Elephant

  • Record Label: V2
  • Release Date: Apr 1, 2003
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 401

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    Close enough to the perfect rock album. It's easy to see why this was their most commercially successful record. Anyone who was into alternative rock in the early 00's will be familiar with most of the songs off of this. Seven Nation Army has stood the test of time, and was to be heard in stadiums across Poland and the Ukraine this summer at the Euro 2012 Championships, proving to be asClose enough to the perfect rock album. It's easy to see why this was their most commercially successful record. Anyone who was into alternative rock in the early 00's will be familiar with most of the songs off of this. Seven Nation Army has stood the test of time, and was to be heard in stadiums across Poland and the Ukraine this summer at the Euro 2012 Championships, proving to be as catchy as ever. At 14 tracks long, the quality of the material is surprisingly high throughout. There is really only one or two tracks that I would skip over and 7 or 8 that I could be considered indie rock classics. The riffs sound timeless, partly because Jack White has borrowed from and been inspired by past blues rock masters. "Where have I heard that before?" is the question you'll find yourself asking. Although not the bands strong point, lyrically this is probably their best as well. One of the album's of the 90's. Highly recommended. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Elephant shows that The White Stripes are simply one of the best bands on this planet. Opens with "Seven Nation Army", which is like one of the greatest rock songs ever. It has one of the best riffs I've ever heard. "The Hardest Button To Button" is another amazing track. Basically, every song sounds like a single. This album is tied with White Blood Cells. Both are just too good toElephant shows that The White Stripes are simply one of the best bands on this planet. Opens with "Seven Nation Army", which is like one of the greatest rock songs ever. It has one of the best riffs I've ever heard. "The Hardest Button To Button" is another amazing track. Basically, every song sounds like a single. This album is tied with White Blood Cells. Both are just too good to consider one better than the other. A Expand
  3. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Great album. Nothing groundbreaking, but just a great rock album. This is one of those records you can listen to all the way through repeatedly. It's the 'Nevermind' for a new generation of music. You listen to it and it makes you want to start your own garage band.
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Elephant by the now-much-missed The White Stripes is a game-changing album that brought millions of youngsters into blues, accelerated the bandâ
  5. Oct 14, 2014
    6
    It's ok. It's not great because it has no theme or underlying message, the instrumentals are a little sloppy and get boring occasionally, and I don't care for Jack White's lyrics. Seriously, Ball and Biscuit is a pretty good song, but did it have to be seven minutes long? Maybe I've missed the boat on the White Stripes, but I just can't get into them.
  6. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    While the White Stripes are certainly not the most innovative rock band in history, they are still heads-and-shoulders above almost every other rock band from the last decade or so. While many of us have shared the thought that rock has died, this band has added an asterisk to the end of that thought. This album exhibits some of their strongest work, and it's the one that put them on the map.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This album is ridiculous. I'm surprised it didn't start a music revolution like that of Is This It. Jack White is an absolute genius. Unfair album overall. All tracks are PERFECT
  8. May 5, 2011
    10
    Whenever The White Stripes come into the scene, the word and description of "Simplicity" into their music is what makes them such a formidable band. Elephant is probably their greatest work and a huge step up from White Blood Cells with a darker take on their music. The album still has the simplistic yet compelling composition The White Stripes is known for and you will expect the bestWhenever The White Stripes come into the scene, the word and description of "Simplicity" into their music is what makes them such a formidable band. Elephant is probably their greatest work and a huge step up from White Blood Cells with a darker take on their music. The album still has the simplistic yet compelling composition The White Stripes is known for and you will expect the best from them; heavy guitar riffs, smartly crafted lyrics and a sense of fun. Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    Notice how all the negative ratings show no reasoning behind them, or show why it's so bad. They all just say "Worst album ever" or "Piece of crap", but nothing else. This album is a simple masterpiece. With the epic "Seven Nation Army", this simplistic group has created a great hummer. Jack & Meg White's amazing skill of talk-singing, drums, & guitar makes simple perfection, as this groupNotice how all the negative ratings show no reasoning behind them, or show why it's so bad. They all just say "Worst album ever" or "Piece of crap", but nothing else. This album is a simple masterpiece. With the epic "Seven Nation Army", this simplistic group has created a great hummer. Jack & Meg White's amazing skill of talk-singing, drums, & guitar makes simple perfection, as this group is known for being simple. Everything flows together effortlessly, with unforgettable & impeccable guitar riffs, & eccentric, but funny & sense-making usually. Amazing effort from an amazing band. Expand
  10. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    One of the best rock sounds in rock history, the White Stripes cemented their place in rock with this album. Seven Nation Army is a classic with a simple riff but Jack White shows off his immense guitar skill in songs like Ball and Biscuit and his amazing vocals in Girl, You Have No Medicine and There's No Home For You Girl. Easily one of the best rock albums I've heard.
