Echoes

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewR
    Sep 27, 2003
    7
    Yes, the Rapture rock, but their whole schtick isn't especially new. Disco and 80's dance ideas meld with the latest in New York post-punk, spawning an addicting album. It's a lot of fun, there's no denying that ("House of Jealous Lovers" being the #1 semi-guilty pleasure of 2003, but don't be prepared to be taken aback by something radically new. You'll be Yes, the Rapture rock, but their whole schtick isn't especially new. Disco and 80's dance ideas meld with the latest in New York post-punk, spawning an addicting album. It's a lot of fun, there's no denying that ("House of Jealous Lovers" being the #1 semi-guilty pleasure of 2003, but don't be prepared to be taken aback by something radically new. You'll be disappointed. Let the dance punk wars begin. Finally it's OK to dance again. Expand
  2. DimitarD
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    hellz yeah
  3. JeffF
    Oct 21, 2003
    9
    As close to perfect as possible. This CD seems kind of disjointed at first listen, but after a few you will realize that these guys are incerdible. Strong Gang of Four influence. A couple of slower tracks leave this release short of recieving a 10.
  4. AdamX
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    brilliant. its what we need, NEW music.
  5. liz
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    This album has really grown on me. It has become one of my favorites.
  6. gladys***oO-_-Oo
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    great, great, great!!...
  7. NajA
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    Amazing. I can't stop bobbing my head. It's todays swing of the 50s, rock of the 70s, and heavy metal of the 80s. Dancepunk is exemplified by this album, by the Rapture.
  8. TimS
    Jan 30, 2004
    7
    This is a good cd, and its refreshing to hear dance tunes played by actual musicians. Unfortunately, the lead vocalist can't sing worth a damn. Crap singing brings the whole band down.
  9. LeonardoF
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    a classic!
  10. MihaiV
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    This album is a classic. I love it. I hope they won't dissapoint with their next.
  11. tn
    Nov 14, 2003
    8
    Great album (especially 'Olio'), great band. Do not miss the opportunity to experience 'The Rapture' live.
  12. MikeO
    Oct 21, 2003
    9
    The Rapture rise above the rest of their dance-punk peers by NOT resorting to retro-band status. I never get the feeling of "DON'T YOU JUST LOVE [I]EIGHTIES[/I] MUSIC??" that ADULT., I Am the World Trade Center or countless other bands fall into. The Rapture realize that guitar/bass/drums just doesn't cut it anymore and they are smart enough to know that with rock in danger of The Rapture rise above the rest of their dance-punk peers by NOT resorting to retro-band status. I never get the feeling of "DON'T YOU JUST LOVE [I]EIGHTIES[/I] MUSIC??" that ADULT., I Am the World Trade Center or countless other bands fall into. The Rapture realize that guitar/bass/drums just doesn't cut it anymore and they are smart enough to know that with rock in danger of becoming obsolete, revisiting its past isn't the best way to accomplish things. Echoes is far and away the most exciting debut of the year. My only gripe is I think the Rapture may have "blown it" by constantly pushing back the akbum's release date. I mean, it's October 2003. I haven't seen an "electroclash' feature in almost a year. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Oct 31, 2003
    10
    Best album of the year hands down!
  14. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed Echoes. The Rapture has a very distinct sound to there music. It sounds fresh and different. The heavy use of cow-bell and some really astonishing bass solos just add to this great album. Every song sounds great especially "Echoes". Easily the standout track on this album. All In All, Echoes is a great album and The Rapture are a really good band. B+
  15. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    A album that no one's expected, but everyone had hope that it would arise. Dance-punk in its roots, with some easygoing songs, but there's nothing wrong with it.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Luke Jenner's vocals may drive you insane, but he is to be ignored anyway. Echoes is all about perp-walking bass, funky white-boy cowbell, and enough brain-goring good guitar riffs to make Keith Richards collapse in amazement.
  2. Blender
    70
    With so many hip people in the studio, it's no wonder Echoes sounds like such a party. [Nov 2003, p.119]
  3. What makes Echoes more than the sum of its inspirations... is that the band audibly, valiantly struggle to create something bigger than they are.