Electra Heart

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Electra Heart Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for Marina and the Diamonds includes production from Greg Kurstin, Rick Nowels, Dr Luke, and Liam Howe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. 83
    Marina Diamandis rivals Katy Perry for catchy hooks, commands with the swagger of Gwen Stefani, and even comes close to the ethereal vocal exhilaration of Florence Welch.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    70
    Electra Heart manages to balance the ironic and the heartfelt, the quirky and the mainstream, the real and the fake with remarkable aplomb.
  3. Electra Heart is too professional to be truly terrible, but it's never clever enough to be more than merely toytown.
  4. 50
    Not sure-footed enough in its subversion, its artificiality feels fake rather than carefully plotted.
  5. Q Magazine
    Jun 21, 2012
    40
    Electra Heart sounds high on concept, low on songs. [Jun 2012, p.108]
  6. Apr 30, 2012
    40
    These prom queen themes have had a more intriguing musical treatment from Lana del Rey.
  7. May 1, 2012
    10
    'Electra heart' is an ingloriously languid statement of Marina's demise, the final stamp of disapproval on her flailing excuse of a musical career.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 58
  2. Negative: 2 out of 58
  1. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    I REALLY DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY THE ALBUM HAS 57 AS SCORE, is a really good record, Marina's great voice plus the deep lyrics, make perfection together.
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    This is my 2nd favorite album of all time (behind The Family Jewels)
    It took me a while to warm up to this album (as it did with the family
    This is my 2nd favorite album of all time (behind The Family Jewels)
    It took me a while to warm up to this album (as it did with the family jewels) but now that I've gotten used to them I absolutely love them! You should buy this album and find Living Dead, Buy the Stars, Lonely Hearts Club and Scab and Plaster, because they are also fantastic. Just give this album a chance and listen to every song at least 3 times, then you will LOVE it. If you must, only get Bubblegum **** Lies, Homewrecker, Starring Role, How to be a Heartbreaker, and Fear and Loathing. Primadonna is her most popular song, and probably to easiest to like, but not my personal favorite
    Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This album is everything a perfect album should be!!! Best Pop Album of 2012 !!! The highlight songs of this album are Primadonna,StarringThis album is everything a perfect album should be!!! Best Pop Album of 2012 !!! The highlight songs of this album are Primadonna,Starring Role, Homewrecker,Living Dead and Teen Idle. Therr isn't a single filler song in the album. Beautiful imagery and concept, couldn't ask for any better. Collapse
  4. Feb 27, 2016
    9
    9/10 - "Electra Heart manages to balance the ironic and the heartfelt, the quirky and the mainstream, the real and the fake with remarkable9/10 - "Electra Heart manages to balance the ironic and the heartfelt, the quirky and the mainstream, the real and the fake with remarkable aplomb" - BBC Music Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2016
    8
    In this album Marina embraces Electra Heart as an alter ego and it worked out pretty well. Electronic beats with clever and ironic lyrics makeIn this album Marina embraces Electra Heart as an alter ego and it worked out pretty well. Electronic beats with clever and ironic lyrics make this album even better. She talks about relationships, fame, reputation, mental health, sexism and makes incredible metaphors. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    Very nice indie album, Marina's voice is so wonderful, I need more this.
    Highlights: How To Be A Heartbraker and Lies
    Lows: Starring Role
    Very nice indie album, Marina's voice is so wonderful, I need more this.
    Highlights: How To Be A Heartbraker and Lies
    Lows: Starring Role and Hypocrates
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2015
    0
    Marina can expose any excuse but there isn't a good reason for made this album like she made it. Her voice and the really annoying electronicMarina can expose any excuse but there isn't a good reason for made this album like she made it. Her voice and the really annoying electronic pop music make a incredibly nasty combination, there are some good lyrics which are ruined with the rest of the song/album. Marina is one of my favorite singers but this is a dissapointment. Fortunately, with "Froot" she changed this horrendous style. Primadonna girl, yeah, all I ever wanted is ruin my image... Expand

See all 58 User Reviews