  11. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Easily one of the best albums of all time. This album is absolutely exceptional. it's like finding an island amongst a sea of **** 21'st century music. would recommend to anyone with a decent taste in music.
  12. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    Extremely underrated band from the 00's! Why could anyone hate this band? The music is a mix of blues, rock, and alt. rock. There are still people today, who have not yet heard of this band. The White Stripes are missed greatly! Rock on!
  13. catherines
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    absolutely wonderful.....definitely stands up to s/t, de stijl and wbc
  14. AlexT
    May 8, 2003
    10
    Amazing. It blew my head off and I haven't stopped listening to it since I brought it out of the shop. At last some music that sounds like the true expression of its players. This is not corporate rock and I thank the White Stripes for selling their art to us. Cheers, my dears! Cup of tea!
  15. gregs
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    99.99% pure genius- drums ,vocal,storeytelling a distillation. Shows the heart of rocknrolls still beating.. to use a cliche. Perhaps the people who gave it a zero are into rap or some other genre and are closed minded as their talent at least is undeniable and in your face.
  16. mookiewilson
    Mar 16, 2003
    9
    success hasn't spoiled them yet- 4.5 stars
  17. AlexH
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    best cd I've heard this year. Better than White Blood Cells
  18. CoryB
    Apr 2, 2003
    10
    Words cannot describe this album, but we still try. The guitar solos could make any talented guitarist weep, the lyrics could do the same to anyone. One of he best albums i've bought in the last 4 years, and i've bought more most anyone out there.
  19. davep
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    This is a quite brilliant record. I can't seem to take it out of my CD player. I love the Burt Bacharach cover. Seven Nation Army, Black Math, There's No Home For You Here, I Want to Be the Boy..., The Hardest Button to Button, Little Acorns, and The Air Near Your Fingers are all instant classics in my eyes and will probably be the cause of wearing out my eardrums over the next This is a quite brilliant record. I can't seem to take it out of my CD player. I love the Burt Bacharach cover. Seven Nation Army, Black Math, There's No Home For You Here, I Want to Be the Boy..., The Hardest Button to Button, Little Acorns, and The Air Near Your Fingers are all instant classics in my eyes and will probably be the cause of wearing out my eardrums over the next several months. Nice Job, WS. Expand
  20. MarcD.
    Apr 6, 2003
    10
    "Ball & Biscuit" alone is worth the price of admission. Jack White is an old soul, and his stellar tribute to Zeppelin's "The Lemon Song" feels like a warm blanket for my chilly toes.
  21. ColbyC
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    You'll find this CD on numerous top-10 lists at the end of the year....probably even #1 on a lot of them....simply amazing.
  22. JenA
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    THE BEST CD. Great beats and the songs are one of a kind.
  23. Jen?
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    Love it. Best album this year! (and i know there is still half a year to go.....)
  24. NseE
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    A fab cd with diverse sounds; Dancey (7 nation army), Bluesy (Ball & biscuit), 70s punk rock (Hypnotize), and the tender, lovely, 'In the cold, cold night'. Love it.
  25. JustinG
    Jul 1, 2003
    9
    Anyone who thinks this album has nothing to offer must be trippin. The music world has had so little to offer lately, this album is pure refreshment for those of us who are tired of all the same old shit. It has grown on me in a way that I haven't felt for years, I was starting to think that might never happen again. Thanks for re-inventing good stuff.
