Electric - Pet Shop Boys
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Yes, that's a very bold statement, but with this being one of the very few albums of 2013 with just about excellent reviews all-around, it definitely lived up to the hype and then some!

    I think all us pet-heads knew something amazing and unique in even the PSB world was coming (and judging by the constant sales and moving up in the charts here on Amazon and other outlets, it seems the
    public overall is catching on and finally NOT labeling them as an '80's act (wake-up Pandora!).

    I remember listening to 'Axis' for the first time as a teaser, then it was followed up with 'Vocal' and teasers for 'Inside A Dream' and 'Fluorescent' (the latter of which I didn't care for at first, but then it turned out to be my most fave song on the album) releasing these songs as both singles and teasers was the perfect way to market their stuff BEFORE the release of their album helped tremendously with the build-up!

    Parting ways with Parlophone, the inclusion of Stuart Price, or (what has been stated/assumed by Tennant on occasion) a negative fan reaction from 'Elysium' (a stellar album!) there were many stated/ironic situations that led to the making of this awesome album and in less than a year! This is genius at work and to think: it's the FIRST in a THREE-PART collection WOW!

    As I stated in my title, this album has that rare quality: similar to Fleetwood Mac's 'Rumours', this has the characteristics of classic written all over it. Every song on here can/could be made into a hit; every song could be known by fans and non-fans alike. It will be interesting to see how Tennant/Lowe handle this album via their x2 label they've already broken a good amount of conventional rules upon releasing the album and it looks like it's paying off maybe they will break more rules and not limit this album to a handful of songs, but possibly a good 3/4 of the album could be made into hits here's wishing :)

    Anyway, amazing album: it's been on repeat along with The Editors' 'The Weight of Your Love' (very under-rated), and David Bowie's 'The Next Day' Haven't loved music this much in a long time Thanks Chris & Neil
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    This is the best album from the PSB in the last years. Remake Last to die is finest track on this CD. Fabulous music inventions, nice dynamic, really recommended.
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    After Elysium, which wasn't bad but according to PSB standards a definite disappointment, this is indeed a return to form. Great achievement. Sets a terrific precedent as the first album on their own label. Makes me want to get back to Europe!!!!!
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    3
    Bland, bland, bland. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Some artists, and I would include the Pet Shop Boys, are lionized to such a degree that they seem almost beyond reproach in the minds of fans and critics alike.
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I really didn't think that Elysium was a bad album, but it is quite impressive how soon they were able to come up with this! Electric contains some of their best songs in years and not a single weak track. Love is a bourgeois construct should be released as a single!
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Elysium contained 4 of best songs the Pets have ever written 'Invisible', Leaving', 'Breathing Space' & 'Face Like That' but it was the laid back nature of the other songs that ruffled fans feathers (not me i loved it all apart from 'Hold On' really).

    Electric however is sensational if Elysium played out like a retirement piece this is like a re-birth.
    The production from Stuart
    Price is exceptional & tracks like 'Fluorescent' & 'Inside a Dream' are so moody & clubby i could see them used as the soundtrack to nightclub scenes that you so often see in movies. 'Love is a Bourgeois Construct' is a triumph but for me the most amazing track is 'Thursday' this is PSB at their absolute best the chunky bass stabs & classic PSB 80's riff are just pre-cursors to an anthemic piano/vocal breakdown & then when Example does his bit it goes into orbit not just his rap but the chorus he sings is pure dance music heaven, surely this is the 3rd single?

    Apparently this is part 1 of a PSB/Stuart Price trilogy if that's the case let's hope we get part 2 in 10 months time again, i could get used to this swift turnaround of albums.

