Elan Vital

  • Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Apr 11, 2006
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tom
    May 12, 2006
    7
    it's not surprising that q magazine bashed this record - this is the magazine that gave the kooks' album four stars, so that just underlines their total irrelevance. as for the album itself, it's on a par with new romance, but nowhere near as good as their debut, good health. i guess i just prefer their old, energetic sound. still a great live band, though.
  2. Cables
    Apr 20, 2006
    8
    Not as bad as pitchfork and stylus would lead you to believe. Its actually pretty damn solid although a much more polished effort than The New Romance.
  3. williamo
    Apr 13, 2006
    8
    I love them, what a good move! Really good mix of post-punk and art-rock! In the top for this year, for sure!
  4. BrandonH
    Apr 14, 2006
    8
    It doesn't grab a hold of you as quickly as The New Romance, but it's a bold step forward sonically. I like it quite a bit.
  5. dasmith
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    There best yet.....I like pyrite pedestal and selling the wind the best I think.....
  6. AlexandriaC
    May 3, 2007
    10
    andrea is a very talented singer, and will continue to portray this, even though the band has split. this deserves a 10.
  7. richardd
    Apr 28, 2006
    9
    i think pgmg have really pushed themselves and matured their sound. the writing is excellent and they are sonically more complex. all this and the songs will get stuck in your head for days!
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. The use of electronics, violins, trumpets and a whole litany of instruments at times is difficult to take in, and may indeed be too far a revolution for some.
  2. Amazingly, though Elan Vital easily could've become their resounding Sandinista flop, Zollo's clean vocals, knife-sharp melodies and subtle politically charged songwriting help secure its nomination as Pretty Girls' London Calling.
  3. There aren't many post-punk influenced bands around that sound as original and as removed from their influences as Pretty Girls Make Graves. There also aren't many that could write an album jammed with so many memorable songs.