  26. howlinpellealmqvistlvr
    Aug 23, 2003
    10
    this is my fav cd out of all the white stripes -anyone who thinks otherwise probably doesnt have good taste in music
  27. HollisH
    Jan 5, 2005
    1
    Yikes. No thanks.
  28. TykeC
    Jun 28, 2005
    1
    This band has very few redeeming qualities.
  29. RicN.
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    I once used the track Ball and Biscuit to choreograph a couple performing foreplay on stage. It worked wonderfully well.
  30. AdamCK
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    This is a great CD, although not as good as their masterpiece, 'White Blood Cells.' There are no songs here as good as 'Hotel Yorba' or 'Fell in Love With a Girl,' but there is still plenty to enjoy. So far this is the record of the year, and if it doesn't exactly progess The White Stripes sound too much, it does at least solidify them as the best band This is a great CD, although not as good as their masterpiece, 'White Blood Cells.' There are no songs here as good as 'Hotel Yorba' or 'Fell in Love With a Girl,' but there is still plenty to enjoy. So far this is the record of the year, and if it doesn't exactly progess The White Stripes sound too much, it does at least solidify them as the best band going right now. Expand
  31. nikolasvillegas
    Mar 12, 2003
    10
    wonderful album. the white brothers (?), once again, making it simple and beautiful.
  32. Kaninchen
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    If you like the White Stripes (and you should) then you'll think this is brilliant... Such a great rock album, and I do love the guitar solos! I love the noises this boy can make with his guitar! And Meg's song is sweet and simple, nicely done. The only song that didn't appeal to me so much was the duet (or triplet? eh?) with Holly Golightly... just a little too country for If you like the White Stripes (and you should) then you'll think this is brilliant... Such a great rock album, and I do love the guitar solos! I love the noises this boy can make with his guitar! And Meg's song is sweet and simple, nicely done. The only song that didn't appeal to me so much was the duet (or triplet? eh?) with Holly Golightly... just a little too country for me, but I feel that even that one will eventually grow on me. I'm sorry I snuck it, guys... I'm a huge fan and I'll be first in line to buy the CD!! Expand
  33. JustinH
    Mar 23, 2003
    10
    I love everything about this CD except that opening to "Little Acorns." I love the White Stripes. They are by far the coolest thing in music now!
  34. thesillymofo
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    oh man. i nearly died on the first listen.
  35. JasonF.
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    Something different. This album really expanded on their "style" of music. Not at all what I thought it would be. It really ecompases the different types they use; its got some good blues yet still has the punk/garage rock. It seemed so so at first but really grew on me. I give it a 10 just because Seven Nation Army is the greatest song ever!!!
  36. MardyR
    Apr 1, 2003
    3
    The review of Spinal Tap's "Shark Sandwich" seems to be fitting here. Jack and Meg got somethings right on this album. The first song is compelling and epic, however the second song sounds like QOTSA's "No one Knows" and correct me if i'm wrong but the third song IS "DEAD LEAVES ON THE DIRTY GROUND" Come on Jack there is more in that blues-rock cranium of yours than just The review of Spinal Tap's "Shark Sandwich" seems to be fitting here. Jack and Meg got somethings right on this album. The first song is compelling and epic, however the second song sounds like QOTSA's "No one Knows" and correct me if i'm wrong but the third song IS "DEAD LEAVES ON THE DIRTY GROUND" Come on Jack there is more in that blues-rock cranium of yours than just this!On the next album please write some original material so I can listen to a new album instead of a remix. Expand
  37. MrPibb
    Apr 2, 2003
    9
    Brilliant. There are some other great albums slated for this year, but it'll be hard to top this.
  38. MattL
    Apr 25, 2003
    9
    This is a great album. Period. Unfortunetely a lot of people (especially the goofy zero club) are reacting strongly against the hype rather than the music. It should be noted this album was cut before they became a sensation with their previous album. The White Stripes don't create the hype, folks. They just play great music. I find it better than their last one.