    Essential purchase
    Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    6
    I definitely agree that Pet Shop Boys have delivered their best album in years. The question is, however, if this is enough. Frankly, I don't think so. The album suffers from lack of hits (a hit, to be exact) and, if compared, to phenomenal Daft Pank, is just mediocre. What is an asset is production, which makes the album listenable as a whole.
  8. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    It seems like I just keep saying the same thing about albums this year; "Best in Decades!". From NIN to Bowie to Pet Shop Boys to Sigur Ros to New Order to Neil Young it's totally the year of fantastic new output from great musicians that got a little lost or tired along the way. This album sounds like it could have been made back in 1986, it's not a re-invention of their sound or anything but it's stronger than most of their stuff has ever been. The sounds and songs are just unreal and it gets better with each listen. Just don't try to play it for your cool young straight friends or they'll look at you like you're nuts! Expand
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    amazing work of psb...........................................................................................................................................................................................
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Wonderful album! Taking in consideration their 27-year presence in the tops of all the countries it's a phenomena with no doubt! And they still sound fresh and create fantastic melodies and sound!
  11. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    I can't agree with all of the reviews that claim that last year's Elysium was lacklustre, but Electric is the sound of an act that sounds confident, forward-looking and powerful. This is pretty remarkable given that they have been never stopped producing high quality material for thirty years.
  12. Feb 23, 2014
    8
    Elysium lacked immensely in that familiar Pet Shop Boys vibe, and though it is rather good to try different sounds and techniques, like the Pet Shop Boys did, Elysium was just unfortunately a down right bummer. The surprise here though, is the sudden action and the need to release another album so soon after the last (Elysium), Electric is the Pet Shop Boys immense and exciting new effort, and its one of their best efforts in a rather long time. Expand
  13. Dec 9, 2013
    6
    Innanzitutto, mettiamo le mani avanti: io e i Pet Shop Boys ci siamo sempre tenuti ben lontani l’uno dagli altri e avremmo continuato a ignorarci se non mi fosse capitato sotto le orecchie per puro caso questo disco dopo aver letto una bella intervista a Neil Tennant su Mojo. L’ascolto di questo dodicesimo album in studio del duo inglese non colma di granchè la distanza, ma innegabile che il loro pop da ballo sia divertente (oltre che fatto con notevole cura) e il disco sappia farsi apprezzare, almeno a livello epidermico che la stima penetri in profondità non si può proprio dirlo, ma in fondo non pare esere la prima preoccupazione dei due. Il merito di tale apprezzamento va sicuramente cercato nella squisita sensibilità pop che, oltre a dare la propria impronta anche nei momenti più squadrati o quando i synth pompano senza requie, regala alcune piccole perle che colpiscono in maniera infallibile: si vedano in special modo ‘Love is a bourgeois construct’, che si sviluppa sulla base di un prestito dal compositore barocco Henry Purcell, e la forse ancor più riuscita ‘Thursday’, a partire dall’avvolgente introduzione di basso (sintetico) e campane. I martelli stanno invece altrove e, forse per rassicurare i fan che hanno storto il naso di fronte al precedente, poco aggressivo ‘Elysium’. si parte subito a spron battutto con la trascinante ‘Axis’ poche parole e un aggiornamento del duo ai tempi dei Daft Punk seguita dal ritornello contagioso della successiva ‘Bolshy’ intenta, pare, a giocare con le parole indicando che la vecchia passione per l’estetica sovietica non ancora morta (il titolo significa ‘polemico’ o ‘riluttante’, ma anche l’abbreviazione di ‘bolscevico’). Il suono più duro in assoluto quello sfoggiato da ‘Shouting in the evening’ che, dopo una morbida introduzione ingannatrice, mette in mostra dei muscoli da Chemical Brothers, mentre il resto del programma si svolge su toni più caldi e arrotondati. Si prendano, ad esempio, ‘Fluorescent’ e ‘Inside a dream’, che un po’ eteree, un po’ inquietanti hanno il solo torto di avvicinarsi pericolosamente alla musica da tappezzeria, nonché la bella resa di uno Springsteen minore (‘The last to die’ da ‘Magic’) che pare abbandonare reduci e Vietnam per venir trasportata alla realtà della comunità gay. Gli elementi sopra indicati si fondono in un altro fra i pezzi migliori, la conclusiva ‘Vocal’ che sfoggia strofa suadente e ritornello danzerino per raccontare la musica che ai due piacerebbe ascoltare, cioè, in fondo, la loro: una dance intelligente e non troppo cupa, in cui anche il cantato ha la sua importanza. Ed certo che, nei Pet Shop Boys, la voce di Tennant, non bella ma straordinariamente efficace, abbia un peso specifico non indifferente: il resto lo fanno i sintetizzatori di Chris Lowe, un vero marchio di fabbrica che, però, alla lunga stufa almeno il sottoscritto. Ciò non toglie che, seppur con moderazione, a qualcuna di queste canzoni venga voglia di tornare mentre il piedino non riesce a stare fermo. Expand
  14. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    No one but the Pet Shop Boys was going to make an album like this, so it's about time they finally did. "Electric" stands out because it uses its nine tracks to develop a strong and unique consciousness. None of its tracks feel like space-fillers; instead, each track works in conjunction with the others to form a consistent, emotive, and guiltlessly danceable dynamic. The Pet Shop Boys essentially rolled up everything done right in dance-pop over the past several years, painted it with a contemporary British pop culture aura, and injected it with an unmistakeable Pet Shop Boys feel to create their most wonderful album since the 80s, which features standout tracks like "Vocal," one of the greatest dance songs of 2013, and "Love is a Bourgeois Construct," which actualizes alternative dance music's highest potential. Simply put, there is nothing out there like "Electric."

    FINAL SCORE: 95 (almost perfect ----------o---------- perfect)
    Expand
  15. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    It is an amazing album. A big comeback of pet shop boys and definitely their best album to date. It is a smart album and knows how to please people, fun and joyful.
  16. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    The Boys demonstrate their quality. Their age should not be considered by the radio stations when programming. Tracks like Numb where underrated. Electric should be rated with justice.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Aug 1, 2013
    80
    Springsteen cover ‘The Last To Die’, is a witty aside, but throbbing 4/4 dominates as the electronic legends make a welcome return to their roots.
  2. 70
    Throughout the record a pleasing balance of melody and repetition is maintained.
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    70
    Electric isn't quite electrifying in the way that Very and Introspective and "What Have I Done To Deserve This?" are, but nearly every track has a moment or two that ignites seemingly long-gone enthusiasm.