. I note that Robin Trower plays some acoustic on track 11, but I couldn't quite hear that. I could go on and on. But this is not simply a good review, it is a recommendation to buy this record, and listen for years to come (like Oh Mercy in that respect). I do know this is the product of love of these songs. And I can only say, these interpretations have allowed me to love the songs even more. Expand
  6. PerineauR.
    Jul 15, 2007
    9
    As with any great tribute album the songs are different enough to stand on their own but they also add to your appreciation of the originals. It's hard to add to the appreciation I already have of Dylan but it heightened originals I'd somehow overlooked, especially Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues. Make You Feel My Love is beautiful and haunting. This disc gets better with every listen.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    I wonder what Dylan himself thinks of this,the "other"master as usual plays quiet .But what a disc ! I always was hoping for a Ferry/Dylan whole album and guess,i got my wishes fulfilled ! It's been turning in my player and turning some more.It's a grower and just havintg read it was recorded in a week....It seems untrue,knowing how layered and timely/expensive Ferry's I wonder what Dylan himself thinks of this,the "other"master as usual plays quiet .But what a disc ! I always was hoping for a Ferry/Dylan whole album and guess,i got my wishes fulfilled ! It's been turning in my player and turning some more.It's a grower and just havintg read it was recorded in a week....It seems untrue,knowing how layered and timely/expensive Ferry's recordings have been for about the past 20 years.Class-act and solid ! Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Far be it for the imaginative contrarian to retrace Dylan's steps, and sure enough--despite an omnipresent harmonica--Ferry does just the opposite.
  2. There's a tasteful shimmer over all the tracks.
  3. Purists may cry sacrilege, but the Roxy Music singer vastly improves Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues and All Along the Watchtower by imbuing their edgy agitation with his classicist pop sensibility.