  39. angua___
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    I bought this 3 days ago, and it's been in my cd player ever since. If you're new to this sort of music, like me, please, please, PLEASE, give it a chance to grow on you. Just a few weeks ago, I was ranting in an online journal about how much the 'new rock' of the White Stripes, Strokes and others sucked. I hated 'Seven Nation Army' the first time I heard it. I bought this 3 days ago, and it's been in my cd player ever since. If you're new to this sort of music, like me, please, please, PLEASE, give it a chance to grow on you. Just a few weeks ago, I was ranting in an online journal about how much the 'new rock' of the White Stripes, Strokes and others sucked. I hated 'Seven Nation Army' the first time I heard it. The damn radio station just kept on playing it, and playing it. Before I knew it i was singing along to the opening riff, exulting in the guitar solo, downloading far more singles than i had intended too, buying 'Elephant' on a whim with my birthday money ... and now I can't get enough. It's not beautiful, or overtly topical, or all the other things I used to value in music. I'd call it insidious, but it's anything but slow and creeping. Put simply, it IS Rock and Roll. Let it take you over. Expand
  40. JackWhite
    Apr 28, 2003
    10
    Impressive. The proof that you don't need thousands of dollars nor some virtuous guitar and drum player to craft a masterpiece.
  41. RyanM.
    Apr 3, 2003
    9
    A near-perfectl eclectic conglomerate of garage rock and soul.
  42. Jules
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    This is not just an all-time classic album but a vibrant essential slice of our times - our swaggering, sexed-up 'exile on main street' but with more (white) brain cells firing and a gothic style that befits the darkening of recent times - Jack White knows we can't go back home, Mick Jagger drugged and shagged himself into believing he could - like everyone else back in the This is not just an all-time classic album but a vibrant essential slice of our times - our swaggering, sexed-up 'exile on main street' but with more (white) brain cells firing and a gothic style that befits the darkening of recent times - Jack White knows we can't go back home, Mick Jagger drugged and shagged himself into believing he could - like everyone else back in the seventies! Expand
  43. BartSimpson
    Apr 3, 2003
    10
    If Nirvana never existed, this would be the greatest album ever.
  44. BrianW
    Apr 4, 2003
    10
    I cannot stop listening to this CD. So far, unquestionably the #1 album of the century. The Stripes have outdone themselves this time.
  45. NicholasB
    Apr 8, 2003
    10
    This record is amazing-it's garage rock but is also a new standard of art rock.
  46. LukeJ
    May 1, 2003
    10
    Quite possibly the best rock since Nirvana. It just feels so good.
  47. BenT
    May 15, 2003
    8
    Amazing sound, amazing songs, amazing record. Easily their best...and chances are they will get better.
  48. john
    May 2, 2003
    4
    its not even half as good as their 3 past efforts. although 7 nation army is a great first single.
  49. WhiteStripes
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    It's simply an AWESOME CD!! I just love The White Stripe! I hope they will release a next cd!!
  50. BobC
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    Hello, and welcome to the bandwagon. I'm hooked! "Seven Nation Army" kicks you in the ass. Then "Black Math" kicks you in the head. And "There's No Home For You Here" kicks you in the heart. And it just goes ON like that!... Seriously, anyone who said this is "more of the same stuff" needs a fucking lobotomy. Do you hear those solos?! Jack White went from plucking G, C and D on Hello, and welcome to the bandwagon. I'm hooked! "Seven Nation Army" kicks you in the ass. Then "Black Math" kicks you in the head. And "There's No Home For You Here" kicks you in the heart. And it just goes ON like that!... Seriously, anyone who said this is "more of the same stuff" needs a fucking lobotomy. Do you hear those solos?! Jack White went from plucking G, C and D on "Hotel Yorba" two years ago to playing some wicked-fast, hardcore lines that'll really move you. Why? Probably because he's pissed off, confused and bewildered in response to all this attention he's been getting. And those are good emotions to rock out to. Expand
  51. Luke
    Jul 13, 2003
    6
    A bit of a disappointing follow-up to White Blood Cells. Listening to songs like "There's No Home for You Here" and "I Want to be the Boy to Warm Your Mother's Heart" make me think it's more of a WBC re-hash than a follow-up. Nonetheless, there are some enjoyable tracks here ("Black Math" and "Ball and Biscuit" especially), even if Elephant as a whole could have been so much more.
  52. SeanO
    Jan 29, 2004
    3
    Background sounds for when you are very drunk.
  53. Matt
    Feb 16, 2004
    9
    Some people think they know everything, and they don't. The critics are right IMO on this album. The first half is classic, in fact.
  54. LarryO
    Feb 1, 2004
    0
    A TRUE PIECE OF SH*T! What's happening to Music Critics? This cd can't be in this list. What a weird & gasified joke!
  55. ScottC
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    This was definitely one of the decades best albums. In my opinion it was an instant classic and showcases the talent of the White Stripes and gives the public a look at their wide range of ability.
  56. Stu
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    Elephant, along with all the other White Stripes albums and wonderful, ingenious, new, and very different from all those other, 10 cents a dozen rock groups that are out now.
  57. JakeC.
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    What can I say...their 2nd best album (right behind Blood Cells), but still a masterpiece. It introduced me to the bluesy part of TWS. The best band ever? Yes...indeed yes!
  58. XavierF
    Jan 10, 2005
    2
    Unlike many, I found this album to be lacking in depth and was generally immature. Perhaps a few more band members can flush out some talent with this group.
  59. HawkB
    Dec 2, 2005
    7
    Renegade likes it so I'm giving it a 7 based on that. I might change my score when I've actually heard the album.
  60. PhantomXIII
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    AN excellent work that everyone should have in their collection.
  61. [Anonymous]
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This is definitely my favorite CD. Everyone needs to get a copy of this. It is amazing.
  62. sM
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Not overrated. Complete rock masterpiece. Woot!
  63. MattC
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    Can you not love this album?
  64. KatiB
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    This is an excellent album. It's different than the Stripe's previous three albums and yet still very Jack White (which is a good thing). You need to own it now. Also, listen to it a few times before saying no. It takes more than one listen to really "feel" it.
  65. marsh
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I'm still blown away that someone could actually give this cd a 3. it's sad.
  66. nick
    May 1, 2006
    7
    definitely not the second best of the year but a good album not great.
  67. HootchieMomma
    May 4, 2006
    1
    This Band SUCKS. How could you listen to this and actually be pleased by what you're hearing? It's total garbage. NO Talent!
  68. NickM
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    one of the most unique sounds out there. its a refreshing sound compared to the standard unsophisticated boring sound that most rock groups today have.
  69. MarshallF.
    Aug 5, 2006
    9
    THIS IS A MESSAGE TO ALL THE WHITE STRIPES HATERS IN THE WORLD!!! The reason you are teasing and hating this band is because you think the music is way to simple, or because Meg (the dreumer) is really bad. The sheer simplicity of the band is what makes the music so good! Writing a simple song the most difficult thing to do in music. Hear a song like Seven Nation Army. That is 5, FIVE, 5 THIS IS A MESSAGE TO ALL THE WHITE STRIPES HATERS IN THE WORLD!!! The reason you are teasing and hating this band is because you think the music is way to simple, or because Meg (the dreumer) is really bad. The sheer simplicity of the band is what makes the music so good! Writing a simple song the most difficult thing to do in music. Hear a song like Seven Nation Army. That is 5, FIVE, 5 notes in that riff, and its the whole song just played in different was and everything. Black Math's main riff is 3 5th chords. Cold, Cold Night is again, 4 notes on the whose song, but what they do with the notes makes it sound so haunting and everything. I know you folks who say Elephant sucks are trying to sound so "Musically Smart", but a real musician listens to this and can realize its unique and amazing sound. I mean, there are plenty of punk bands like Green Day, tons of pop stars like Beyonce, and too many talentless "R 'n' B" singers like Mariah Carey. What other two-person raw sounding bassless band do you know? For al those people reading this, go pick up an instrument, and try to come up with a riff as catchy and simple as the Seven Nation Army riff. You can't. Unless you are some new genesis, you just cant. This band has earned resect from old folk musicians like Bob Dylan, and newer rock bands like Franz Ferdinand because of their unique simplicity. So do yourself a favor, and get Elephant. Expand
  70. ColinR
    Oct 21, 2003
    7
    To me it was so close to being fantastic but lacked something that hung it all together. I like individual songs but don't "get" the album. Fine but not a classic.
  71. sashae.
    Mar 14, 2003
    9
    Brilliant disc.. the album is introduced with the deep, twanging bassline on "Seven Nation Army" and continues through the Zeppelin-esque explorations of "Ball and Biscuit," and our first opportunity at hearing Meg sing on "In the Cold Cold Night." End to end, the album is fantastic... I'm looking forward to the store release (this review is from a promo copy.)
  72. KatieB
    Mar 18, 2003
    8
    Alot of the songs on the new cd are pretty good, but i was disapointed with some like 'It's true that we love one another'. I think that one was pretty bad, and they shouldn't have put it on the album.
  73. pattin
    Mar 31, 2003
    10
    this is an incredible album and i think its the best one they come up with! brilliant!
  74. FilRox
    Apr 11, 2003
    10
    This album is the pinnacle of what songwriting is all about. As a singer/songwriter for the group Reverb Tv, I believe that the listener gets a real idea on 'Elephant' of what goes on in the minds of truly great songwriters and not all of us are so graced with the brilliance of being able to paint this picture for a broad audience. Just brilliant! -Fil Rox (singer/songwriter Reverb Tv)
  75. JackG
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    one of the best albums of the year so far..."seven nation army" is one of their best songs ever
  76. Zoey
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    I kept hearing such positive things about the album, so I bought it. Seriously, it's an instant classic. It's such a simple album, back to basics in a way. Jack's the shit. That's all there is to it.
  77. Janie
    Apr 13, 2003
    9
    hell yeah@!
  78. yen
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    one word: BRILLIANT!!!
  79. AliciaZ
    Apr 14, 2003
    10
    Awesome, absolutely breathtaking. The White Stripes have taken another step towards achieving greatness.
  80. DougW
    Apr 16, 2003
    0
    Wow dogg, this blows. They got hosed on this one g. This album is good... NOT!
  81. MichaelR
    Apr 27, 2003
    10
    Just great. The White Stripes are one of the greatest bands to come along in the past decade, and sound like the good old Rock from several decades ago. In a sea of Nu-Metal and pop-punk, The White Stripes are a refreshing change.
  82. MattP
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    Great.
  83. Carldaddy
    Apr 8, 2003
    3
    Come on...The music critics everywhere are trying to make a make up call because of the poor rating on their other albums (i.e rolling stone's 4 out 5 stars ring a bell). Don't buy into the hype about a crappy album. Song number one is a hummer, and the last few songs are pretty good, but there is nothing etremely innovative about this album.
  84. MichaelW
    Jun 18, 2003
    10
    I love it! It's probably the best album of the year, if not the past few.
  85. Dragonfly
    Jul 14, 2003
    4
    I seriously don't hear what should be so special about this c.d. One of my greatest deceptions this year...
  86. MarkC
    Jul 23, 2003
    4
    Take all of their other albums, remove the urgency, the heart, and the good songs, you have Elephant. A less than ok release from a great band.
  87. lawrencej
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    the best album i have ever heard.
  88. AaronS
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    This is the best thing that I've heard all year so far. The White Stripes so called "British" album is more intense than thier previous releases. Jack White's guitar playing is phenominal with moments that are SO good you want to weep. An amazing album.
  89. ChrisM
    Jan 1, 2004
    4
    The most overrated album of the year. An album made for lame music fans to jerk off over. 'Elephant' is an album that only a "master of the obvious" magazine like Rolling Stone or a website like metacritic would regard so highly.
  90. BobbyO
    Jan 25, 2004
    0
    Crappiest album by the crappiest band.
  91. chris
    Feb 13, 2004
    6
    the tracks on this album that are good: phenomenal garage rock gems (girl, you have no faith in medicine and hypnotize). but, too much boring filler (tracks 4 - 9; the last cutesy track gets annoying) and overall waaay too much hype from critics and media attention. i recommend de stijl instead.
  92. Cfitz
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    The first, true classic rock album of the 21st Century. Elephant combines sugar sweet lyrics, Dylan musings with Zeppelinesque screaming guitars and addictive riffs. Jack White is a genius.
  93. SimonA
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    I think John Bonham (Led Zeppelin) smiles in heaven.
  94. Elliott
    May 2, 2004
    7
    HIGHLY overrated. De Stijl is where it's at.
  95. BrockR
    May 25, 2004
    8
    Elliot the previous rater before me was right "De Stijl" is the White Stripes best album. While I don't agree with his labelment of this album being "overhyped" I think the album really could have been better. The first 3 songs lead you to believe the album will be much more grittier and bluesy, then 4,5,6 disappoint, the cover of i just don't know what to do with myself should Elliot the previous rater before me was right "De Stijl" is the White Stripes best album. While I don't agree with his labelment of this album being "overhyped" I think the album really could have been better. The first 3 songs lead you to believe the album will be much more grittier and bluesy, then 4,5,6 disappoint, the cover of i just don't know what to do with myself should have been put on a single, cold cold night gets old VERY fast, I do like his song Keep her in your pocket though, its a reminder of how much I loved I can tell that we are gonna be friends. number 8 is what makes this cd an 8. This AMAZING improvisational blues battle shows just how amazing Jack White is on the guitar. Regardless of what the ignorant Linkin Park avid fans say about how they think this dynamic duo play, The White Stripes bring it every time they play, NONE of their songs sound the same, and they play their type of music not what the public wants to hear. If your a true musician this band is in your top 10 list at least. Expand
  96. Tyler
    Jul 4, 2004
    9
    How much variation from album to album can you expect from two kids playing two instruments on a 4 track recorder? Even as seminal as Robert Johnson was most of his songs sound the same. So if the differences in Jack's riffs are sometimes only incremental from "De Stijl" and "White Blood Cells" I can forgive him. The main difference between this album and their last couple is that it How much variation from album to album can you expect from two kids playing two instruments on a 4 track recorder? Even as seminal as Robert Johnson was most of his songs sound the same. So if the differences in Jack's riffs are sometimes only incremental from "De Stijl" and "White Blood Cells" I can forgive him. The main difference between this album and their last couple is that it is consistently more accessible - and anytime good music reach a wide audience it's a good thing. I am surprised at the number of zero ratings given - perhaps suggest a different record that would show me why this music would merit such a low score. Expand
  97. PopeJohnPaul
    Sep 19, 2004
    4
    Disappointing. It does have 4 unbelievable tracks, but the remainder of the album adds nothing to those songs. And I had to take an extra point off for 'It's True That We Love One Another'. Dear Lord that song is horrible.
  98. PelleS
    Dec 2, 2005
    4
    Sorry, these guys obviously have the ability the cloud reviewers' minds. This band is totally derivative, and the problem is that their influences are painfully (and often shriekingly) obvious--and many weren't even that good in the first place. There are a few decent songs here, but overall the plodding and amateurish drumming, 'minimalist' sound and faux dramatic Sorry, these guys obviously have the ability the cloud reviewers' minds. This band is totally derivative, and the problem is that their influences are painfully (and often shriekingly) obvious--and many weren't even that good in the first place. There are a few decent songs here, but overall the plodding and amateurish drumming, 'minimalist' sound and faux dramatic lyrics are just plain annoying. People who find this album--and the White Stripes--great are seriously lacking in their exposure to pre-90s music. Expand
  99. marshallm
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    they're are a great band. i think it's some of the most original stuff you'll ever hear. Get Behind me Satan ( there latest LP) is def. worth a buy too. keep goin' meg and jack!
  100. JoeD
    May 24, 2005
    10
    I bought this album a year after it came out and I am sure glad I did. In an age where most music is overproduced, commercialized crap designed to rake in a profit, the Stripes are a sorely needed breath of fresh air. This has become one of my favorite albums of all time!
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Blender
    80
    They break their own rules, even adding expansive guitar solos, to keep themselves interested and fans off-balance. [May 2003, p.123]
  2. Therein lies the contradiction of The White Stripes. How do you combine the shit-hot with the "twee?" Elephant's shortcomings suggests the enterprise is futile.
  3. It is a glorious thing to hear. It will be one of the best things you hear all year.